EDUM5 - Contemporary Issues and Possibilities in Mathematics Education - M.Ed on Education and Innovation - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

Books

Teaching Secondary School Mathematics by Merrilyn Goos; Gloria Stillman; Colleen Vale; Katie Makar (As told to); Sandra Herbert; Vince Geiger
ISBN: 9781743315934
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
The second edition of a highly successful text introducing the fundamentals of teaching secondary school mathematics, fully revised to reflect the Australian Curriculum. Since its first publication, Teaching Secondary School Mathematics has established itself as one of the most respected and popular texts for both pre-service and in-service teachers. This new edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect the major changes brought about by the introduction of the Australian Curriculum: Mathematics, as well as discussing significant research findings, the evolution of digital teaching and learning technologies, and the implications of changes in education policies and practices. The mathematical proficiencies that now underpin the Australian curriculum -- understanding, fluency, problem solving and reasoning -- are covered in depth in Part 1, and a new section is devoted to the concept of numeracy. The chapter on digital tools and resources has been significantly expanded to reflect the growing use of these technologies in the classroom, while the importance of assessment is recognised with new material on assessment for learning and as learning, along with a consideration of policy development in this area. Important research findings on common student misconceptions and new and effective approaches for teaching key mathematical skills are covered in detail...
Uses of Technology in Primary and Secondary Mathematics Education by Lynda Ball (Editor); Paul Drijvers (Editor); Silke Ladel (Editor); Hans-Stefan Siller (Editor); Michal Tabach (Editor); Colleen Vale (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319765747
Publication Date: 2018-05-25
This book provides international perspectives on the use of digital technologies in primary, lower secondary and upper secondary school mathematics. It gathers contributions by the members of three topic study groups from the 13th International Congress on Mathematical Education and covers a range of themes that will appeal to researchers and practitioners alike. The chapters include studies on technologies such as virtual manipulatives, apps, custom-built assessment tools, dynamic geometry, computer algebra systems and communication tools. Chiefly focusing on teaching and learning mathematics, the book also includes two chapters that address the evidence for technologies' effects on school mathematics. The diverse technologies considered provide a broad overview of the potential that digital solutions hold in connection with teaching and learning. The chapters provide both a snapshot of the status quo of technologies in school mathematics, and outline how they might impact school mathematics ten to twenty years from now.
Principles and Standards for School Mathematics by W. Gary Martin
ISBN: 0873534808
Publication Date: 2000-04-30
This important tool for teachers and education professionals updates the messages of NCTM's previous Standards and shows how students' learning should grow across four grade bands: pre-K-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12. It incorporates a clear set of principles and a sharper focus on how students' knowledge grows as shown by recent research. It also includes ways to incorporate the use of technology to make mathematics instruction relevant and effective in a technological world. The accompanying CD offers a searchable hypertext edition of Principles and Standards, which includes the full text of the printed volume along with interactive maths tools that support the vision of the Standards. The CD also contains a version of the Illuminations website, which includes hundreds of lessons, interactive tools and reviewed web sites that support Principles and Standards and the three previous Standards documents.

Course Resources

Week 1

Development of Mathematics Curricula in the UAE and Globally
Required Reading

Goos, M., Vale, C., Stillman, G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (2020). Mathematics Curriculum Models. In Goos, M., Vale, C., Stillman G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (Eds.) Teaching secondary school mathematics: Research and practice for the 21st century. Routledge

Chapter 5: Mathematics curriculum models

Week 2

The Role and Place of Technology in Mathematics Education

Engaging and empowering learning through technology
Teaching with technology
Creating a culture and conditions for innovation and change

Required Readings

Drijvers, P. (2018). Empirical evidence for benefit? Reviewing quantitative research on the use of digital tools in mathematics education. In Ball, L., Drijvers, P., Ladel, S., Siller, H. S., Tabach, M., & Vale, C. (2018). Uses of technology in primary and secondary mathematics education. (pp.161-75), Springer.
Clark-Wilson, A., Robutti, O., & Thomas, M. O. J. (2020). Teaching with digital technology. ZDM 52, 1223–1242. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11858-020-01196-0

Week 3

Teaching models and teaching methods in Mathematics.
Required Reading

Goos, M., Vale, C., Stillman, G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (2020). Developing Mathematical Understanding. In Goos, M., Vale, C.,Stillman, G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (2020) Teaching secondary school mathematics: Research and practice for the 21st century. Routledge.

Chapter2: Developing Mathematical Understanding.

Week 4

Principles & standards in mathematics curricula: Globally and in the UAE

Required Reading

Remillard, J. T., & Heck, D. J. (2014). Conceptualizing the curriculum enactment process in mathematics education. ZDM, 46(5), 705- 718. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11858-014-0600-4
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM). (2000). Principles and Standards for School Mathematics. Reston, Va.: NCTM, (Chapters1&2).

Conceptualizing the curriculum enactment process in mathematics education

Week 5

Metacognition in Mathematics Education: Current and Future Directions
What is the current state of research in the field of metacognition in mathematics education?
What are the best instructional practices for fostering learners’ metacognition in mathematics?

Required Reading

Baten, E., Praet, M., & Desoete, A. (2017). The relevance and efficacy of metacognition for instructional design in the domain of mathematics. ZDM, 49(4), 613-623. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11858-017-0851-y

Recommended Reading

Perry, J., Lundie, D., & Golder, G. (2019). Metacognition in schools: what does the literature suggest about the effectiveness of teaching metacognition in schools? Educational Review, 71(4), 483-500. https://doi.org/10.1080/00131911.2018.1441127

The relevance and efficacy of metacognition for instructional design in the domain of mathematics

Week 6

Inquiry in Mathematics education
Inquiry in mathematics classrooms
Inquiry in the national mathematics education standards
Images of inquiry in K-12 classrooms
Classroom assessment and inquiry

Required Reading

Calder, N. (2015). Student wonderings: Scaffolding student understanding within student-centred inquiry learning. ZDM, 47(7), 1121-1131. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11858-015-0734-z

Student wonderings: scaffolding student understanding within student‑centred inquiry learning

Week 7

Diversity and Equity in Mathematics Education
Interventions aimed at addressing the inequities in mathematics teaching, learning, and assessment.
The role of pupil voice in mathematics education.

Required Readings

Goos, M., Vale, C., Stillman, G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (2020). Teaching Students with Diverse Mathematical Needs. In Goos, M., Vale, C., Stillman, G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (2020) Teaching secondary school mathematics: Research and practice for the 21st century. Routledge.
Marks, R. (2013, January). The Blue Table Means You Don’t Have a Clue’: the persistence of fixed-ability thinking and practices in primary mathematics in English schools. In Forum: For Promoting 3-19 Comprehensive Education (Vol. 55, No. 1, pp. 31-44).

Week 8

Supporting teachers become creative, innovative, experimental practitioners through conducting classroom and school-based research

Creativity, innovation and learning
Creating a culture of creativity in schools and classrooms
Incorporating creativity into classroom practice across the
curriculum
Assessing innovation and creativity

Required Readings

Goos, M., Vale, C., Stillman, G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (2020). Continuing Professional Learning. In Goos, M., Vale, C., Stillman, G., Makar, K., Herbert, S., & Geiger, V. (2020) Teaching secondary school mathematics: Research and practice for the 21st century. Routledge.
Sternberg, R. J. (2012). The assessment of creativity: An investment-based approach. Creativity Research Journal, 24(1), 3–12. https://doi.org/10.1080/10400419.2012.652925

Chapter 17 : Continuing Professional Learning

Week 9

Dialogic Teaching in Mathematics Education

Required Readings
Bakker, A., Smit, J., & Wegerif, R. (2015). Scaffolding and dialogic teaching in mathematics education: Introduction and review. ZDM, 47(7), 1047- 1065. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11858-015-0738-8
Worku, H., & Alemu, M. (2020). Dialogic teaching in a teacher education college: An analysis of teacher educator and pre-service teacher talk in physics classrooms. Null, 24(2), 169- 179. https://doi.org/10.1080/18117295.2020.1801019

Scaffolding and dialogic teaching in mathematics education: introduction and review

Week 10

National and International Assessment
The alignment between national and international assessment frameworks (TIMSS & PISA)
Innovative practices to improve students’ performance in national and international assessments

Required Readings

Niemann, D., Martens, K., & Teltemann, J. (2017). PISA and its consequences: Shaping education policies through international comparisons. European Journal of Education, 52(2), 175-183. https://doi.org/10.1111/ejed.12220
MOE-UAE. (2021). National assessment policy. https://www.moe.gov.ae/Ar/ImportantLinks/Assessment/Documents/NEW/National%20Assessment%20Policy%202020-2021%20(002).pdf

Recommended Readings

Mullis, Ina V.S. & Martin, Michael O. (Eds.). (2017). TIMSS 2019 assessment frameworks. TIMSS & PIRLS International Study Center, Lynch School of Education, Boston College, and International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA). https://timss2019.org/wpcontent/uploads/frameworks/T19-Assessment-Frameworks.pdf
OECD. (2019). PISA 2018 Assessment and Analytical Framework. PISA, OECD Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1787/7fda7869-en

Week 11

Challenges, Opportunities, and Possibilities in Mathematics Education
Integrating mathematics with other subjects (e.g. STEM)

Required Readings

English, L.D. (2016). STEM Education K-12: Perspectives on integration. International Journal of STEM Education, 3(1), 1-8.https://doi.org/10.1186/s40594-016-0036-1
Kelley, T. R., & Knowles, J. G. (2016). A conceptual framework for integrated STEM education. International Journal of STEM Education, 3(1), 11. https://doi.org/10.18052/www.scipress.com/ILSHS.4.35

M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUM5 - Contemporary Issues and Possibilities in Mathematics Education

Course Description

Books

Course Resources