EDUCIPS - Contemporary Issues and Possibilities in Science Education - M.Ed on Education and Innovation - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

Books

Towards Scientific Literacy by Derek Hodson
Call Number: Q181 .H63 2008
ISBN: 9789087905057
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This book is a guide for teachers, student teachers, teacher educators, science education researchers and curriculum developers who wish to get to grips with the vast and complex literature encompassing the history of science, philosophy of science and sociology of science (HPS). A number of books cover essentially the same ground, but what makes this book unique is that it is written from the perspective of science education. The author's purpose is twofold. First, to identify, clarify and critique elements in the HPS literature that are of key importance in developing students'scientific and technological literacy, as defined in the opening chapter of the book. Second, to enhance teachers' capacity to build and present curricula that afford a much higher profile to HPS than has been traditional. ONLY PRINT
Schooling for Sustainable Development in Canada and the United States by Rosalyn McKeown (Editor); Victor Nolet (Editor)
Call Number: GE90.C2 S36 2013
ISBN: 9789401782128
Publication Date: 2014-08-09
Education for sustainable development (ESD) presents an intriguing challenge in developed countries. The very notion of sustainable development may appear to be at cross-purposes with the social and political aims of large industrial economies. Yet, arguably, the residents of wealthy countries may be most in need of new ways of thinking and behaving on an increasingly more fragile and crowded planet. This book presents a collection of essays that capture the depth and diversity of education for sustainable development (ESD) work in formal education in Canada and the United States. Many of the authors are pioneers in the field of ESD, not only in their own countries but internationally. In this book, they share their expertise, lessons learned, and insights into the ongoing success of their work. The essays reflect leading edge practice, innovation, and depth of experience and provide clear models and strategies for expanding the application and influence of ESD in wealthy countries. The ESD programs described in the book are relevant and culturally appropriate for the specific locally contexts in which they are found but also in the larger context of ESD writ large as a planetary endeavour.
Handbook of Research on Science Education by Sandra K. Abell (Editor); Ken Appleton (Editor); Deborah L. Hanuscin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203824696
Publication Date: 2013-03-07
This state-of-the art research Handbook provides a comprehensive, coherent, current synthesis of the empirical and theoretical research concerning teaching and learning in science and lays down a foundation upon which future research can be built.nbsp;nbsp; nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; The contributors, all leading experts in their research areas, represent the international and gender diversity that exists in the science education research community.nbsp; nbsp; As a whole, the Handbook of Research on Science Education demonstrates that science education is alive and well and illustrates its vitality. It is an essential resource for the entire science education community, including veteran and emerging researchers, university faculty, graduate students, practitioners in the schools, and science education professionals outside of universities.
Inquiry and the National Science Education Standards by Steve Olson (Editor); Susan Loucks-Horsley (Editor)
ISBN: 0309064767
Publication Date: 2000-05-03
Humans, especially children, are naturally curious. Yet, people often balk at the thought of learning science--the "eyes glazed over" syndrome. Teachers may find teaching science a major challenge in an era when science ranges from the hardly imaginable quark to the distant, blazing quasar. Inquiry and the "National Science Education Standards" is the book that educators have been waiting for--a practical guide to teaching inquiry and teaching through inquiry, as recommended by the National Science Education Standards. This will be an important resource for educators who must help school boards, parents, and teachers understand "why we can't teach the way we used to." "Inquiry" refers to the diverse ways in which scientists study the natural world and in which students grasp science knowledge and the methods by which that knowledge is produced.
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity by James C. Kaufman (Editor); Robert J. Sternberg (Editor)
Call Number: BF408 .C173 2019
ISBN: 9781107188488
Publication Date: 2019-04-25
This second edition of the renowned Cambridge Handbook of Creativity expands on the first edition with over two thirds new material reaching across psychology, business, entrepreneurship, education, and neuroscience. It introduces creativity scholarship by summarising its history, major theories and assessments, how creativity develops across the lifespan, and suggestions for improving creativity. It also illustrates cutting-edge work on genetics and the neuroscience of creativity, alongside creativity's potential for both benevolence and malevolence. ONLY PRINT COPY
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity by James C. Kaufman (Editor); Robert J. Sternberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521730259
Publication Date: 2010-08-30
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity is a comprehensive scholarly handbook on creativity from the most respected psychologists, researchers and educators. This handbook serves both as a thorough introduction to the field of creativity and as an invaluable reference and current source of important information. It covers such diverse topics as the brain, education, business, and world cultures. The first section, 'Basic Concepts', is designed to introduce readers to both the history of and key concepts in the field of creativity. The next section, 'Diverse Perspectives of Creativity', contains chapters on the many ways of approaching creativity. Several of these approaches, such as the functional, evolutionary, and neuroscientific approaches, have been invented or greatly reconceptualized in the last decade. The third section, 'Contemporary Debates', highlights ongoing topics that still inspire discussion. Finally, the editors summarize and discuss important concepts from the book and look to what lies ahead.
The Routledge International Handbook of Research on Dialogic Education by Neil Mercer (Editor); Rupert Wegerif (Editor)
ISBN: 9780429441677
Publication Date: 2019-09-26
The Routledge International Handbook of Research on Dialogic Education provides a comprehensive overview of the main ideas and themes that make up the exciting and diverse field of Dialogic Education. With contributions from the world's leading researchers, it describes underpinning theoretical approaches, debates, methodologies, evidence of impact, how Dialogic Education relates to different areas of the curriculum and ways in which work in this field responds to the profound educational challenges of our time. The handbook is divided into seven sections, covering: The theory of Dialogic Education Classroom dialogue Dialogue, teachers and professional development Dialogic Education for literacy and language Dialogic Education and digital technology Dialogic Education in science and mathematics Dialogic Education for transformative purposes Expertly written and researched, the handbook marks the coming of age of Dialogic Education as an important and distinctive area of applied educational research.
Authentic Learning Through Advances in Technologies by Ting-Wen Chang (Editor); Ronghuai Huang (Editor); Kinshuk (Editor)
Call Number: LB1027.43 .A88 2018
ISBN: 9789811059292
Publication Date: 2017-09-21
This book introduces the advanced technologies used for authentic learning, an educational term that refers to a variety of techniques focusing on how students apply the skills and knowledge acquired in school in real-world situations. In the meanwhile, it presents the latest trends and future developments in learning design, learning environment and assessment for authentic learning using advances in technology, this book discusses how technology supports authentic learning and what makes it effective.
Gender in STEM Education in the Arab Gulf Countries by Martina Dickson (Editor); Melissa McMinn (Editor); Dean Cairns (Editor)
ISBN: 9789811991349
Publication Date: 2023-02-16
This book explores the critical issues in gender and STEM education in the Arabian Gulf, written within a context of educational systems developing rapidly over recent decades. With the ever-growing need for a highly skilled, gender-inclusive STEM workforce, the issues raised in this book are more topical than ever. It presents chapters from various sectors such as children's perceptions of science, scientists and their work, adolescent and university years by studying large-scale secondary data variations across countries in the region and finally presenting work relating to gender in STEM education. The book closes with a chapter on factors of success in female leaders' STEM career journeys. It offers recommendations for both policy and practices in gender equity in the STEM workplace, based on their experiences. This book is written in a highly accessible yet academic manner. It is an essential resource for a wide-ranging audience interested in the complex relationships between gender and STEM.

Course Resources

Week 1

Scientific Literacy for all Students
The usefulness aspect of scientific literacy How scientific literacy be connected to the real use of science in daily life.
How scientific literacy is helping students become competent outsiders with respect to science.

Required Readings

Feinstein, N. (2011). Salvaging science literacy. Science Education, 95(1), 168– 185. https://doi.org/10.1002/sce.20414
Hodson, D. (2009). Toward scientific literacy: A teachers' guide to the history, philosophy and sociology of science. Sense Publishers. ONLY PRINT BOOK AVAILABLE

Recommended Readings

American Association for the Advancement of Science. (2001). Atlas of science literacy. In The language of Science Education Washington, DC:
DeBoer, G. E. (2000). Scientific literacy: Another look at its historical and contemporary meanings and its relationship with science education reform. Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 37(6), 582– 601. https://doi.org/10.1002/1098-2736(200008)37:6<582::AID-TEA5>3.0.CO;2-L
Laugksch, R. C. (2000). Scientific literacy: A conceptual overview. Science Education, 84, 71– 94. https://doi.org/10.1002/(SICI)1098-237X(200001)84:1<71::AID-SCE6>3.0.CO;2-C

Week 2

Required Readings

U.S. Department of Education. (2017). Reimagining the role of technology in education: 2017 national education technology plan update. http://tech.ed.gov. NETP17.pdf (ed.gov)
Williams, P., Nguyen, N. & Mangan, J. (2017). Using technology to support science inquiry learning. Journal of Technology and Science Education. 7(1), 26-57. https://doi.org/10.3926/jotse.234

Recommended Readings

Guzey, S. S., & Roehrig, G. H. (2009). Teaching science with technology: Case studies of science teachers’ development of technology pedagogy, and content knowledge. Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education, 9 (1), 25-45. https://www.learntechlib.org/p/29293/

Using technology to support science inquiry learning

Week 3

Required Readings

Hofstein, A. & Mamlok-Naaman, R. (2007). The laboratory in science education: The state of the art. Chemistry Education Research and Practice, 8 (2),105-107. https://doi.org/10.1039/1756-1108/2008
Leite, Laurinda & Dourado, Luís (2013). Laboratory activities, science education and problem-solving skills. Procedia - Social and Behavioural Sciences, 106, 1677-1686. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sbspro.2013.12.190

Recommended Readings

Hofstein, Avi & Lunetta, Vincent N. (2003). The laboratory in science education: Foundations for the 21st century. Science Education,88 (1), 28-54. https://doi.org/10.1002/sce.10106

Week 4

Required Readings

Feinstein, Noah W. & Kirchgasler, Kathryn L. (2014). Sustainability in science education? How the next generation science standards approach sustainability, and why it matters. Science Education, 99(1). 121-144. https://doi.org/10.1002/sce.21137

Recommended Readings

Crocco, M. S., Mari, A. R., & Chandler, T. (2013). Social studies and sustainability: A global competency framework. In R.McKeown & V. Nolet (Eds.), Schooling for sustainable development in Canada and the United States (pp. 169– 182). Springer

Chapter 12: Social Studies and Sustainability: A Global Competency Framework

Week 5

Required Readings

Sanium, Soonthareeya & Buaraphan, Khajornsak. (2019). Research about metacognition in science education-A case of basic education in Thailand. Journal of Physics: Conf. Series 1340. https://doi.org/10.1088/1742-6596/1340/1/012014
Zohar, A., & Barzilai, S. (2013). A review of research on metacognition in science education: Current and future directions. Null, 49(2), 121-169. https://doi.org/10.1080/03057267.2013.847261

Recommended Readings

Perry, J., Lundie, D., & Golder, G. (2019). Metacognition in schools: what does the literature suggest about the effectiveness of teaching metacognition in schools? Educational Review, 71(4), 483-500. https://doi.org/10.1080/00131911.2018.1441127

Week 6

Required Readings

Anderson, R. D. (2007). Inquiry as an organizing theme for science curricula. In S. K Abell & N. G. Lederman (Eds.). Handbook of Research on Science Education (pp. 807-830). LEA.
National Research Council. (2000). Inquiry and the national science education standards: A guide for teaching and learning. The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/9596
Kadbey, H., Dickson, M., & McMinn, M. (2015). Primary teachers’ perceived challenges in teaching science in Abu Dhabi public schools. Procedia - Social and Behavioral Sciences, 186, 749-757. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sbspro.2015.04.055

Recommended Readings

Unlu, Z. K., Dokme, I., & Tufekci, A. (2015). An action research on teaching science through technology supported inquiry - based learning: A pilot study. Procedia - Social and Behavioral Sciences, 186, 46-52. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sbspro.2015.04.183

Chapter 27: Inquiry as an Organizing Theme for Science Curricula

Week 7

Gender Issues in STEM and International Standardized Tests

Gender Representation in STEM

Required Readings:

Dickson, M., & Al Harthi, M. (2023). Gender representation in STEM departments in higher education institutions in the UAE. Gender in STEM education in the arab gulf countries (pp. 221-244). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-19-9135-6_9
McMinn, M. (2023). ‘Science is a boys’ Subject’—Changing perceptions in the arabian gulf. Gender in STEM education in the arab gulf countries (pp. 3-30). Springer.
Cairns, D. (2023). Understanding of environmental issues across two gulf countries: Do girls know more than boys in UAE schools? Gender in STEM education in the arab gulf countries (pp. 173-194). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-19-9135-6_7

Recommended Readings:

Dickson, M., McMinn, M., & Cairns, D. (2023). Gender in STEM education in the arab gulf countries. Springer Nature
Al-Balushi, S. M., Mansour, N., Almehrizi, R. S., Ambusaidi, A. K., & Al-Harthy,I. S. (2022). The association between the gender gap in science achievement and students’ perceptions of their own attitudes and capabilities. Eurasia Journal of Mathematics, Science and Technology Education, 18(11), em2184. https://doi.org/10.29333/ejmste/12559

Week 8

Required Readings

Kärkkäinen, K. & Vincent-Lancrin, S. (2013). Sparking innovation in STEM education with technology and collaboration: A Case study of the HP catalyst initiative. OECD Education Working Papers, No. 91, OECD Publishing. http://dx.doi.org/10.1787/5k480sj9k442-en
Sternberg, R. J. (2012). The assessment of creativity: An investment-based approach. Creativity Research Journal, 24(1), 3–12. https://doi.org/10.1080/10400419.2012.652925

Recommended Readings

Hennessey, B. A. (2010). The creativity–motivation connection. In J.C. Kaufman & R. J. Sternberg (Eds.), Cambridge handbook of creativity (pp. 342 – 365). Cambridge University Press.

Cambridge Handbook of Creativity

Week 9

Required Readings

Worku, H., & Alemu, M. (2020). Dialogic teaching in a teacher education college: An analysis of teacher educator and pre-service teacher talk in physics classrooms. Null, 24(2), 169- 179. https://doi.org/10.1080/18117295.2020.1801019
Mercer, Neil, Wegerif, Rupert, & Major, Louis (Eds.). (2020). The Routledge international handbook of research on dialogic education. Routledge

Recommended Readings

Lehesvuori, Sami (2013). Towards dialogic teaching in science: Challenging classroom realities through teacher education. Nordic Studies in Science Education. 9 (2), 218- .https://doi.org/10.5617/nordina.768
Lehesvuori, S., Viiri, J., & Rasku-Puttonen, H. (2011). Introducing dialogic teaching to science student teachers. Journal of Science Teacher Education, 22(8), 705-727. https://www.jstor.org/stable/43156628

Towards Dialogic Teaching in Science

Week 10

Required Readings

MOE-UAE. (2021). National assessment policy. https://www.moe.gov.ae/En/ImportantLinks/Pages/Links.aspx https://www.moe.gov.ae/Ar/ImportantLinks/Assessment/Documents/NEW/National%20Assessment%20Policy%202020-2021%20(002).pdf
Mullis, Ina V.S. & Martin, Michael O. (Eds.). (2017). TIMSS 2019 assessment frameworks. TIMSS & PIRLS International Study Center, Lynch School of Education, Boston College, and International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA). https://timss2019.org/wp-content/uploads/frameworks/T19-Assessment-Frameworks.pdf
OECD. (2019). PISA 2018 Assessment and Analytical Framework. PISA, OECD Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1787/7fda7869-en

Recommended Readings

Andersen, S. and H. Nielsen (2016). Reading intervention with a growth mindset approach improves children’s skills. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 113 (43), pp. 12111-12113. http://dx.doi.org/10.1073/PNAS.1607946113
OECD. (2018). Teaching for the future: Effective classroom practices to transform education. OECD Publishing. https://dx.doi.org/10.1787/9789264293243-en
Webb, M., Gibson, D. Technology enhanced assessment in complex collaborative settings. Educ Inf Technol 20, 675–695 (2015). https://doi.org/10.1007/s10639-015-9413-5

Technology enhanced assessment in complex collaborative settings

Week 11

Required Readings

Zervas, P., & Sampson, D. (2018). Supporting reflective lesson planning based on inquiry learning analytics for facilitating students’ problem solving competence development: the inspiring science education tools. In Chang, TW., Huang, R., Kinshuk (eds) Authentic Learning Through Advances in Technologies. Lecture Notes in Educational Technology. Springer.
McFarlane, D. A. (2013). Understanding the challenges of science education in the 21st century: New opportunities for scientific literacy. International Letters of Social and Humanistic Sciences, 4, 35–44. https://doi.org/10.18052/www.scipress.com/ILSHS.4.35

Recommended Readings

Tröbst, S., Kleickmann, T., Lange-Schubert, K., Rothkopf, A., & Möller, K.(2016). Instruction and students’ declining interest in science: An analysis of German fourth- and sixth-grade classrooms. American Educational Research Journal, 53(1), 162–193. https://doi.org/10.3102/0002831215618662
Heinrich, C. J., Darling-Aduana, J., Good, A., & Cheng, H. (Emily). (2019). A Look Inside Online Educational Settings in High School: Promise and Pitfalls for Improving Educational Opportunities and Outcomes. American Educational Research Journal, 56(6), 2147–2188. https://doi.org/10.3102/0002831219838776

Understanding the Challenges of Science Education in the 21st Century: New Opportunities for Scientific Literacy

M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUCIPS - Contemporary Issues and Possibilities in Science Education

Course Description

Books

Course Resources