EDUP2 - Evidence-based Approaches to Teaching and Learning in Physics I - M.Ed on Education and Innovation - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

Books

Good Practice in Science Teaching by Justin Dillon; Jonathan Osborne
Call Number: Q181 .G5135 2010
ISBN: 9780335238583
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
"The book has wide appeal in that the issues investigated - for example, the nature of science, practical work, the role of language, of technology and formative and summative assessment - are relevant and pertinent to science teachers' work in all school systems." Professor David F Treagust, Curtin University of Technology, Australia This new edition of Good Practice in Science Teaching offers a comprehensive overview of the major areas of research and scholarship in science education. Each chapter summarizes the research work and evidence in the field, and discusses its significance, reliability and implications for the practice of science teaching. Thoroughly revised throughout, the new edition includes: Three new chapters covering: the learning of science in informal contexts; teacher professional development; and technology-mediated learning Updates to every chapter, reflecting the changes and developments in science education Further reading sections at the end of each chapter Each chapter has been written by science education researchers with national or international reputations. Each topic is approached in a straight-forward manner and is written in a concise and readable style. This invaluable guide is ideal for science teachers of children of all ages, and others who work in teaching and related fields. It is an essential text for teachers in training and those studying for higher degrees. Contributors: Philip Adey, Paul Black, Maria Evagorou, John Gilbert, Melissa Glackin, Christine Harrison, Jill Hohenstein, Heather King, Alex Manning, Robin Millar, Natasha Serret, Shirley Simon, Julian Swain, Mary Webb.
Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School by Rob Toplis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415826433
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is an indispensable guide with a fresh approach to the process, practice and reality of teaching and learning science in a busy secondary school. This fourth edition has been fully updated in the light of changes to professional knowledge and practice and revisions to the national curriculum. Written by experienced practitioners, this popular textbook comprehensively covers the opportunities and challenges of teaching science in the secondary school. It provides guidance on: * the knowledge and skills you need, and understanding the science department at your school * development of the science curriculum * the nature of science and how science works, biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy, earth science * planning for progression, using schemes of work to support planning , and evaluating lessons * language in science, practical work, using ICT , science for citizenship, Sex and Health Education and learning outside the classroom * assessment for learning and external assessment and examinations Every unit includes a clear chapter introduction, learning objectives, further reading, lists of useful resources and specially designed tasks - including those to support Masters Level work - as well as cross-referencing to essential advice in the core text Learning to Teach in the Secondary School, sixth edition. Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is designed to support student teachers through the transition from graduate scientist to practising science teacher, while achieving the highest level of personal and professional development.
Science Education by Keith S. Taber (Volume Editor); Ben Ben Akpan (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789463007474
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This book comprises a wide range of scholarly essays introducing readers to key topics and issues in science education. Science education has become a well established field in its own right, with a vast literature, and many active areas of scholarship. Science Education: An International Course Companion offers an entry point for students seeking a sound but introductory understanding of the key perspectives and areas of thinking in science education. Each account is self-contained and offers a scholarly and research-informed introduction to a particular topic, theme, or perspective, with both citations to key literature and recommendations for more advanced reading. Science Education: An International Course Companion allows readers (such as those preparing for school science teaching, or seeking more advanced specialist qualifications) to obtain a broad familiarity with key issues across the field as well as guiding wider reading about particular topics of interest. The book therefore acts as a reader to support learning across courses in science education internationally. The broad coverage of topics is such that that the book will support students following a diverse range of courses and qualifications. The comprehensive nature of the book will allow course leaders and departments to nominate the book as the key reader to support students--their core 'course companion' in science education.
The Big Ideas in Physics and How to Teach Them by Ben Rogers
ISBN: 9781315305431
Publication Date: 2018-04-18
The Big Ideas in Physics and How to Teach Them provides all of the knowledge and skills you need to teach physics effectively at secondary level. Each chapter provides the historical narrative behind a Big Idea, explaining its significance, the key figures behind it, and its place in scientific history. Accompanied by detailed ready-to-use lesson plans and classroom activities, the book expertly fuses the 'what to teach' and the 'how to teach it', creating an invaluable resource which contains not only a thorough explanation of physics, but also the applied pedagogy to ensure its effective translation to students in the classroom. Including a wide range of teaching strategies, archetypal assessment questions and model answers, the book tackles misconceptions and offers succinct and simple explanations of complex topics. Each of the five big ideas in physics are covered in detail: electricity forces energy particles the universe. Aimed at new and trainee physics teachers, particularly non-specialists, this book provides the knowledge and skills you need to teach physics successfully at secondary level, and will inject new life into your physics teaching.
The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools by Wynne Harlen OBE
ISBN: 9781315398907
Publication Date: 2018-04-13
Now in a fully updated seventh edition, The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools provides essential information for students, trainee, and practising teachers about the why, what and how of teaching primary science. Paying particular attention to inquiry-based teaching and learning, the book recognises the challenges of teaching science, and provides suggestions and examples aimed to increase teachers' confidence and pupils' enjoyment of the subject. This new edition explores: Changes in curriculum and assessment requirements in the UK Advances in knowledge of how children learn Expansion in the use of ICT by teachers and children And expands on key aspects of teaching including: The compelling reasons for starting science in the primary school Strategies for helping children to develop understanding, skills and enjoyment Attention to school and teacher self-evaluation as a means of improving provision for children's learning. Giving the latest information about the rationale for and use of inquiry-based, constructivist methodology, and the use of assessment to help learning, the book combines practice and theory, explaining and advocating for particular classroom interactions and activities. This book is essential reading for all primary school teachers and those engaged in studying primary education.
Cognition, metacognition, and culture in STEM education : Learning, teaching and assessment by Yehudit Judy Dori, Zemira R.varech, Dale R. Baker
ISBN: 9783319666594
Publication Date: 2018
This book addresses the point of intersection between cognition, metacognition, and culture in learning and teaching Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). We explore theoretical background and cutting-edge research about how various forms of cognitive and metacognitive instruction may enhance learning and thinking in STEM classrooms from K-12 to university and in different cultures and countries. Over the past several years, STEM education research has witnessed rapid growth, attracting considerable interest among scholars and educators. The book provides an updated collection of studies about cognition, metacognition and culture in the four STEM domains. The field of research, cognition and metacognition in STEM education still suffers from ambiguity in meanings of key concepts that various researchers use. This book is organized according to a unique manner: Each chapter features one of the four STEM domains and one of the three themes?cognition, metacognition, and culture?and defines key concepts. This matrix-type organization opens a new path to knowledge in STEM education and facilitates its understanding. The discussion at the end of the book integrates these definitions for analyzing and mapping the STEM education research.
Visible Learning for Science, Grades K-12 : What Works Best to Optimize Student Learning by John T. Almarode, Douglas Fisher, Nancy Frey, and John Hattie
ISBN: 9781506394213
In the best science classrooms, teachers see learning through the eyes of their students, and students view themselves as explorers. But with so many instructional approaches to choose from--inquiry, laboratory, project-based learning, discovery learning--which is most effective for student success? In Visible Learning for Science, the authors reveal that it's not which strategy, but when, and plot a vital K-12 framework for choosing the right approach at the right time, depending on where students are within the three phases of learning: surface, deep, and transfer. Synthesizing state-of-the-art science instruction and assessment with over fifteen years of John Hattie's cornerstone educational research, this framework for maximum learning spans the range of topics in the life and physical sciences.
Teaching Secondary Science by Keith Ross; Liz Lakin; Janet McKechnie; Jim Baker
ISBN: 9781317564089
Publication Date: 2015-06-19
The fourth edition of Teaching Secondary Science has been fully updated and includes a wide range of new material. This invaluable resource offers a new collection of sample lesson plans and includes two new chapters covering effective e-learning and advice on supporting learners with English as a second language. It continues as a comprehensive guide for all aspects of science teaching, with a focus on understanding pupils' alternative frameworks of belief, the importance of developing or challenging them and the need to enable pupils to take ownership of scientific ideas. This new edition supports all aspects of teaching science in a stimulating environment, enabling pupils to understand their place in the world and look after it. Key features include: Illustrative and engaging lesson plans for use in the classroom Help for pupils to construct new scientific meanings M-level support materials Advice on teaching 'difficult ideas' in biology, chemistry, physics and earth sciences Education for sustainable development and understanding climate change Managing the science classroom and health and safety in the laboratory Support for talk for learning, and advice on numeracy in science New chapters on e-learning and supporting learners with English as a second language. Presenting an environmentally sustainable, global approach to science teaching, this book emphasises the need to build on or challenge children's existing ideas so they better understand the world in which they live. Essential reading for all students and practising science teachers, this invaluable book will support those undertaking secondary science PGCE, school-based routes into teaching and those studying at Masters level.

Course Resources

Week 1

Introduction to Course

Learning to be a science teacher Course Overview

Required Reading

Dillon, J., & Manning, A. (2010). Science Teachers, Science Teaching: Issues and Challenges. In J. Osborne & J. Dillon, (Eds.), Good practice in science teaching: What research has to say: What research has to say. McGraw-Hill.

Toplis, R. (2015). Learning to teach science in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (4th ed.). Routledge. (Chapter 1)

Week 2

Effective Teaching Practices for Science Education: What does the research say?

Required Reading

Luft., J.A. & Dubois, S.L. (2017). Essential Instructional Practices for Science Teaching. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense Publishers.

Holbrook, J. (2017). 21st Century Skills and Science Learning Environments. In K.S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science Education: An international course companion.Sense

Week 3

Inquiry-based Learning (1)

Practical Examples in the Physics Classroom A Critical Overview of Research Evidence

Required Reading

Riga., F., Winterbottom., M., Harris., E. & Newby, L. (2017). Inquiry based science education. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense Publishers.

Ben, R. (2018). The Big Ideas in Physics and How to Teach Them: Teaching Physics 11–18. Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Cobern, W. W., Schuster, D., Adams, B., Applegate, B., Skjold, B., Undreiu, A., & Gobert, J. D. (2010). Experimental comparison of inquiry and direct instruction in science. Research in Science & Technological Education, 28(1), 81-96. https://doi.org/10.1080/02635140903513599

Week 4

Inquiry-based Learning (1)

Linking the Use of Metacognitive Strategies with IBL in the Physics Classroom

Required Reading

Seraphin, K. D., Philippoff, J., Kaupp, L., & Vallin, L. M. (2012). Metacognition as means to increase the effectiveness of inquiry-based science education. Science Education International, 23(4), 366-382. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1001630.pdf

Harlen, W. (2018). The Teaching of Science. 7th Edition. Routledge. (Chapter 8: Learning through Inquiry)

Week 5

Active Learning Approaches in Science: Bridging the gap between Theory and Practice

Required Reading

Ben, R. (2018). The Big Ideas in Physics and How to Teach Them: Teaching Physics 11–18. Routledge.

Crawford, B. A., & Capps, D. K. (2018). Teacher cognition of engaging children in scientific practices. In Cognition, metacognition, and culture in STEM education (pp. 9-32). Springer.

Toplis, R. (2015). Learning to teach science in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (4th ed.). Routledge. (Chapter 5)

Week 6

Effective Teaching Strategies in Science

Hands on science activities with real-life physics applications

Required Reading

Hattie, J. (2018). Visible Learning for Science, Grades K-12: What Works Best to Optimize Student Learning. Corwin. Chapter 1 (p. 23-37)

Ross, K., Lakin, L., McKechnie, J., & Baker, J. (2010). Teaching secondary science: Constructing meaning and developing understanding. Routledge.

Visible Learning for Science Grades K-12 Chapter 1 : Science learning Made visible

Week 7

Planning and Preparation for Effective Physics Pedagogy Lesson planning (I)

Required Reading

De Winter, J. (2017). Teaching and Learning Physics. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense. (Chapter. 23)

Harlen, W. (2018). The Teaching of Science. 7th Edition. Routledge. (Chapter 20: Class level planning)

Week 8

Planning and Preparation for Effective Physics Pedagogy Lesson Planning (II)

Required Reading

Toplis, R. (2015). Learning to teach science in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (4th Ed.). Routledge. (Chapter 4)

Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School / Chapter 4 :Planning for Teaching and learning science

Week 9

Micro-Teaching

Week 10

Strategies for teaching “Hard to teach” (H2T) topics in Physics (I)

Using examples for the Science Classroom

Required Reading

Kaur, T., Blair, D., Moschilla, J., Stannard, W., & Zadnik, M. (2017). Teaching Einsteinian physics at schools: part 1, models and analogies for relativity. Physics Education, 52(6).

Hattie, J. (2018). Visible Learning for Science, Grades K-12: What Works Best to Optimize Student Learning. Corwin. (Chapter. 5)

Week 11

Professional learning and meeting teaching standards as a science teacher through critical reflection.

Required Reading

Teacher standards: [link to most updated version will be added]

UAE inspection framework: [link to most updated version will be added]

M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUP2 - Evidence-based Approaches to Teaching and Learning in Physics I

Course Description

Books

Course Resources