EDUENG5 - Critical Perspectives on English Language Education - M.Ed on Education and Innovation - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

eBooks

Teaching for the Future Effective Classroom Practices To Transform Education
ISBN: 9789264293243
The Practice of English Language Teaching by Jeremy Harmer
ISBN: 9781488683244
Harmer’s The Practice of English Language Teaching is aimed primarily at teachers working in the British ELT tradition. It is appropriate for practising teachers who wish to recapitulate and update their professional knowledge, or who find themselves engaged in English-language teaching without having undergone normal vocational training. It is also widely used on training courses for the Cambridge CELTA and DELTA exams. It would have less to offer to, say, a qualified secondary-school teacher of English in Europe or elsewhere, though this is not to say that it would have no value for such readers
The Palgrave Handbook of Economics and Language by V. Ginsburgh (Editor); S. Weber (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137325051
Publication Date: 2016-04-08
Do the languages people speak influence their economic decisions and social behavior in multilingual societies? This Handbook brings together scholars from various disciplines to examine the links and tensions between economics and language to find the delicate balance between monetary benefits and psychological costs of linguistic dynamics.
Translanguaging with Multilingual Students by Ofelia García (Editor); Tatyana Kleyn (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315695242
Publication Date: 2016-06-10
Looking closely at what happens when translanguaging is actively taken up to teach emergent bilingual students across different contexts, this book focuses on how it is already happening in classrooms as well as how it can be implemented as a pedagogical orientation. It extends theoretical understandings of the concept and highlights its promises and challenges. Using a Transformative Action Research design, six empirically grounded ethnographic case studies describe how translanguaging is used in lesson designs and in the spontaneous moves made by teachers and students during specific teaching moments. The cases shed light on two questions: How, when, and why is translanguaging taken up or resisted by students and teachers? What does its use mean for them? Although grounded in a U.S. context, and specifically in classrooms in New York State, Translanguaging with Multilingual Students links findings and theories to different global contexts to offer important lessons for educators worldwide.
Reflective Practice in English Language Teaching by Steve Mann; Steve Walsh
ISBN: 9781315733395
Publication Date: 2017-06-27
Offering a unique, data-led, evidence-based approach to reflective practice in English language teaching, this book brings together theory, research and practice in an accessible way to demonstrate what reflective practice looks like and how it is undertaken in a range of contexts. Readers learn how to do and to research reflective practice in their own settings. Through the use of data, dialogue and appropriate tools, the authors show how reflective practice can be used as an ongoing teaching tool that supports professional self-development.
The Routledge Handbook of English As a Lingua Franca by Jennifer Jenkins (Editor); Will Baker (Editor); Martin Dewey (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315717173
Publication Date: 2017-08-23
The Routledge Handbook of English as a Lingua Franca (ELF) provides an accessible, authoritative and comprehensive introduction to the main theories, concepts, contexts and applications of this rapidly developing field of study. Including 47 state-of-the art chapters from leading international scholars, the handbook covers key concepts, regional spread, linguistic features and communication processes, domains and functions, ELF in academia, ELF and pedagogy and future trends. This handbook is key reading for all those engaged in the study and research of English as a lingua franca and world/global Englishes more broadly, within English language, applied linguistics, and education.
Contemporary Foundations for Teaching English As an Additional Language by Polina Vinogradova (Editor); Joan Kang Shin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780429398612
Publication Date: 2020-10-29
This engaging volume on English as an Additional Language (EAL), argues persuasively for the importance of critical participatory pedagogies that embrace multilingualism and multimodality in the field of TESOL. It highlights the role of the TESOL profession in teaching for social justice and advocacy and explores how critical participatory pedagogies translate into English language teaching and teacher education around the world. Bringing together diverse scholars in the field and practicing English language teachers, editors Polina Vinogradova and Joan Kang Shin present 10 thematically organized units that demonstrate that language teaching pedagogy must be embedded in the larger sociocultural contexts of teaching and learning to be successful. Each unit covers one pedagogical approach and includes three case studies to illustrate how English language teachers across the world implement these approaches in their classrooms. The chapters are supplemented by discussion questions and a range of practical sources for further exploration. Addressing established and emerging areas of TESOL, topics covered include: Critical and postmethod pedagogies Translingualism Digital literacy and multiliteracies Culturally responsive pedagogy Advocacy Featuring educators implementing innovative approaches in primary, secondary, and tertiary contexts across borders, Contemporary Foundations for Teaching English as an Additional Language is an ideal text for methods and foundational courses in TESOL and will appeal to in-service and preservice English language teachers as well as students and teacher educators in TESOL and applied linguistics.

Course Materials

Week 1

Introduction to the course: Course Outline

English language education in the UAE

Required reading:
Gobert, M. T. (2019). Transformation in English language education in the UAE. In Education in the United Arab Emirates (pp. 113-126). Springer, Singapore.

Recommended reading:
Cullinan, M. (2016). Critical review of ESL curriculum: Practical application to the UAE context. International Journal of Curriculum and Instruction, 8(1), 54-68.
https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1207321.pdf

Week 2

English as a Global Language

Required reading:
Guilherme, M. (2007). English as a global language and education for cosmopolitan citizenship. Language and Intercultural Communication, 7(1), 72-90.https://doi.org/10.2167/laic184.0

Recommended reading:
Melitz, J. (2016). English as a global language. In The Palgrave handbook of economics and language (pp. 583-615). Palgrave Macmillan, London.

Week 3

English as a Lingua Franca

Required reading:

Taguchi, N., & Ishihara, N. (2018). The pragmatics of English as a lingua franca: Research and pedagogy in the era of globalization. Annual Review of Applied Linguistics, 38, 80-101.https://doi.org/10.1017/S0267190518000028

Recommended readings:

Taguchi, N. (2014). English-medium education in the global society. International Review of Applied Linguistics in Language Teaching, 52(2), 89-98. Chen, Y. S., Ren, W., & Lin, C. Y. (2020). English as a lingua franca: From theory to practice. Language Teaching, 53(1), 63-80.https://doi.org/10.1515/iral-2014-0004
Alharbi, N. (2017). English as a lingua franca in the Gulf Cooperation Council states. In The Routledge handbook of English as a lingua franca (pp. 126-137). Routledge.
Sewell, A. (2013). English as a lingua franca: Ontology and ideology. ELT journal, 67(1), 3-10. https://doi.org/10.1093/elt/ccs061

Weeks 4 and 5

Bilingualism and Multilingualism (Parts 1 & 2)

Required readings:

Gallagher, K. (2011). Bilingual education in the UAE: Factors, variables and critical questions. Education, Business and Society: Contemporary Middle Eastern Issues.
Ortega, L. (2013). Ways forward for a bi/multilingual turn in SLA. In The multilingual turn (pp. 42-63). Routledge.
Liu, Y., Fisher, L., Forbes, K., & Evans, M. (2017). The knowledge base of teaching in linguistically diverse contexts: 10 grounded principles of multilingual classroom pedagogy for EAL. Language and Intercultural Communication, 17(4), 378-395. https://doi.org/10.1080/14708477.2017.1368136
Cenoz, J., & Gorter, D. (2020). Teaching English through pedagogical translanguaging. World Englishes, 39(2), 300-311. https://doi.org/10.1111/weng.12462

Recommended reading:

García, O., & Kleyn, T. (Eds.). (2016). Translanguaging with multilingual students: Learning from classroom moments. Routledge. Part II (pp. 55-177)

Week 6

Metacognition in language teaching and learning

Required readings:

Zhang, L. J., & Zhang, D. (2018). Metacognition in TESOL: Theory and practice. The TESOL encyclopedia of English language teaching, 1-8.
Haukås, Å. (2018). Metacognition in language learning and teaching: An overview. Metacognition in language learning and teaching, 11-30. https://library.oapen.org/bitstream/handle/20.500.12657/24185/1005946.pdf?sequence=1#page=25

Recommended readings

Perry, J., Lundie, D., & Golder, G. (2019). Metacognition in schools: what does the literature suggest about the effectiveness of teaching metacognition in schools?. Educational Review, 71(4), 483-500. https://doi.org/10.1080/00131911.2018.1441127
Hiver, P., Whiteside, Z., Sánchez Solarte, A. C., & Kim, C. J. (2021). Language teacher metacognition: Beyond the mirror. Innovation in Language Learning and Teaching, 15(1), 52-65. https://doi.org/10.1080/17501229.2019.1675666

Week 7

Quality teaching: Classroom practices to transform education

Required reading:

OECD. (2018). Teaching for the future: Effective classroom practices to transform education. OECD Publishing. https://dx.doi.org/10.1787/9789264293243-en

Recommended readings:

Technology for learning Harmer, J., 2015. The practice of English language teaching. 5th ed. Harlow: Pearson/Longman. Chapter 11 (pp. 199-209)
Vicentini, C., & de Oliveira, L. C. (2018). Using technology tools in writing instruction. NYS TESOL Journal, 5(2), 44-51.

Class size and different abilities

English language teaching in two particular teaching ‘contexts’: large classes and classes where students have a variety of ability levels.

Required reading:

Harmer, J., 2015. The practice of English language teaching. 5th ed. Harlow: Pearson/Longman. Chapter 7 (pp. 136-153)

Week 8

Reflective practice as professional development
- Dialogic Reflection
- Practitioner Research
Required reading:
Mann, S., & Walsh, S. (2017). Reflective practice in English language teaching: Research-based principles and practices. Routledge. Chapters 8 and 9 (pp. 189-245)

Week 9

Dialogic Teaching
Required readings:

Fisher, R. (2011). Dialogic teaching. Becoming a reflective English teacher, 90-109.
Teo, P. (2019). Teaching for the 21st century: A case for dialogic pedagogy. Learning, Culture and Social Interaction, 21, 170-178.https://doi.org/10.1016/j.lcsi.2020.100412

Recommended reading:

de Oliveira, L. C., & Jones, L. (2021). Dialogic teaching through interactional scaffolding in practice with multilingual learners in the middle years. Literacy Learning: The Middle Years, 29(2).https://search.informit.org/doi/abs/10.3316/informit.828440553271621

Week 10

National and International Assessment
Required readings:

Niemann, D., Martens, K., & Teltemann, J. (2017). PISA and its consequences: Shaping education policies through international comparisons. European Journal of Education, 52(2), 175-183.https://doi.org/10.1111/ejed.12220

MOE-UAE. (2021). National assessment policy. [here]
Recommended reading:

OECD. (2019). PISA 2018 Assessment and Analytical Framework. PISA, OECD Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1787/7fda7869-en

Week 11

Challenges, Opportunities, and Possibilities in English Language Education

Required readings:

Murnane, R., Sawhill, I., & Snow, C. (2012). Literacy challenges for the twenty-first century: Introducing the issue. The future of children, 3-15.https://doi.org/10.1353/foc.2012.0013
Street, B. (2013). Literacy in theory and practice: Challenges and debates over 50 years. Theory into practice, 52(sup1), 52-62.https://doi.org/10.1080/00405841.2013.795442

Dzekoe, R. (2020). English language education and digital literacy in the 21st century. Contemporary Foundations for Teaching English as an Additional Language, 217-245.

Assignment 2: Critical essay Due

M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUENG5 - Critical Perspectives on English Language Education

COURSE DESCRIPTION

eBooks

Course Materials