LibGuides: Pre-Service Secondary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSS1- Pedagogy, Learning and Assessment in Science Education (I)

ebooks

Good Practice in Science Teaching by Justin Dillon; Jonathan Osborne
ISBN: 9780335238583
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
"The book has wide appeal in that the issues investigated - for example, the nature of science, practical work, the role of language, of technology and formative and summative assessment - are relevant and pertinent to science teachers' work in all school systems." Professor David F Treagust, Curtin University of Technology, Australia This new edition of Good Practice in Science Teaching offers a comprehensive overview of the major areas of research and scholarship in science education. Each chapter summarizes the research work and evidence in the field, and discusses its significance, reliability and implications for the practice of science teaching. Thoroughly revised throughout, the new edition includes: Three new chapters covering: the learning of science in informal contexts; teacher professional development; and technology-mediated learning Updates to every chapter, reflecting the changes and developments in science education Further reading sections at the end of each chapter Each chapter has been written by science education researchers with national or international reputations. Each topic is approached in a straight-forward manner and is written in a concise and readable style. This invaluable guide is ideal for science teachers of children of all ages, and others who work in teaching and related fields. It is an essential text for teachers in training and those studying for higher degrees. Contributors: Philip Adey, Paul Black, Maria Evagorou, John Gilbert, Melissa Glackin, Christine Harrison, Jill Hohenstein, Heather King, Alex Manning, Robin Millar, Natasha Serret, Shirley Simon, Julian Swain, Mary Webb.
Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School by Rob Toplis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415826433
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is an indispensable guide with a fresh approach to the process, practice and reality of teaching and learning science in a busy secondary school. This fourth edition has been fully updated in the light of changes to professional knowledge and practice and revisions to the national curriculum. Written by experienced practitioners, this popular textbook comprehensively covers the opportunities and challenges of teaching science in the secondary school. It provides guidance on: * the knowledge and skills you need, and understanding the science department at your school * development of the science curriculum * the nature of science and how science works, biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy, earth science * planning for progression, using schemes of work to support planning , and evaluating lessons * language in science, practical work, using ICT , science for citizenship, Sex and Health Education and learning outside the classroom * assessment for learning and external assessment and examinations Every unit includes a clear chapter introduction, learning objectives, further reading, lists of useful resources and specially designed tasks - including those to support Masters Level work - as well as cross-referencing to essential advice in the core text Learning to Teach in the Secondary School, sixth edition. Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is designed to support student teachers through the transition from graduate scientist to practising science teacher, while achieving the highest level of personal and professional development.
Cognition, Metacognition, and Culture in STEM Education by Yehudit Judy Dori (Editor); Zemira R. Mevarech (Editor); Dale R. Baker (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319666570
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
This book addresses the point of intersection between cognition, metacognition, and culture in learning and teaching Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). We explore theoretical background and cutting-edge research about how various forms of cognitive and metacognitive instruction may enhance learning and thinking in STEM classrooms from K-12 to university and in different cultures and countries. Over the past several years, STEM education research has witnessed rapid growth, attracting considerable interest among scholars and educators. The book provides an updated collection of studies about cognition, metacognition and culture in the four STEM domains. The field of research, cognition and metacognition in STEM education still suffers from ambiguity in meanings of key concepts that various researchers use. This book is organized according to a unique manner: Each chapter features one of the four STEM domains and one of the three themes--cognition, metacognition, and culture--and defines key concepts. This matrix-type organization opens a new path to knowledge in STEM education and facilitates its understanding. The discussion at the end of the book integrates these definitions for analyzing and mapping the STEM education research. Chapter 4 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com
Science Education by Keith S. Taber (Volume Editor); Ben Ben Akpan (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789463007481
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This book comprises a wide range of scholarly essays introducing readers to key topics and issues in science education. Science education has become a well established field in its own right, with a vast literature, and many active areas of scholarship. Science Education: An International Course Companion offers an entry point for students seeking a sound but introductory understanding of the key perspectives and areas of thinking in science education. Each account is self-contained and offers a scholarly and research-informed introduction to a particular topic, theme, or perspective, with both citations to key literature and recommendations for more advanced reading. Science Education: An International Course Companion allows readers (such as those preparing for school science teaching, or seeking more advanced specialist qualifications) to obtain a broad familiarity with key issues across the field as well as guiding wider reading about particular topics of interest. The book therefore acts as a reader to support learning across courses in science education internationally. The broad coverage of topics is such that that the book will support students following a diverse range of courses and qualifications. The comprehensive nature of the book will allow course leaders and departments to nominate the book as the key reader to support students--their core 'course companion' in science education.
The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools by Wynne Harlen OBE
ISBN: 9781315398891
Publication Date: 2018-04-13
Now in a fully updated seventh edition, The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools provides essential information for students, trainee, and practising teachers about the why, what and how of teaching primary science. Paying particular attention to inquiry-based teaching and learning, the book recognises the challenges of teaching science, and provides suggestions and examples aimed to increase teachers' confidence and pupils' enjoyment of the subject. This new edition explores: Changes in curriculum and assessment requirements in the UK Advances in knowledge of how children learn Expansion in the use of ICT by teachers and children And expands on key aspects of teaching including: The compelling reasons for starting science in the primary school Strategies for helping children to develop understanding, skills and enjoyment Attention to school and teacher self-evaluation as a means of improving provision for children's learning. Giving the latest information about the rationale for and use of inquiry-based, constructivist methodology, and the use of assessment to help learning, the book combines practice and theory, explaining and advocating for particular classroom interactions and activities. This book is essential reading for all primary school teachers and those engaged in studying primary education.
Relevant Chemistry Education by Ingo Eilks (Volume Editor); Avi Hofstein (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789463001731
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This book is aimed at chemistry teachers, teacher educators, chemistry education researchers, and all those who are interested in increasing the relevance of chemistry teaching and learning as well as students' perception of it. The book consists of 20 chapters. Each chapter focuses on a certain issue related to the relevance of chemistry education. These chapters are based on a recently suggested model of the relevance of science education, encompassing individual, societal, and vocational relevance, its present and future implications, as well as its intrinsic and extrinsic aspects.
The Big Ideas in Physics and How to Teach Them by Ben Rogers
ISBN: 9781138235069
Publication Date: 2018-04-11
The Big Ideas in Physics and How to Teach Them provides all of the knowledge and skills you need to teach physics effectively at secondary level. Each chapter provides the historical narrative behind a Big Idea, explaining its significance, the key figures behind it, and its place in scientific history. Accompanied by detailed ready-to-use lesson plans and classroom activities, the book expertly fuses the 'what to teach' and the 'how to teach it', creating an invaluable resource which contains not only a thorough explanation of physics, but also the applied pedagogy to ensure its effective translation to students in the classroom. Including a wide range of teaching strategies, archetypal assessment questions and model answers, the book tackles misconceptions and offers succinct and simple explanations of complex topics.
Visible Learning for Science, Grades K-12 by John Almarode; John et al.
ISBN: 9781506394183
Publication Date: 2018-03-23
In the best science classrooms, teachers see learning through the eyes of their students, and students view themselves as explorers. But with so many instructional approaches to choose from--inquiry, laboratory, project-based learning, discovery learning--which is most effective for student success? In Visible Learning for Science, the authors reveal that it's not which strategy, but when, and plot a vital K-12 framework for choosing the right approach at the right time, depending on where students are within the three phases of learning: surface, deep, and transfer. Synthesizing state-of-the-art science instruction and assessment with over fifteen years of John Hattie's cornerstone educational research, this framework for maximum learning spans the range of topics in the life and physical sciences.
Teaching Secondary Science by Keith Ross; Liz Lakin; Janet McKechnie; Jim Baker
ISBN: 9781317564089
Publication Date: 2015-06-19
The fourth edition of Teaching Secondary Science has been fully updated and includes a wide range of new material. This invaluable resource offers a new collection of sample lesson plans and includes two new chapters covering effective e-learning and advice on supporting learners with English as a second language. It continues as a comprehensive guide for all aspects of science teaching, with a focus on understanding pupils' alternative frameworks of belief, the importance of developing or challenging them and the need to enable pupils to take ownership of scientific ideas. This new edition supports all aspects of teaching science in a stimulating environment, enabling pupils to understand their place in the world and look after it. Key features include: Illustrative and engaging lesson plans for use in the classroom Help for pupils to construct new scientific meanings M-level support materials Advice on teaching 'difficult ideas' in biology, chemistry, physics and earth sciences Education for sustainable development and understanding climate change Managing the science classroom and health and safety in the laboratory Support for talk for learning, and advice on numeracy in science New chapters on e-learning and supporting learners with English as a second language. Presenting an environmentally sustainable, global approach to science teaching, this book emphasises the need to build on or challenge children's existing ideas so they better understand the world in which they live.
Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1 by Page D. Keeley
ISBN: 9781483352176
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Newly Updated! Deepen students' science knowledge through formative assessment. Formative assessment informs the design of learning opportunities that take students from their existing ideas of science to the scientific ideas and practices that support conceptual understanding. Page Keeley, a nationally known expert in science education, wrote Science Formative Assessment to help educators weave formative assessment into daily instruction and learning. In the second edition, the author provides many new examples, links the strategies to current research as well as the Framework for K-12 Science Education and Next Generation Science Standards, and even shows how these same techniques can be used across other disciplines.
Visible Learning: Feedback by John Hattie; Shirley Clarke
ISBN: 9780429485480
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
Feedback is arguably the most critical and powerful aspect of teaching and learning. Yet, there remains a paradox: why is feedback so powerful and why is it so variable? It is this paradox which Visible Learning: Feedback aims to unravel and resolve. Combining research excellence, theory and vast teaching expertise, this book covers the principles and practicalities of feedback, including: the variability of feedback, the importance of surface, deep and transfer contexts, student to teacher feedback, peer to peer feedback, the power of within lesson feedback and manageable post-lesson feedback. With numerous case-studies, examples and engaging anecdotes woven throughout, the authors also shed light on what creates an effective feedback culture and provide the teaching and learning structures which give the best possible framework for feedback. Visible Learning: Feedback brings together two internationally known educators and merges Hattie's world-famous research expertise with Clarke's vast experience of classroom practice and application, making this book an essential resource for teachers in any setting, phase or country.
Make It Stick by Peter C. Brown; Henry L. Roediger; Mark A. McDaniel; Henry L. Roediger
ISBN: 9780674729018
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly.
Teaching Biology in Schools by Kostas Kampourakis (Editor); Michael J. Reiss (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138087989
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
An indispensable tool for biology teacher educators, researchers, graduate students, and practising teachers, this book presents up-to-date research, addresses common misconceptions, and discusses the pedagogical content knowledge necessary for effective teaching of key topics in biology. Chapters cover core subjects such as molecular biology, genetics, ecology, and biotechnology, and tackle broader issues that cut across topics, such as learning environments, worldviews, and the nature of scientific inquiry and explanation. Written by leading experts on their respective topics from a range of countries across the world, this international book transcends national curricula and highlights global issues, problems, and trends in biology literacy.

Course Materials

Week 1

Introduction to Course: Learning to be a science teacher

Course Overview

Required Reading:

Dillon, J., & Manning, A. (2010). Science teachers, science teaching: Issues and challenges. In J. Osborne & J. Dillon, (Eds.), Good practice in science teaching: What research has to say: What research has to say (2^nd ed, pp. 6-19). McGraw-Hill.

Recommended Reading:

Toplis, R. (2015). Learning to teach science in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (4th ed.). Routledge. (Chapter 1)

Week 2

Effective Teaching Practices for Secondary Science: What does the research say?

Required Reading:

Luft, J.A. & Dubois, S.L. (2017). Essential instructional practices for science teaching. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense Publishers.

Chapter 18: ESSENTIAL INSTRUCTIONAL PRACTICES FOR SCIENCE TEACHING

Recommended Reading:

Holbrook, J. (2017). 21st Century Skills and Science Learning Environments. In K.S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science Education. Sense

Chapter 28: 21st Century Skills and Science Learning Environments

Week 3

Inquiry-based Learning (I)

Practical Examples in the Science/Chemistry/Physics/Biology Classroom A Critical Overview of Research Evidence

Required Reading:

Riga., F., Winterbottom., M., Harris., E. & Newby, L. (2017). Inquiry- based science education. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense Publishers.

[discipline focus only]

Chapter 19 -Inquiry-Based Science Education

De Jong, O. & Talanquer, V. (2015). Why is it relevant to learn the big ideas in chemistry at school? In I. Eilks, & A. Hofstein (Eds.), Relevant chemistry education: From theory to practice (pp. 11- 33). Springer. (Chapter 2)

Ben, R. (2018). The Big Ideas in physics and how to teach them: Teaching physics (pp. 11–18). Routledge.

Lederman, N.G. (2018). Nature of scientific knowledge and scientific inquiry in biology teaching. In K. Kampourakis, K., & M.J. Reiss, (Eds.). Teaching biology in schools: global research, issues, and trends. Routledge. (Chapter 18)

Week 4

Inquiry-based Learning (II)

Linking the Use of Metacognitive Strategies with Inquiry-based Learning (IBL) in the Science Classroom

Required Reading:

Seraphin, K. D., Philippoff, J., Kaupp, L., & Vallin, L. M. (2012). Metacognition as means to increase the effectiveness of inquiry- based science education. Science Education International, 23(4), 366-382.
Harlen, W. (2018). The Teaching of Science. 7^th Edition. Routledge. (Chapter 8: Learning through Inquiry)

Week 5

Active Learning Approaches in Science: Bridging the Gap between Theory and Practice

Required Reading:

Crawford, B. A., & Capps, D. K. (2018). Teacher cognition of engaging children in scientific practices. In Cognition, metacognition, and culture in STEM education, (pp. 9-32). Springer.

Recommended Reading:

Toplis, R. (2015). Learning to teach science in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (4th ed.). Routledge. (Chapter 5)

Chapter 2 -Cognition, metacognition, and culture in STEM education / Teacher cognition of engaging children in scientific practices

Chapter 5 : Learning to teach science in the secondary school: A companion to school experience /TEACHING SCIENCE SPECIFIC CONTEXTS

Week 6

Effective Teaching Strategies in Science

Hands on science activities with real-life applications

Required Reading:

Hattie, J. (2018). Visible learning for science, Grades K-12: What works best to optimize student learning (pp. 23-37). Corwin. Chapter 1.

Recommended Reading:

Ross, K., Lakin, L., McKechnie, J., & Baker, J. (2010). Teaching secondary science: Constructing meaning and developing understanding. Routledge.

Chapter 1 : Visible learning for science / SCIENCE LEARNING MADE VISIBLE

Week 7

Planning and Preparation for Effective Science Pedagogy

Lesson planning

Required Reading:

Harlen, W. (2018). The Teaching of Science. 7^th Edition. Routledge. (Chapter 20: Class level planning)

Reccomended Reading:

Taber, K.S. (2017). Teaching and learning chemistry. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense. (Ch. 24).

De Winter, J. (2017). Teaching and learning physics. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense. (Ch. 23)

De Winter, J. (2017). Teaching and learning physics

Winterbottom, M. (2017). Teaching and learning biology. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science education: An international course companion. Sense. (Ch. 25)

Winterbottom, M. (2017). Teaching and learning biology.

Week 8

Assessment in Science Education – Introduction to Formative Assessment/AfL (I)

Required Reading:

Keeley, P. (2015). Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1. Corwin.
Chapter 4. Get the FACTs! 75 Science Formative Assessment Classroom Techniques (FACTs)

Week 9

Assessment in Science Education – Introduction to Formative Assessment/AfL (II)

Required Reading:

Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge. Full access
Chapter 1: What is Feedback?

Chapter1 : Visible learning Feedback :What is feedback

Week 10

Assessment in Science Education – Preparing for Summative Assessment

Required Reading

Brown, P. C., Roediger, H. L., & McDaniel, M. A. (2014). Make It Stick: The Science of Successful Learning. Harvard University Press. Chapter 2: To learn, retrieve.

Chapter 2 :Make it stick /To Learn , Retrieve

Week 11

Professional learning and meeting teaching standards as a science teacher through critical reflection.

Required Reading:

Teacher standards: [link to most updated version will be added]
UAE inspection framework: [link to most updated version will be added]

Assignment 1C due

Pre-Service Secondary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSS1- Pedagogy, Learning and Assessment in Science Education (I)

COURSE DESCRIPTION

ebooks

Course Materials