LibGuides: M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUCMI04-2 -Introduction to Enquiry Methods and Innovation-2

eBooks

Educational Research by Robert Burke Johnson; Larry B. Christensen
ISBN: 9781544337838

Publication Date: 2019-10-11

Educational Research: Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Approachesby R. Burke Johnson and Larry Christensen offers a comprehensive, easily digestible introduction to research methods for undergraduate and graduate students. Readers will develop an understanding of the multiple research methods and strategies used in education and related fields, including how to read and critically evaluate published research and how to write a proposal, construct a questionnaire, and conduct an empirical research study on their own. The Seventh Editionmaintains the features that made this book a best-seller, including attention-grabbing chapter-opening vignettes, lively examples that engage student interest, a conversational and friendly writing style, and more. With the support of this highly readable text, readers will transform into critical consumers and users of research.FREE DIGITAL TOOLS INCLUDED WITH THIS TEXTSAGE edgegives instructors and students the edge they need to succeed with an array of teaching and learning tools in one easy-to-navigate website. Learn more:
Research Design by John W. Creswell; J. David Creswell
ISBN: 9781506386706

Publication Date: 2018-01-02

This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The FifthEditionincludes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods.
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by Johnny Saldaña
ISBN: 9781446247372

Publication Date: 2012-11-19

The Second Edition of Johnny Saldaña′s international bestseller provides an in-depth guide to the multiple approaches available for coding qualitative data. Fully up to date, it includes new chapters, more coding techniques and an additional glossary. Clear, practical and authoritative, the book: -describes how coding initiates qualitative data analysis -demonstrates the writing of analytic memos -discusses available analytic software -suggests how best to use The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers for particular studies. In total, 32 coding methods are profiled that can be applied to a range of research genres from grounded theory to phenomenology to narrative inquiry. For each approach, Saldaña discusses the method′s origins, a description of the method, practical applications, and a clearly illustrated example with analytic follow-up. A unique and invaluable reference for students, teachers, and practitioners of qualitative inquiry, this book is essential reading across the social sciences.
Introduction to Research in Education by Donald Ary; Lucy Cheser Jacobs; Christine K. Sorensen Irvine; David Walker
ISBN: 9781337566001

Publication Date: 2018-01-01

Become a more competent consumer and producer of research with INTRODUCTION TO RESEARCH IN EDUCATION, 10th Edition. Known for its exceptionally clear writing style and comprehensive coverage, this research methods text helps you master the basic competencies necessary to understand and evaluate the research of others -- as well as plan and carry out your own research. The authors familiarize you with common research problems in a step-by-step manner through examples that clarify concepts, supported by end-of-chapter exercises that allow you to practice your new skills. The text covers both quantitative and qualitative approaches to research and is a must-read for anyone planning to conduct research or interpret the research of others.

Course Resources

Week 1

Qualitative Data Collection

Interview, Observations, and Visual Methods

Required Readings

Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and Implementation (4^th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 6, observation).
Creswell, J. W, & Poth, C. N. (2018). Qualitative inquiry and research design: Choosing among five approaches (4th Ed.). Sage. (Chapter 7, data collection: visual methods, observation & Interviewing).

Recommended Reading

Margaolis, E. & Zunjarward, R. (2018). Visual research. In Denzin, N. K. & Lincoln, Y. S. (eds). The sage handbook of qualitative research (5th Ed) (pp 600-626). Sage.
Longo, L. (2019, September). Empowering qualitative research methods in education with artificial intelligence. In World conference on qualitative research (pp. 1-21). Cham: Springer International Publishing.

Workshop on data collection – practice with tool development

Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and Implementation (4th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 6, observation).

Week 2

Qualitative Data Analysis

Data Analyses and Reporting
Developing Coherence between Data Analysis and Elements of Research plans
Issues of Reflexivity and Trustworthiness

Required Readings

Saldaña, J. (2015). The Coding manual for qualitative researchers. Sage. (Chapter 1)
Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and implementation (4^th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 9).

Recommended Readings

Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapter 21).
Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and implementation (4^th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 8).
Dodgson, J. E. (2019). Reflexivity in qualitative research. Journal of Human Lactation, 35(2), 220-222.

Week 3

Practical Strategies for Analysing Qualitative Data:

Thematic analysis
Grounded theory analysis
Framework analysis
Use of AI tools for initial data analysis

Workshop: Practice with Secondary Qualitative Data Analysis: Manual and AI-Assisted Thematic Analysis Practice

Required Reading

Braun, V., & Clarke, V. (2006). Using thematic analysis in psychology. Qualitative Research in Psychology, 3(2), 77-101. https://doi.org/10.1191/1478088706qp063oa

Recommended Reading

Byrne, D. (2021). A worked example of Braun and Clarke’s approach to reflexive thematic analysis. Quality & Quantity, 56(3), 1391-1412. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11135-021-01182-y
Creswell, J. W., & Creswell, J. D. (2018). Research design: Qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches (5th Ed). Sage.
Morgan, D. L. (2023). Exploring the use of artificial intelligence for qualitative data analysis: The case of ChatGPT. International journal of qualitative methods, 22, 16094069231211248.

Week 4

Quantitative Research: Data Collection Methods

Tests
Questionnaire and survey
Structured Observations
Secondary Data

Required Readings

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches. (Chapters 8 & 9)

Recommended Readings

Ary, D. & Jacobs, L.C., & Sorensen, I. C. & Walker, D.A. (2019) Introduction to research in education (10^th ed). Wadsworth. (Chapters 5 & 17)

Workshop on data collection – practice with tool development

Week 5

Quantitative Research: Validity & Reliability of Tools and Results

Required Reading

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7^th ed). Sage (Chapter 11)

Recommended Reading

Ary, D., Jacobs, L.C., Sorensen, I., C. & Walker, D.A. (2019) Introduction to research in education (10^th ed). Wadsworth (Chapter 6)

Week 6

Quantitative Research: Basics for Analysing Quantitative Data

Introduction to Scientific and Statistical Reasoning
Descriptive Analysis and Reporting
Introduction to SPSS (Jamovi or JASP)

Required Readings

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7^th ed). Sage. (Chapters 18 and 19)

Recommended Reading

Ary, D., Jacobs, L.C., Sorensen, I. C. & Walker, D.A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10^th ed). Wadsworth. (Chapter 7)
Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1^st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. (https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/
SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf) Jamovi (2024, n.d.). User guide, https://www.jamovi.org/user-manual.html
Navarro, D. J., & Foxcroft, D. R. (2018). Learning statistics with jamovi: a tutorial for psychology students and other beginners. https://osf.io/d8znw/download
JASP (2024, n. d.). A fresh way to do statistics. https://jasp-stats.org/
Goss-Sampson, M. A. (2022). Statistical analysis in JASP: A guide for students. https://jasp-stats.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Statistical-Analysis-in-JASP-A-Students-Guide-v16.pdf

Week 7

Quantitative Research: Analysing and Reporting Quantitative Data

Inferential Statistical Analysis
T-test Analysis and Reporting
Correlation Analysis and Reporting

Required Readings

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7^th ed). (Chapter 20)

Recommended Reading

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I., C. & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education, 10^th ed. Wadsworth (Chapter 8)
Jamovi (2024, n.d.). User guide, https://www.jamovi.org/user-manual.html
Navarro, D. J., & Foxcroft, D. R. (2018). Learning statistics with jamovi: a tutorial for psychology students and other beginners. https://osf.io/d8znw/download
JASP (2024, n. d.). A fresh way to do statistics. https://jasp-stats.org/
Goss-Sampson, M. A. (2022). Statistical analysis in JASP: A guide for students. https://jasp-stats.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Statistical-Analysis-in-JASP-A-Students-Guide-v16.pdf
Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1^st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. (https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf)

Assessment 2 Part A due

Week 8

Quantitative Research: Analysing and Reporting Quantitative Data

Introduction to One-Way ANOVA and Reporting
Multiple Comparisons

Required Readings

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7^th ed). (Chapter 20)

Recommended Reading

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I., C. & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education, 10th ed. Wadsworth (Chapter 8)
Jamovi (2024, n.d.). User guide, https://www.jamovi.org/user-manual.html
Navarro, D. J., & Foxcroft, D. R. (2018). Learning statistics with jamovi: a tutorial for psychology students and other beginners. https://osf.io/d8znw/download
JASP (2024, n. d.). A fresh way to do statistics. https://jasp-stats.org/
Goss-Sampson, M. A. (2022). Statistical analysis in JASP: A guide for students. https://jasp-stats.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Statistical-Analysis-in-JASP-A-Students-Guide-v16.pdf
Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1^st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. (https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf)

Week 9

Workshop on Survey Data Collection and Analysis using Jamovi (JASP) and MS Excel

Recommended Reading

Navarro, D. J., & Foxcroft, D. R. (2018). Learning statistics with jamovi: a tutorial for psychology students and other beginners. https://osf.io/d8znw/download
Goss-Sampson, M. A. (2022). Statistical analysis in JASP: A guide for students. https://jasp-stats.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Statistical-Analysis-in-JASP-A-Students-Guide-v16.pdf
Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)

Week 10

Quantitative Research: Analysing and Reporting Quantitative Data

Introduction to Simple Linear Regression
Advanced Topics: Sample Size Determination, Effect Size, Critical Review of Quantitative Data Analysis Example

Required Readings

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7^th ed). (Chapter 20)

Recommended Reading

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I., C. & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education, 10^th ed. Wadsworth (Chapter 8)
Navarro, D. J., & Foxcroft, D. R. (2018). Learning statistics with jamovi: a tutorial for psychology students and other beginners. https://osf.io/d8znw/download
Goss-Sampson, M. A. (2022). Statistical analysis in JASP: A guide for students. https://jasp-stats.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/Statistical-Analysis-in-JASP-A-Students-Guide-v16.pdf
Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1^st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. (https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf)
Alzahrani, A. M., Hakami, A., AlHadi, A., Batais, M. A., Alrasheed, A. A., & Almigbal, T. H. (2020). The interplay between mindfulness, depression, stress and academic performance in medical students: A Saudi perspective. PLOS ONE, 15(4), e0231088. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0231088
Prandner, D., Wetzelhütter, D., & Hese, S. (2025, January). ChatGPT as a data analyst: an exploratory study on AI-supported quantitative data analysis in empirical research. In Frontiers in Education (Vol. 9, p. 1417900). Frontiers Media SA.

Prandner, D., Wetzelhütter, D., & Hese, S. (2025, January). ChatGPT as a data analyst: an exploratory study on AI-supported quantitative data analysis in empirical research. In Frontiers in Education (Vol. 9, p. 1417900). Frontiers Media SA.

Week 11

Research Proposal: Framework and Strategies

AI-assisted research proposal and issues of plagiarism

Require Readings

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed). (Chapter 5)

Recommended Reading

Walliman, N. (2020). Your research project: Designing, planning, and getting started. Sage.
Yu, L., & Yu, Z. (2023). Qualitative and quantitative analyses of artificial intelligence ethics in education using VOSviewer and CitNetExplorer. Frontiers in Psychology, 14, 1061778.

Class revision and reflections

Assessment 2 Part B due

Yu, L., & Yu, Z. (2023). Qualitative and quantitative analyses of artificial intelligence ethics in education using VOSviewer and CitNetExplorer. Frontiers in Psychology, 14, 1061778.

M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUCMI04-2 -Introduction to Enquiry Methods and Innovation-2

Course Description

eBooks

Course Resources