EDUSPPP3 - Secondary Professional Practice Placement- 3 (SPPP-3): Growing sense of professional membership as a practising teacher - Pre-Service Secondary Postgraduate Diploma in Education - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

Books

Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher by Stephen D. Brookfield
ISBN: 9781119049708
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
A practical guide to the essential practice that builds better teachers. Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher is the landmark guide to critical reflection, providing expert insight and practical tools to facilitate a journey of constructive self-critique. Stephen Brookfield shows how you can uncover and assess your assumptions about practice by viewing them through the lens of your students' eyes, your colleagues' perceptions, relevant theory and research, and your own personal experience. Practicing critical reflection will help you... Align your teaching with desired student outcomes See your practice from new perspectives Engage learners via multiple teaching formats Understand and manage classroom power dynamics Model critical thinking for your students Manage the complex rhythms of diverse classrooms This fully revised second edition features a wealth of new material, including new chapters on critical reflection in the context of social media, teaching race and racism, leadership in a critically reflective key, and team teaching as critical reflection. In addition, all chapters have been thoroughly updated and expanded to align with today's classrooms, whether online or face-to-face, in large lecture formats or small groups. In his own personal voice Stephen Brookfield draws from over 45 years of experience to illustrate the clear benefits of critical reflection. Assumptions guide practice and only when we base our actions on accurate assumptions will we achieve the results we want. Educators with the courage to challenge their own assumptions in an effort to improve learning are the invaluable role models our students need. Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher provides the foundational information and practical tools that help teachers reach their true potential.
School-Based Research by Elaine Wilson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473969025
Publication Date: 2017-05-26
Focused on the needs of the new classroom researcher, and those studying education on Masters-level courses, this is a thorough and thoughtful guide to the research process, covering qualitative, quantitative, and mixed research methods. It guides you through research design, data collection, and analysis and how to write up your research findings.This Third Editionhas been updated to provide further coverage on the best ways to approach, construct and carry out educational research within the classroom including: A new chapter on disseminating research knowledge Expanded coverage of formulating research questions A reworked chapter structure better reflecting the research process This is essential reading for students on education degree programs including a research methods component, including education studies, undergraduate (BEd, BA with QTS) and postgraduate (PGCE, School Direct, Teach First, SCITT) initial teacher education courses, MEd, and professional development courses.
Learning to Teach in the Secondary School by Julia Lawrence (Editor); Susan Capel (Editor); Marilyn Leask (Editor); Sarah Younie (Editor); Elizabeth Hidson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781032062280
Publication Date: 2022-07-29
The market leading text for beginning teachers on all undergraduate, postgraduate and school-based routes to QTS, this is an essential introduction to the key skills and knowledge needed to become a successful teacher. Offering advice on all aspects of teaching and learning, this ninth edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect changes in the field and covers key new topics, including the science of learning, online pedagogies and working with your mentor. There are also expanded units on diversity and inclusion and teacher wellbeing. The text includes a wealth of examples and tasks to support you in successfully applying theory to practice, and in critically reflecting on and analysing your practice to maximise pupil learning. The wide range of pedagogical features supports both school- and university-based work up to Masters level. Written by experts in the field, the 41 concise units are underpinned by evidence-informed practice and focus on what you need to know to thrive in the classroom, including: lesson planning; curriculum; managing behaviour; online lessons and digital resources; effective communication with pupils; how pupils learn; assessment, marking and feedback; diversity and inclusion; special educational needs and disabilities (SEND); managing stress, workload and time; applying for jobs, developing as a professional and networking. The book is extended and enhanced through a companion website that includes: Animated explainer videos, to introduce and summarise key topics; A selection of downloadable and editable tables and figures from the book, so that the most practical elements can be taken out of study and into practice; Additional material and interactive features to support selected units, such as focus questions for lesson observations, and flashcards to help analyse student behaviour; Bonus content, including 'Starting to Teach' chapters and a mapping document, supporting you to make links between the ninth edition chapters and key teaching standards. Supported by the subject-specific titles in the Learning to Teach Subjects in the Secondary School and A Practical Guide to Teaching Subjects in the Secondary School Series, it is an essential purchase for every aspiring secondary school teacher.
Visible Learning: Feedback by John Hattie; Shirley Clarke
ISBN: 9780429485480
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
Feedback is arguably the most critical and powerful aspect of teaching and learning. Yet, there remains a paradox: why is feedback so powerful and why is it so variable? It is this paradox which Visible Learning: Feedback aims to unravel and resolve. Combining research excellence, theory and vast teaching expertise, this book covers the principles and practicalities of feedback, including: the variability of feedback, the importance of surface, deep and transfer contexts, student to teacher feedback, peer to peer feedback, the power of within lesson feedback and manageable post-lesson feedback. With numerous case-studies, examples and engaging anecdotes woven throughout, the authors also shed light on what creates an effective feedback culture and provide the teaching and learning structures which give the best possible framework for feedback. Visible Learning: Feedback brings together two internationally known educators and merges Hattie's world-famous research expertise with Clarke's vast experience of classroom practice and application, making this book an essential resource for teachers in any setting, phase or country.
Transforming Assessment by Jens Dolin (Editor); Robert Evans (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319632476
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
This book reports the results of a research project that investigated assessment methods aimed at supporting and improving inquiry-based approaches in European science, technology and mathematics (STM) education. The findings were used to influence policy makers with guidelines for ensuring that assessment enhances learning. The book provides insights about: - The concept of competence within the STM domains and its relevance for education - The conceptualisation and teaching of four key competences: scientific inquiry, mathematical problem-solving, design processes, and innovation. - Fundamental aspects of the two main purposes of assessment, formative and summative, the relations between the two purposes and ways of linking them. - The main challenges related to the uptake of formative assessment in daily teaching-learning practices in STM and specifically, the usability of formative on-the-fly dialogue, structured assessment dialogue, peer assessment and written teacher feedback. - The systemic support measures and tools teachers need in order to integrate formative assessment of student learning into their classroom practices and how it can conflict with summative assessment practices. - How research-based strategies for the formative use of assessment can be adapted to various European educational traditions to ensure their effective use and avoid undesirable consequences. - How relevant stakeholders can be invited to take co-ownership of research results and how a productive partnership between researchers, policy makers, and teachers can be established. - Concrete research vistas that are still needed in international assessment research.

Course Resources

Week 1

Recap on Reflective Practice

Test-and-Assess Practice (TAP) Cycles

Required Reading

Brookfield, S. D. (2017). What is critically reflective teaching? In Becoming a critically reflective teacher. John Wiley & Sons.‏ (Chapters 1)

Brookfield, S. D. (2017). Uncovering assumptions of power. In Becoming a critically reflective teacher. John Wiley & Sons.‏ (Chapter 2)

Recommended Reading

Wilson, E. (Ed.). (2017). Becoming a reflexive teacher. In School-based research: A guide for education students. Sage.‏

Chapter 1.

Week 2

Annotated Lesson Planning

Modeling Reflection in and on Action through Lesson Video Analysis

Required Reading

Basset-Dubsky, S., Bowler, M. & Newton, A. (2022). Schemes of learning, units of learning, and lesson planning. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th Ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Sawyer, A. G., Dredger, K., Myers, J., Barnes, S., Wilson, R., Sullivan, J., & Sawyer, D. (2020). Developing teachers as critical curators: Investigating elementary preservice teachers’ inspirations for lesson planning. Journal of Teacher Education, 71(5), 518-536. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022487119879894

Week 3

Seeing our Teaching through Students’ Eyes

Dialogic Teaching- Facilitating Classroom Discussions

Required Reading

Brookfield, S. D. (2017). Seeing ourselves through students’ eyes. In Becoming a critically reflective teacher. John Wiley & Sons.‏ (Chapter 6)

Recommended Reading

Kim, M. Y., & Wilkinson, I. A. (2019). What is dialogic teaching? Constructing, deconstructing, and reconstructing a pedagogy of classroom talk. Learning, Culture and Social Interaction, 21, 70-86. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.lcsi.2019.02.003

Week 4

Teachers as Collaborative Thinkers- Joint Planning and Reflection

Metacognitive Strategies in Teaching and Learning

Required Reading

Brookfield, S.D. (2017). Learning from colleagues’ perceptions. In Becoming a critically reflective teacher. John Wiley & Sons. (Chapter 7; pp. 115-134).

Recommended Reading

Gutierez, S. B. (2021). Collaborative lesson planning as a positive ‘dissonance’ to the teachers’ individual planning practices: characterizing the features through reflections-on-action. Teacher Development, 25(1), 37-52. https://doi.org/10.1080/13664530.2020.1856177

Week 5

Facilitating Student Engagement

Active Learning Strategies

Required Reading

Harris, C. (2022). Active learning. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th Ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Bond, M., & Bedenlier, S. (2019). Facilitating student engagement through educational technology: Towards a conceptual framework. Journal of Interactive Media in Education, (1), 11. http://doi.org/10.5334/jime.528

Week 6

Formative Assessment or Assessment for Learning (AfL)

Meaningful Feedback

Required Reading

Booth, N. (2022). Developing formative assessment practice for high-impact teaching. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th Ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge.
Chapters 1 What is Feedback?

Chapter 2 Feedback Culture

Week 7

Summative Assessment or Assessment of Learning (AoL)

Required Reading

Booth, N. (2022). Using assessment data effectively: Making better decisions for teaching and learning. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th Ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Dolin, J., Black, P., Harlen, W., & Tiberghien, A. (2018). Exploring relations between formative and summative assessment. In Transforming assessment (pp. 53-80). Springer.

Week 8

Elements of a Unit Plan

Unit Plan Analysis

Required Reading

Lawes, S. & Leask, M. (2022). The secondary school curriculum. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th Ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Dobber, M., Zwart, R., Tanis, M., & van Oers, B. (2017). Literature review: The role of the teacher in inquiry-based education. Educational Research Review, 22, 194-214.

Week 9

One Size Does Not Fit All: Pedagogic Differentiation

Inclusive Teaching Practices

Required Reading

Winstanley, C. (2022). Closing the achievement gap: self-regulation and personalising learning. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th Ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Bondie, R. S., Dahnke, C., & Zusho, A. (2019). How does changing “one-size-fits-all” to differentiated instruction affect teaching? Review of Research in Education, 43(1), 336-362. https://doi.org/10.3102/0091732X18821130

Week 10

Teacher Values and Beliefs Questionnaire (TVB questionnaire, Part 2)

Revisit TVB Questionnaire, Part 1

Required Reading

Beijaard, D. (2019). Teacher learning as identity learning: Models, practices, and topics. Teachers and Teaching, 25(1), 1-6. http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/13540602.2019.1542871

Recommended Reading

Menter, I., Elliot, D., Hulme, M., Lewin, J., & Lowden, K. (2011). Getting it right! Values and the ethical dimensions of practitioner research. In A guide to practitioner research in education. Sage.‏

Chapter 4

Week 11

Teachers as Life-Long Learners

Teachers as Researchers

[Interns fill the “end of program” Attitudes and Views about Teaching and Learning questionnaire]

Required Reading

Brookfield, S. (2017). Practicing critically reflective leadership. Becoming a critically reflective teacher (pp. 115-134). Jossey Bass.

Chapter 14

Recommended Reading

Wilson, E. (Ed.). (2017). How to do action research? In School-based research: A guide for education students. Sage.‏

Chapter 7

Pre-Service Secondary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSPPP3 - Secondary Professional Practice Placement- 3 (SPPP-3): Growing sense of professional membership as a practising teacher

Course Description

Books

Course Resources