This course is offered over two semesters and will provide opportunities for students to develop a flexible repertoire of enquiry methods and approaches that foster improvements and innovation in educational practice. The course serves as a common core foundation for enquiry and innovation components of other program specific courses. Students will be introduced to a range of practice relevant enquiry methods and research design options which involve the use of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods for collecting and analysing data. Students will develop advanced skills in formulating good research questions related to a professional challenge or area of practice and innovation they wish to focus on. Sampling strategies, research ethics and field relations will also be part of the course focus. Students will engage in critical evaluation of literature and will develop specialized knowledge and skills of enquiry principles and procedures, and educational policy and practice to develop their enquiry and innovation designs and producing reports of their innovation projects.
Educational research : quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches / by 
Introduction to Research in Education by 
Real World Research by 
Research Methods in Education by 
Research Methods for Education, Second Edition by 
Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research, EBook, Global Edition by 
Action Research by 
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by 
Qualitative Research by 
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by 
The Ethics of Research with Children and Young People by 
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by 
Your Research Project by 
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by Week 1
Introduction to the Course
Introduction to Educational Research
• Why Study Educational Research? What is Educational Research?
Required Reading:
• Newby, P. (2010). Research methods in education. Pearson. (Chapter 1:Research: A messy business).
• Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research : Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapter 1 Introduction to educational research).
Recommended Reading:
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I., C. & Walker, D.A. (2019) Introduction to research in education (10th Edition). Wadsworth. (Chapter 1: The nature of research in education)
Week 2
Critical Research Reading and Writing – Making Best Use of Literature
Required Readings
• Johnson, B., R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational Research:Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Approaches (7th Ed). Sage.
(Chapter 4)
• Hart, C. (2018). Doing a literature review: Releasing the research imagination. Sage. (The purpose of literature reviewing).
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L.C., Sorensen Irvine, C. & Walker, D.A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th Ed). Wadsworth (Chapter 3)
• Newby, P. (2010). Research methods in education. Pearson. (Chapter 5:Using literature in research)
Week 3
Development of Research Questions
Required Readings
• Robson, C. (2011). Real world research. Wiley. (Chapter 3: Developing Research Questions)
• Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapter 4)
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen, I. C. & Walker, D.A. (2019) Introduction to research in education (10th Ed). Wadsworth (Chapter 2: The nature of research in education)
Week 4
Philosophical Perspectives and How to Frame Problems and Questions in Quantitative Research.
Required Reading
Recommended Readings
Week 5
Principles of Coherent Research Design:
- Planning research design
- Characteristics of research design
Required Reading
• Newby, P. (2010). Research methods in education. Pearson. (Chapter 3:Putting your research design together)
Recommended Reading
• Cohen, L., Manion, L. & Morrison, K. (2011). Research methods in education. Routledge. (Chapter 3: Planning educational research).
Week 6
Qualitative Research methodologies: Phenomenology, Ethnography, and Case studies
Required Readings
• Creswell, J. W, & Poth, C. N. (2018). Qualitative inquiry and research design: Choosing among five approaches (4th Ed.). Sage. (Chapters 4 and 5).
Recommended Readings
• Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and Implementation (4th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 2).
• Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapter 15).
Week 7
Qualitative Research: Action Research and Narrative
Required Readings
• Creswell, J. W. & Guetterman, T. C. (2019). Educational research: Planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research (6th Ed). Pearson. (Chapters: Action Research and Narrative).
• Messiou, K. (2019). Collaborative action research: Facilitating inclusion in schools. Educational Action Research, 27(2), 197-209.
Recommended Reading
• McNiff, J. (2013). Action Research: Principles and practice (3rd Ed). Routledge. Chapter 1.
Week 8
Quantitative Research
• Non-experimental Research
Required Reading
• Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapter 14).
Recommended Reading
• Creswell, J. W. & Guetterman, T. C. (2019). Educational research: Planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research (6th Ed). Pearson. (Chapter 11)
Week 9
Quantitative Research
• Experimental Research
Required Reading
• Creswell, J. W. & Guetterman, T. C. (2019). Educational research: Planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research (6th Ed). Pearson. (Chapter 10/Experimental designs)
Recommended Reading
Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapters 12 and 13 experimental designs).
Week 10
Introduction to Mixed Methods Research
Required Readings
• Creswell, J. W., & Plano Clark, V. L. (2017). Designing and conducting mixed methods research (3rd ed.). Sage. (Chapter 1).
• Cooper, K. S. (2014). Eliciting engagement in the high school classroom: A mixed-methods examination of teaching practices. American Educational Research Journal, 51(2), 363–402. https://doi.org/10.3102/0002831213507973.
Recommended Reading
• Kington, A., Sammons, P., Day, C., & Regan, E. (2011). Stories and statistics: Describing a mixed methods study of effective classroom practice. Journal of Mixed Methods Research, 5(2), 103 - 125. https://doi.org/10.1177/1558689810396092 .
• Patricia Aguilera-Hermida, A. (2020). College students’ use and acceptance of emergency online learning due to COVID-19. International Journal of Educational Research Open, 1, 100011. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijedro.2020.100011
Week 11
Ethics in Educational Research
Required Readings
• Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapter 6, Research Ethics).
• Alderson, P. & Morrow, V. (2020). The ethics of research with children and young people: A practical handbook. Sage. (Introduction: Why ethics matters)
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorense, C. & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th Ed). Cengage. (Chapter 4).
• CITI training
Week 1
Qualitative Data Collection
• Interview, Observations, and Visual Methods
Required Readings
• Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and Implementation (4th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 6, observation).
• Creswell, J. W, & Poth, C. N. (2018). Qualitative inquiry and research design: Choosing among five approaches (4th Ed.). Sage. (Chapter 7, data collection: visual methods, observation & Interviewing).
Recommended Reading
• Margaolis, E. & Zunjarward, R. (2018). Visual research. In Denzin, N. K. & Lincoln, Y. S. (eds). The sage handbook of qualitative research (5th Ed) (pp 600-626). Sage.
Week 2
Qualitative Data Analysis
• Data Analyses and Reporting
• Developing Coherence between Data Analysis and Elements of Research plans
• Issues of Reflexivity and Trustworthiness
Required Readings
• Saldaña, J. (2015). The Coding manual for qualitative researchers. Sage. (Chapter 1)
• Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and implementation (4th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 9).
Recommended Readings
• Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th Ed). Thousand Oaks. (Chapter 21).
• Merriam, S. B. & Tisdell, E. K. (2016). Qualitative Research: A guide to design and implementation (4th Ed). Jossey-Bass. (Chapter 8).
• Dodgson, J. E. (2019). Reflexivity in qualitative research. Journal of Human Lactation, 35(2), 220-222.
Week 3
Practical Strategies for Analysing Qualitative Data:
• Thematic analysis
• Grounded theory analysis
• Framework analysis
Week 4
Quantitative Research: Data Collection Methods
• Tests
• Questionnaire and survey
• Structured Observations
• Secondary Data
Required Readings
• Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches. (Chapters 8 & 9)
Recommended Readings
• Ary, D. & Jacobs, L.C., & Sorensen, I. C. & Walker, D.A. (2019) Introduction to research in education (10th ed). Wadsworth. (Chapters 5 & 17)
Week 5
Quantitative Research: Validity & Reliability of Tools and Results
Required Reading
• Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed). Sage (Chapter 11)
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L.C., Sorensen, I., C. & Walker, D.A. (2019) Introduction to research in education (10th ed). Wadsworth (Chapter 6)
Week 6
Quantitative Research: Basics for Analysing Quantitative Data
• Introduction to Scientific and Statistical Reasoning
• Descriptive Analysis and Reporting
• Introduction to SPSS
Required Readings
• Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed). Sage. (Chapters 18 and 19)
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L.C., Sorensen, I. C. & Walker, D.A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th ed). Wadsworth. (Chapter 7)
• Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
• Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf
Week 7
Quantitative Research: Analysing and Reporting Quantitative Data
• Inferential Statistical Analysis
• T-test Analysis and Reporting
• Correlation Analysis and Reporting
Required Readings
• Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed). (Chapter 20)
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I., C. & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education, 10th ed. Wadsworth (Chapter 8)
• Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
• Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf
Week 8
Quantitative Research: Analysing and Reporting Quantitative Data
• Introduction to One-Way ANOVA and Reporting
• Multiple Comparisons
Required Readings
• Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed). (Chapter 20)
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I., C. & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education, 10th ed. Wadsworth (Chapter 8)
• Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
• Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf
Week 10
Quantitative Research: Analysing and Reporting Quantitative Data
• Introduction to Simple Linear Regression
• Advanced Topics: Sample Size Determination, Effect Size, Critical Review of Quantitative Data Analysis Example
Required Readings
• Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed). (Chapter 20)
Recommended Reading
• Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I., C. & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education, 10th ed. Wadsworth (Chapter 8)
• Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. (https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf)
• Landau, S. & Everitt, B. S. (2005). A handbook of statistical analyses using SPSS (1st ed.). Chapman & Hall/CRC Press. https://www.academia.dk/BiologiskAntropologi/Epidemiologi/PDF/SPSS_Statistical_Analyses_using_SPSS.pdf
Alzahrani, A. M., Hakami, A., AlHadi, A., Batais, M. A., Alrasheed, A. A., & Almigbal, T. H. (2020). The interplay between mindfulness, depression, stress and academic performance in medical students: A Saudi perspective. PLOS ONE, 15(4), e0231088. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0231088
Week 11
Research Proposal: Framework and Strategies
Require Readings
• Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed). (Chapter 5)
Recommended Reading
• Walliman, N. (2020). Your research project: Designing, planning, and getting started. Sage.