EDUCH4 - Evidence-based Approaches to Teaching and Learning in Chemistry II - M.Ed on Education and Innovation - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

eBooks

Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School by Rob Toplis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415826433
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is an indispensable guide with a fresh approach to the process, practice and reality of teaching and learning science in a busy secondary school. This fourth edition has been fully updated in the light of changes to professional knowledge and practice and revisions to the national curriculum. Written by experienced practitioners, this popular textbook comprehensively covers the opportunities and challenges of teaching science in the secondary school. It provides guidance on: * the knowledge and skills you need, and understanding the science department at your school * development of the science curriculum * the nature of science and how science works, biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy, earth science * planning for progression, using schemes of work to support planning , and evaluating lessons * language in science, practical work, using ICT , science for citizenship, Sex and Health Education and learning outside the classroom * assessment for learning and external assessment and examinations Every unit includes a clear chapter introduction, learning objectives, further reading, lists of useful resources and specially designed tasks - including those to support Masters Level work - as well as cross-referencing to essential advice in the core text Learning to Teach in the Secondary School, sixth edition. Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is designed to support student teachers through the transition from graduate scientist to practising science teacher, while achieving the highest level of personal and professional development.
Cognition, Metacognition, and Culture in STEM Education by Yehudit Judy Dori (Editor); Zemira R. Mevarech (Editor); Dale R. Baker (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319882956
Publication Date: 2018-09-09
This book addresses the point of intersection between cognition, metacognition, and culture in learning and teaching Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). We explore theoretical background and cutting-edge research about how various forms of cognitive and metacognitive instruction may enhance learning and thinking in STEM classrooms from K-12 to university and in different cultures and countries. Over the past several years, STEM education research has witnessed rapid growth, attracting considerable interest among scholars and educators. The book provides an updated collection of studies about cognition, metacognition and culture in the four STEM domains. The field of research, cognition and metacognition in STEM education still suffers from ambiguity in meanings of key concepts that various researchers use. This book is organized according to a unique manner: Each chapter features one of the four STEM domains and one of the three themes--cognition, metacognition, and culture--and defines key concepts. This matrix-type organization opens a new path to knowledge in STEM education and facilitates its understanding. The discussion at the end of the book integrates these definitions for analyzing and mapping the STEM education research. Chapter 4 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com
Powerful Teaching by Pooja K. Agarwal; Patrice M. Bain
ISBN: 9781119521853
Publication Date: 2019-05-13
Unleash powerful teaching and the science of learning in your classroom Powerful Teaching: Unleash the Science of Learning empowers educators to harness rigorous research on how students learn and unleash it in their classrooms. In this book, cognitive scientist Pooja K. Agarwal, Ph.D., and veteran K-12 teacher Patrice M. Bain, Ed.S., decipher cognitive science research and illustrate ways to successfully apply the science of learning in classrooms settings. This practical resource is filled with evidence-based strategies that are easily implemented in less than a minute--without additional prepping, grading, or funding! Research demonstrates that these powerful strategies raise student achievement by a letter grade or more; boost learning for diverse students, grade levels, and subject areas; and enhance students' higher order learning and transfer of knowledge beyond the classroom. Drawing on a fifteen-year scientist-teacher collaboration, more than 100 years of research on learning, and rich experiences from educators in K-12 and higher education, the authors present highly accessible step-by-step guidance on how to transform teaching with four essential strategies: Retrieval practice, spacing, interleaving, and feedback-driven metacognition. With Powerful Teaching, you will: Develop a deep understanding of powerful teaching strategies based on the science of learning Gain insight from real-world examples of how evidence-based strategies are being implemented in a variety of academic settings Think critically about your current teaching practices from a research-based perspective Develop tools to share the science of learning with students and parents, ensuring success inside and outside the classroom Powerful Teaching: Unleash the Science of Learning is an indispensable resource for educators who want to take their instruction to the next level. Equipped with scientific knowledge and evidence-based tools, turn your teaching into powerful teaching and unleash student learning in your classroom.
Science Education by Keith S. Taber (Volume Editor); Ben Ben Akpan (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789463007481
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This book comprises a wide range of scholarly essays introducing readers to key topics and issues in science education. Science education has become a well established field in its own right, with a vast literature, and many active areas of scholarship. Science Education: An International Course Companion offers an entry point for students seeking a sound but introductory understanding of the key perspectives and areas of thinking in science education. Each account is self-contained and offers a scholarly and research-informed introduction to a particular topic, theme, or perspective, with both citations to key literature and recommendations for more advanced reading. Science Education: An International Course Companion allows readers (such as those preparing for school science teaching, or seeking more advanced specialist qualifications) to obtain a broad familiarity with key issues across the field as well as guiding wider reading about particular topics of interest. The book therefore acts as a reader to support learning across courses in science education internationally. The broad coverage of topics is such that that the book will support students following a diverse range of courses and qualifications. The comprehensive nature of the book will allow course leaders and departments to nominate the book as the key reader to support students--their core 'course companion' in science education.
Relevant Chemistry Education by Ingo Eilks (Volume Editor); Avi Hofstein (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789463001755
Publication Date: 2015-07-22
The book consists of 20 chapters. Each chapter focuses on a certain issue related to the relevance of chemistry education.
The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools by Wynne Harlen; Anne Qualter
ISBN: 9781138225725
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
Now in a fully updated seventh edition, The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools provides essential information for students, trainee, and practising teachers about the why, what and how of teaching primary science. Paying particular attention to inquiry-based teaching and learning, the book recognises the challenges of teaching science, and provides suggestions and examples aimed to increase teachers¿ confidence and pupils¿ enjoyment of the subject. This new edition explores: Changes in curriculum and assessment requirements in the UK Advances in knowledge of how children learn Expansion in the use of ICT by teachers and children And expands on key aspects of teaching including: The compelling reasons for starting science in the primary school Strategies for helping children to develop understanding, skills and enjoyment Attention to school and teacher self-evaluation as a means of improving provision for children¿s learning. Giving the latest information about the rationale for and use of inquiry-based, constructivist methodology, and the use of assessment to help learning, the book combines practice and theory, explaining and advocating for particular classroom interactions and activities. This book is essential reading for all primary school teachers and those engaged in studying primary education.
Handbook of Research on Science Education by Sandra K. Abell (Editor); Ken Appleton (Editor); Deborah L. Hanuscin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203824696
Publication Date: 2013-03-07
This state-of-the art research Handbook provides a comprehensive, coherent, current synthesis of the empirical and theoretical research concerning teaching and learning in science and lays down a foundation upon which future research can be built.nbsp;nbsp; nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; The contributors, all leading experts in their research areas, represent the international and gender diversity that exists in the science education research community.nbsp; nbsp; As a whole, the Handbook of Research on Science Education demonstrates that science education is alive and well and illustrates its vitality. It is an essential resource for the entire science education community, including veteran and emerging researchers, university faculty, graduate students, practitioners in the schools, and science education professionals outside of universities. The National Association for Research in Science Teaching (NARST) endorses the Handbook of Research on Science Education as an important and valuable synthesis of the current knowledge in the field of science education by leading individuals in the field.nbsp; For more information on NARST, please visit: http://www.narst.org/.

Library Materials

Week 1

Introduction to Course: Course Overview

Evidence Based Approaches: How relevant is research to science education?

Required Reading:

Toplis, R. (2015). Learning to teach science in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (4th ed.). Routledge. (Chapter7: Is education research valuable for teachers of science?)

Week 2

Self-Regulation and Metacognitive Strategies in the Science Classroom (I)

Practical Examples and Applications

Required Reading:

Avargil, S., Lavi, R., & Dori, Y. J. (2018). Students’ metacognition and metacognitive strategies in science education. In Cognition, Metacognition, and Culture in STEM Education. Springer.
Agarwal, P. K., & Bain, P. M. (2019). Engage Students with Feedback-driven metacognition. Powerful teaching: Unleash the science of learning. John Wiley & Sons.

Recommended Reading:

Zohar, A., & Barzilai, S. (2013). A review of research on metacognition in science education: Current and future directions. Studies in Science education, 49(2), 121-169

Week 3

Self-Regulation and Metacognitive Strategies in the Science Classroom (II)

Practical Examples and Applications

Required Reading:

Tanner, K. D. (2012). Promoting student metacognition. CBE—Life Sciences Education, 11(2), 113-120.
Schraw, G., Crippen, K. J., & Hartley, K. (2006). Promoting self-regulation in science education: Metacognition as part of a broader perspective on learning. Research in science education, 36(1), 111-139.
Thomas, G. P. (2012). Metacognition in science education: Past, present and future considerations. In Second international handbook of science education (pp. 131-144). Springer.

Week 4

Tacit Knowledge in Science

Making implicit learning explicit

Required Reading:

Brock, R. (2017). Tacit knowledge in science education: The role of intuition and insight in teaching and learning science. In Science Education (pp. 133- 142). Brill Sense.
Fraser, S., Beswick, K., & Crowley, S. (2019). Making tacit knowledge visible: Uncovering the knowledge of science and mathematics teachers. Teaching and Teacher Education, 86

Week 5

Real-life applications of science (I)

Relating science to the current and future lives of students

Required Reading:

Childs, P.E., Hayes, S.M. & O’Dwyer, A. (2015). Chemistry and everyday life: Relating secondary school chemistry to the current and future lives of students. In I. Eilks, & A. Hofstein (Eds.). Relevant chemistry education: From theory to practice. Springer. (Chapter 3)
Harlen, W. (2018). Providing for Learning outside the classroom. The Teaching of Science. 7^th Edition. Routledge. (Chapter 22)

Week 6

Real-life applications of science (II)

Relating science to the current and future lives of students

Required Reading:

Tolppanen, S., Vartiainen, J., Ikävalko, V. M., & Aksela, M. (2015). Relevance of non-formal education in science education. In Relevant Chemistry Education (pp. 335-354). Sense.

Week 7

Learning Experiences outside of the formal Science Classroom Environment

Providing for Learning outside the classroom.

Required Reading:

Rumjaun, A. B. (2017). Educational visits and science education. In Science education (pp. 415-429). Sense
Coll, S.D., & Treagust, D. (2015). Using informal learning experiences to enhance student learning outcomes in chemistry. In I. Eilks, & A, Hofstein, A. (Eds.). (2015). Relevant chemistry education: From theory to practice. Springer.

Recommended Reading:

Miyake, S. (2017). Learning science in informal contexts. In Science Education (pp.431-442). Sense.
Rennie, L.J. (2013). Learning science outside of school. In S.K. Abell, K. Appleton, & D.L. Hanuscin, (Eds.). Handbook of research on science education. Routledge.

Assignment 1 Due

Week 8

Dialogic Teaching in science

Ruthven, K., Mercer, N., Taber, K. S., Guardia, P., Hofmann, R., Ilie, S., ... & Riga, F. (2017). A research-informed dialogic-teaching approach to early secondary school mathematics and science: The pedagogical design and field trial of tthe epiSTEMe intervention. Research Papers in Education, 32(1), 18-40.

Week 9

Talking about Science!

Promoting Argumentation in Science

Required Reading:

Erduran, S., & Pabuccu, A. (2015). Promoting argumentation in the context of chemistry education. In I. Eilks, & A. Hofstein (Eds.). Relevant chemistry education: From theory to practice. Springer. (Chapter 2)
Osborne, J. (2005). The role of argument in science education. In Research and the quality of science education (pp. 367-380). Springer.

Recommended Reading:

Agarwal, P. K., & Bain, P. M. (2019). Spark Conversations with students about the science of learning. In, Powerful teaching: Unleash the science of learning. Wiley & Sons.

Week 10

Inclusive Science Education (I)

Creating an inclusive science classroom environment for all learners

Required Reading:

Harlen, W. (2018). Inclusive science education. The Teaching of Science. 7^th Edition.

Routledge. (Chapter 23)

Recommended Reading:

Reynaga-Peña, C. G., Sandoval-Ríos, M., Torres-Frías, J., López-Suero, C., Lozano Garza, A., Dessens Félix, M., & Ibanez, J. G. (2018). Creating a dialogic environment for transformative science teaching practices: towards an inclusive education for science. Journal of Education for Teaching, 44(1), 44-57.

Week 11

Inclusive Science Education (II)

Creating an inclusive science classroom environment for all learners

Required Reading:

Scantlebury, K. & Baker, D. (2013). Gender issues in science education research: Remembering where the difference lies. In S.K. Abell, K. Appleton, & D.L. Hanuscin, (Eds.). Handbook of research on science education. Routledge.
The Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning. 2017. Classroom dynamics and diversity. https://bokcenter.harvard.edu/inclusive-teaching.

Recommended Reading:

Agarwal, P. K., & Bain, P. M. (2019). Foster a Supportive Environment: Use Power Tools to reduce anxiety and strengthen community. Powerful teaching: Unleash the science of learning. John Wiley & Sons.
Lee., O. & Luykx, A. (2013). Science education and student diversity: Race/ethnicity, language, culture and socioeconomic status. In S.K. Abell, K. Appleton, & D.L. Hanuscin, (Eds.). Handbook of research on science education. Routledge.

Assignment 2 Due

M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUCH4 - Evidence-based Approaches to Teaching and Learning in Chemistry II

COURSE DESCRIPTION

eBooks

Library Materials

SOFTWARE AND ONLINE RESOURCES