Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources: National Library Abu Dhabi Open Access

Internet Archive Digital Library

Maktaba

undefined

How to create an account?

 

To use Maktaba, you need to Register as a user.

undefined

Provide your credentials to login. The password is case-sensitive. Kindly note that some of the e-services are accessible only to authorised users.

Abu Dhabi National Library

The Library Management department is a subdivision in the Dar Al Kutub Sector, at the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi, which is responsible for the administration of public libraries in Abu Dhabi, and providing a diverse programme of educational events and activities for the local community.

As part of the Department’s new development plan, Dar Al Kutub has launched an updated identity entitled ‘Maktaba’ for its libraries to unify its institutional and media messaging and to focus on nurturing the cultural and literary creativity of its visitors.

With the launch of the updated identity, the National Library has taken a step towards achieving the ideal shape it seeks in its vision for all its library branches.

In light of its new identity, Dar Al Kutub’s (National Library) functions are based on elements of creativity, sustainability and innovation, and include providing services to the local community and seekers of knowledge, the promotion of reading and writing, in addition to providing educational and recreational activities and many other awareness programmes.

Visitors from various age groups and backgrounds visit Dar Al Kutub’s public libraries to benefit from its book collection and the many services they offer on daily basis. Moreover, the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi strives to make these public libraries inspiring spaces that attract talents and specialized groups, through organizing different events and activities, which instill and spread the culture of reading and creativity in Abu Dhabi’s society.

 

 

Children & YA

Nahla wa Nahil

An educational platform for children that provides unlimited access to thousands of Arabic books, videos and educational games.

World Book Online

World Book Online is an engaging, verified, and trustworthy digital resource for grades pre-K through high school.

E- Books & Audio Books

OverDrive

OverDrive offers borrowing ebooks and audiobooks through public libraries worldwide. It provides a variety of general and popualar books in many languages, Arabic, English, French and others.

ProQuest Public Library - Ebook Central

Offers digital books in English for researchers, general public and children; in all disciplined. can be searched through the main portal of Maktaba digital library or by through Ebook central only. 

General - Arabic databases

Al Manhal

A database of full texts in Arabic language enables you to access thousands of Arabic publications (books, magazines, university thesis reports) issued by more than 300 publishers in the Arab world.

Dar Al Mandhumah

Almandumah is the largest online database for Arabic scholarly output. It provides access to thousands of journals, magazines,

conference papers, statistical reports and provides full text access to about 70,000 dissertations from all the Arab countries.

• Dar Al Mandhumah - Dissertations

• Dar Al Mandhumah - Edusearch

• Dar Al Mandhumah - Human index

 

e-Marefa

e-Marefa is an integrated database of full text and comprehensive metadata of over 700,000 journals, research papers, theses and dissertations, conference papers, statistical reports, and e-books, which has produced 22 specialized databases covering all disciplines.

General - English databases

EBSCOhost Research Platform

EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform used by thousands of institutions and millions of users worldwide.

With quality databases and search features, EBSCOhost helps researchers of all kinds find the information they need fast.

• Education Sources

• Academic Source Ultimate

• Teacher Reference Center

• Legal Collection

• Health Business Elite

• Food Science Sources

• Health Source: Consumer Editions

• Sustainability Reference Center

• Patient Education Reference Center

• Life Magazine Archive

• Bloomberg Business Week Archive

• Architectural Digest Archive

• The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)

• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

• Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

• Science Reference Center

 

ProQuest databases 

ProQuest databases provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

• ProQuest Central

• ProQuest Public Library - Ebook Central

• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

 

Taylor & Francis Collections

The site gives online access to all journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, with a powerful search that makes it simple to discover the most relevant research for our readers.

Newspaper

PressReader HotSpot

PressReader connects you to the world’s best newspapers and magazines... with unlimited access to more than 7,000 of titles from around the world.

And allow you to download your favorite publications onto your own device and keep them for later reading.

Specialized Resources

Al Muhamoon Al Arab

Specialized Online database for all subjects related to laws and regulations in UAE.

Video

Alexander Street Press: Public Library Video Online: Premium

Alexander Street Press gives patrons unlimited access to nearly 50,000 streaming videos, the largest public library database available. With topics spanning science, history, engineering, health, performing arts, religion, film, and many others.

Twig Science Videos

Outstanding short films in English and Arabic on Science, Maths and Geography