Connexions
"A place to view and share educational material made of small knowledge chunks called modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports, etc." (from home page). Create a free account and select from open instructional materials in the Connexions collection (or contribute your own) to develop online course modules. Includes open textbooks in most subjects.
DQP Assignment Library (Degree Qualifications Profile)
Focus on Assignments for Assesment.
Communication TEDx Talks
TEDx talks given by Communication scholars from across the nation and around the world.
MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
MERLOT is an open educational resource repository and international consortium of higher education institutions, industry partners, and professional organizations. MERLOT identifies, peer reviews, organizes, and promotes existing open educational resources in all academic disciplines for faculty and students.
MIT Open Courseware
"MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity."
OER Commons
"Curating best in class learning materials from around the world since 2007" (from home page). Search for a wide variety of instructional materials, from open textbooks to lectures to instructional videos and homework assignments.
Open Culture
"Open culture brings together high-quality cultural &educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Web 2.0 has given us great amounts of intelligent audio and video. It's all free."
Open Study
Make the world your study group! Take a course (or create a study group) for any subject, meet students from around the world, and earn credentials.
P2PU (Peer to Peer University)
"Learn anything with your peers. It's online and totally free. At P2PU, people work together to learn a particular topic by completing tasks, assessing individual and group work, and providing constructive feedback" (from home page). Find an open course that interests you, or learn how to create an open course.
Shmoop
"An up-and-coming collection of freely shared, expert-written content (most Shmoop authors are Ph.D.s and high school or college-level educators) with the goal of inspiring students and providing tons of free resources to teachers that include writing guides, analyses, and discussions."
Skills Commons
"Your free and open digital library of workforce materials."
TED: Ideas Worth Spreading
Annual lecture series on a variety of themes, including Techonology, Entertainment, Design, Business, Science, Culture, Arts, and Global Issues. English subtitles available, as well as subtitles for many other languages.
UCI Open
University of California, Irvine open courseware initiative
Classroom Aid
Directory of open source image sharing sites, museum repositories, music and sound repositories, and multimedia repositories.
freelearningobjects
"This wiki is intended to be a place that educators and students can find free, public domain, and Creative Commons licensed materials that can be used both in the traditional face-to-face classroom and the ever-growing online classroom. Although there are many other free resources available, this wiki focuses primarily on rich media, including photos, videos, animations, and music files."
Public Domain Review
"The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas. "
WISC-Online: Learning Objects
"Wisc-Online's 2,784 published learning objects"
"Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning or research materials that are in the public domain or that can be used under an intellectual property license that allows re-use or adaptation (e.g Creative Commons). The potential of opening up educational resources for use and adaptation by everyone, especially those in resource-poor environments, is a great opportunity to achieve quality education for all."
UNESCO, ICT in Education
"Open educational resources include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge."
The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
American Memory
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
Carnegie Science Image Database
Images from a variety of science disciplines
Journeys in Film
Educating for Global Understanding
National Science Digital Library
Resources for science, engineering, and mathematics
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library
"A collection of photographs representing observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel..."
OER - Education University of Cambridge
Resources for education (K12)
Sociological Cinema
A " resource for using video and pop culture to teach and learn sociology.".
Structurae
" ... a database for works of structural and civil engineering, but also contains many other works of importance or interest of the fields of architecture and public works."
World Digital Library
"Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films."
Open Courseware are course lessons created at universities and published for free via the Internet.Open courseware varies by institution but can contain syllabi, recorded lectures, assignments, and tests.
 |
 |