Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources: Open Access Journals

Internet Archive Digital Library

Open Access Journals

 

       

 

    

 

 

           

 

                          

 

     

 

 

  

Subject based Open access journals list

  • Biodiversity Heritage Library The collection of a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries, including digitized books and journals. Especially strong in 19th century writings. See BioStor (below) for additional searching options.
  • BioMed Central over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine. Also searchable via PubMed.
  • BioStor Search interface and tools for the Biodiversity Heritage Library (see above) and related resources.
  • Chemical Sciences Article Repository The open access article repository for chemistry run by the UK-based Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC published articles only.)
  • CogPrints papers in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science, philosophy, biology, and other disciplines related to cognitive science.
  • E-LIS E-prints in information and library science
  • OSTI.GOV journal articles, technical and conference papers in disciplines of interest to the US Department of Energy.
  • Historic American Newspapers - Chronicling America Scanned historic US newspapers from 1836-1920, and a US newspaper directory, make up this collection from the Library of Congress.
  • LIS Scholarship Archive PreprintsPreprints (pre-publication versions of articles, including non-published papers, conference papers, etc.) in Library and Information Sciences
  • Open Folklore A developing open access project in folklore studies. The project itself is still in development, but there are links to the existing online collections in each category.
  • OSF Preprints Center for Open Science collection of preprints and speciality preprint archives. (Preprints are pre-publication versions of articles, including non-published articles, conference papers, etc.)
  • PrePubMed A medical/life science oriented pre-print (pre-publication versions of articles) search engine. Currently searching Figshare, PeerJ Preprints, bioRXiv, and F1000. See Help for more info and search suggestions.
  • PubMed Central a digital archive of biomedical literature, sponsored and maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Some very recent material may be indexed before the online access is available. Full text articles are linked directly from the PubMed version of MEDLINE.
  • Science.gov Search the technical and report literature from many of the science-related agencies of the US federal government, such as the Department of Energy and the EPA.
  • Science Accelerator abstracts and full papers primarily from the Department of Energy programs and projects, covering most areas of science and science policy.
  • Scirus Scirus is a search engine devoted to science subjects. On the advanced search page, you can limit your search to articles. If you also uncheck the "All journal sources" box, you will get only web based materials, including many full text articles in institutional repositories, such as University of Toronto's T-Space. (To search the journal literature covered by the "All journal sources", log in to the SCSU database ScienceDirect with a lot of full text available by our subscription.)
  • Beall's List of Predatory Journals and Publishers List of potential predatory Open Access publishers compliled by librarian Jeffrey Beall.

  • Open Access Library Scholarly, peer-reviewed, open access journal covering all subject areas in STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) as well as Social Sciences. The OALib Articles from the OALib Journal are stored in the Open Access Library (OALib).
  • Social Science Research Network abstracts and full papers both submitted by the authors and harvested from partner publishers' databases. Topics include Accounting, Economics, Information Systems, Legal Scholarship, Management, Marketing, Negotiation, and Social Insurance. Search by keyword or browse by topic. Some articles are pay-for-access.
  • OASIS  Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.
  • Wiley Open Access Journals Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines.Wiley Open Access journals are supported by a network of authoritative journals and societies as well as internationally renowned editorial board members. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences.
 

General Open access journals list

Open J-Gate

DOAJ

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available. DOAJ operates an education and outreach program across the globe, focussing on improving the quality of applications submitted.

BePress
Google's answer to article databases includes journal tables of contents from several major publishers, and "scholarly" content from the open web, but it is not a good Open Access discovery tool. While GS creates a good index, full text may not be directly available. Before paying for any article found via Google Scholar, be sure to check in the SCSU Journal Locator to see if the full text is available.

OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. 

As well as providing a simple repository listOpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.The current directory lists repositories and allows breakdown and selection by a variety of criteria - see the Find page - which can also be viewed as statistical charts. The underlying database has been designed from the ground up to include in-depth information on each repository that can be used for search, analysis, or underpinning services like text-mining.