LibGuides: Pre-Service Secondary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSS3 : Pedagogy, Learning and Assessment in Science Education (II)

Books

Science Education by Keith S. Taber (Volume Editor); Ben Ben Akpan (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789463007481
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This book comprises a wide range of scholarly essays introducing readers to key topics and issues in science education. Science education has become a well established field in its own right, with a vast literature, and many active areas of scholarship. Science Education: An International Course Companion offers an entry point for students seeking a sound but introductory understanding of the key perspectives and areas of thinking in science education. Each account is self-contained and offers a scholarly and research-informed introduction to a particular topic, theme, or perspective, with both citations to key literature and recommendations for more advanced reading. Science Education: An International Course Companion allows readers (such as those preparing for school science teaching, or seeking more advanced specialist qualifications) to obtain a broad familiarity with key issues across the field as well as guiding wider reading about particular topics of interest. The book therefore acts as a reader to support learning across courses in science education internationally. The broad coverage of topics is such that that the book will support students following a diverse range of courses and qualifications. The comprehensive nature of the book will allow course leaders and departments to nominate the book as the key reader to support students--their core 'course companion' in science education.
Cognition, Metacognition, and Culture in STEM Education by Yehudit Judy Dori (Editor); Zemira R. Mevarech (Editor); Dale R. Baker (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319666570
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
This book addresses the point of intersection between cognition, metacognition, and culture in learning and teaching Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). We explore theoretical background and cutting-edge research about how various forms of cognitive and metacognitive instruction may enhance learning and thinking in STEM classrooms from K-12 to university and in different cultures and countries. Over the past several years, STEM education research has witnessed rapid growth, attracting considerable interest among scholars and educators. The book provides an updated collection of studies about cognition, metacognition and culture in the four STEM domains. The field of research, cognition and metacognition in STEM education still suffers from ambiguity in meanings of key concepts that various researchers use. This book is organized according to a unique manner: Each chapter features one of the four STEM domains and one of the three themes--cognition, metacognition, and culture--and defines key concepts. This matrix-type organization opens a new path to knowledge in STEM education and facilitates its understanding. The discussion at the end of the book integrates these definitions for analyzing and mapping the STEM education research. Chapter 4 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com
Visible Learning: Feedback by John Hattie; Shirley Clarke
ISBN: 9780429485480
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
Feedback is arguably the most critical and powerful aspect of teaching and learning. Yet, there remains a paradox: why is feedback so powerful and why is it so variable? It is this paradox which Visible Learning: Feedback aims to unravel and resolve. Combining research excellence, theory and vast teaching expertise, this book covers the principles and practicalities of feedback, including: the variability of feedback, the importance of surface, deep and transfer contexts, student to teacher feedback, peer to peer feedback, the power of within lesson feedback and manageable post-lesson feedback. With numerous case-studies, examples and engaging anecdotes woven throughout, the authors also shed light on what creates an effective feedback culture and provide the teaching and learning structures which give the best possible framework for feedback. Visible Learning: Feedback brings together two internationally known educators and merges Hattie's world-famous research expertise with Clarke's vast experience of classroom practice and application, making this book an essential resource for teachers in any setting, phase or country.
Science Teaching Essentials by Cynthia J. Brame
ISBN: 9780128147030
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Science Teaching Essentials: Short Guides to Good Practice serves as a reference manual for science faculty as they set up a new course, consider how to teach the course, figure out how to assess their students fairly and efficiently, and review and revise course materials. This book consists of a series of short chapters that instructors can use as resources to address common teaching problems and adopt evidence-based pedagogies. By providing individual chapters that can be used independently as needed, this book provides faculty with a just-in-time teaching resource they can use to draft a new syllabus. This is a must-have resource for science, health science and engineering faculty, as well as graduate students and post-docs preparing for future faculty careers. Provides easily digested, practical, research-based information on how to teach Allows faculty to efficiently get up-to-speed on a given pedagogy or assessment method Addresses the full range of faculty experiences as they being to teach for the first time or want to reinvent how they teach
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment by James H. McMillan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412995870
Publication Date: 2012-11-02
The Sage Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment provides scholars, professors, graduate students, and other researchers and policy makers in the organizations, agencies, testing companies, and school districts with a comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment. The handbook emphasizes theory, conceptual frameworks, and all varieties of research (quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods) to provide an in-depth understanding of the knowledge base in each area of classroom assessment and how to conduct inquiry in the area. It presents classroom assessment research to convey, in depth, the state of knowledge and understanding that is represented by the research, with particular emphasis on how classroom assessment practices affect student achievement and teacher behavior. Editor James H. McMillan and five Associate Editors bring the best thinking and analysis from leading classroom assessment researchers on the nature of the research, making significant contributions to this prominent and hotly debated topic in education.
Make It Stick by Peter C. Brown; Henry L. Roediger; Mark A. McDaniel; Henry L. Roediger
ISBN: 9780674729018
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly. More complex and durable learning come from self-testing, introducing certain difficulties in practice, waiting to re-study new material until a little forgetting has set in, and interleaving the practice of one skill or topic with another. Speaking most urgently to students, teachers, trainers, and athletes, Make It Stick will appeal to all those interested in the challenge of lifelong learning and self-improvement.
Visible Learning for Science, Grades K-12 by John Almarode; John et al.
ISBN: 9781506394183
Publication Date: 2018-03-23
In the best science classrooms, teachers see learning through the eyes of their students, and students view themselves as explorers. But with so many instructional approaches to choose from--inquiry, laboratory, project-based learning, discovery learning--which is most effective for student success? In Visible Learning for Science, the authors reveal that it's not which strategy, but when, and plot a vital K-12 framework for choosing the right approach at the right time, depending on where students are within the three phases of learning: surface, deep, and transfer. Synthesizing state-of-the-art science instruction and assessment with over fifteen years of John Hattie's cornerstone educational research, this framework for maximum learning spans the range of topics in the life and physical sciences. Employing classroom examples from all grade levels, the authors empower teachers to plan, develop, and implement high-impact instruction for each phase of the learning cycle: Surface learning: when, through precise approaches, students explore science concepts and skills that give way to a deeper exploration of scientific inquiry. Deep learning: when students engage with data and evidence to uncover relationships between concepts--students think metacognitively, and use knowledge to plan, investigate, and articulate generalizations about scientific connections. Transfer learning: when students apply knowledge of scientific principles, processes, and relationships to novel contexts, and are able to discern and innovate to solve complex problems.Visible Learning for Science opens the door to maximum-impact science teaching, so that students demonstrate more than a year's worth of learning for a year spent in school.
Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School by Rob Toplis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415826433
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is an indispensable guide with a fresh approach to the process, practice and reality of teaching and learning science in a busy secondary school. This fourth edition has been fully updated in the light of changes to professional knowledge and practice and revisions to the national curriculum. Written by experienced practitioners, this popular textbook comprehensively covers the opportunities and challenges of teaching science in the secondary school. It provides guidance on: * the knowledge and skills you need, and understanding the science department at your school * development of the science curriculum * the nature of science and how science works, biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy, earth science * planning for progression, using schemes of work to support planning , and evaluating lessons * language in science, practical work, using ICT , science for citizenship, Sex and Health Education and learning outside the classroom * assessment for learning and external assessment and examinations Every unit includes a clear chapter introduction, learning objectives, further reading, lists of useful resources and specially designed tasks - including those to support Masters Level work - as well as cross-referencing to essential advice in the core text Learning to Teach in the Secondary School, sixth edition. Learning to Teach Science in the Secondary School is designed to support student teachers through the transition from graduate scientist to practising science teacher, while achieving the highest level of personal and professional development.
Teaching Biology in Schools by Kostas Kampourakis (Editor); Michael J. Reiss (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138087989
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
An indispensable tool for biology teacher educators, researchers, graduate students, and practising teachers, this book presents up-to-date research, addresses common misconceptions, and discusses the pedagogical content knowledge necessary for effective teaching of key topics in biology. Chapters cover core subjects such as molecular biology, genetics, ecology, and biotechnology, and tackle broader issues that cut across topics, such as learning environments, worldviews, and the nature of scientific inquiry and explanation. Written by leading experts on their respective topics from a range of countries across the world, this international book transcends national curricula and highlights global issues, problems, and trends in biology literacy.
Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1 by Page D. Keeley
ISBN: 9781483352176
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Newly Updated! Deepen students' science knowledge through formative assessment. Formative assessment informs the design of learning opportunities that take students from their existing ideas of science to the scientific ideas and practices that support conceptual understanding. Page Keeley, a nationally known expert in science education, wrote Science Formative Assessment to help educators weave formative assessment into daily instruction and learning. In the second edition, the author provides many new examples, links the strategies to current research as well as the Framework for K-12 Science Education and Next Generation Science Standards, and even shows how these same techniques can be used across other disciplines. Teachers will appreciate 75 formative assessment classroom techniques (FACTs) that include: Descriptions of how each FACT promotes learning and informs instruction Charts linking K-12 core concepts and scientific practices to the 75 FACTs Implementation guidance, such as required materials and student grouping Modifications for different learners and grade spans Links to use in other content areas, including a brief example Use Science Formative Assessment with any science curriculum or state standards to improve and enhance teaching and learning in K-12 science classrooms.