LibGuides: In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUISD1-Classroom Management and Communication Skills

ebooks

Handbook of Classroom Management by Edward J. Sabornie (Editor); Dorothy L. Espelage (Editor)
ISBN: 9781003275312
Publication Date: 2022-09-22
The Handbook of Classroom Management, Third Edition, is an authoritative treatment of the latest science and development in the study of classroom management in schools. Evidence-based classroom management practices and programs are essential to enhancing students' academic, behavioral, social-emotional, and motivational outcomes across grade levels. This comprehensive volume collects scholarship and cutting-edge research for graduate students and faculty of psychology, teacher education, curriculum and instruction, special education, and beyond. The book has been thoroughly revised and expanded with updated coverage of foundational topics such as effective instruction, preventative strategies, positive behavior intervention and supports, family-school relationships, legal issues, and other related topics, while also giving new attention to social justice, students on the autism spectrum, and adaptations across urban, rural, and virtual contexts.
Classroom Communication and Diversity by Robert G. Powell; Dana L. Powell
ISBN: 9781315708904
Publication Date: 2015-09-16
Classroom Communication and Diversity provides a useful framework for helping both new and experienced teachers and instructors navigate the communication challenges in today's diverse classroom. It encourages teachers to reflect on how their personal cultures influence their expectations regarding classroom communication. This textbook is distinctive in its distillation of research from numerous sources to provide the best viewpoint and systems for focusing on the needs of the individual learner. Dana L. Powell and Robert G. Powell draw on research in both the communication and education disciplines, and provide useful strategies for improving teaching practices alongside theoretical models regarding diversity in the classroom. Much of the information found in this text is also inspired by the authors' direct experience in schools and from the experience they have gleaned from other first-line instructors as well as from parents and children. Among the many updates to this Third Edition are: Expanded coverage of students with diverse needs Discussion on working effectively with parents Coverage of cultural influences and the impact of race and ethnicity on disciplinary actions Examination of the role of social media and its impact on instructional communication The increase of educational technology use. Teachers and scholars in the communication and education fields will find this text practical and valuable for their teaching efforts, and it is appropriate for instructional communication courses in both disciplines.
Handbook of Classroom Management by Edmund Emmer (Editor); Edward J. Sabornie (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203074114
Publication Date: 2014-09-04
The field of classroom management is not a neatly organized line of inquiry, but rather consists of many disparate topics and orientations that draw from multiple disciplines. Given the complex nature of the field, this comprehensive second edition of the Handbook of Classroom Management is an invaluable resource for those interested in understanding it. This volume provides up-to-date summaries of research on the essential topics from the first edition, as well as fresh perspectives and chapters on new topics. It is the perfect tool for both graduate students and practitioners interested in a field that is fascinating but not immediately accessible without the proper guidance.
Classroom Management for Middle and High School Teachers with Mylab Education with Enhanced Pearson EText, Loose-Leaf Version -- Access Card Package by Edmund Emmer; Carolyn Evertson
ISBN: 9780134027302
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
NOTE: Before purchasing, check with your instructor to ensure you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products, you will also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide. Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. This package includes the loose-leaf version and MyEducationLab® with Enhanced Pearson eText. A clear and practical guide for establishing and maintaining a comprehensive classroom management system in today's middle and high school classrooms. Written for the prospective or new teacher, Classroom Management for Middle and High School Teachers, Tenth Edition, provides teachers with the skills, approaches, and strategies necessary to establish effective learning environments in elementary school classrooms. Based on experience in more than 500 classrooms, the authors provide details on how to plan, develop, and implement a classroom management system that helps create a classroom environment that focuses on and facilitates learning. Examples, checklists, case study vignettes, and group activities illustrate key concepts and make the content concrete, allowing readers to reflect on and apply the content to real-life settings. Personalize learning with MyEducationLab® MyEducationLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with the text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students see key concepts demonstrated through real classroom video footage, practice what they learn, test their understanding, and receive feedback to guide their learning and ensure they master key learning outcomes.
Classroom Behaviour by Bill Rogers
Call Number: LB3013 .R575 2015 Only Print Copy is available
ISBN: 9781446295199
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
This exciting new edition of the best-selling and beloved teacher′s companion looks at the everyday behaviour issues facing teachers working in today′s classrooms. Describing real situations and dilemmas, Bill Rogers provides theoretically sound strategies and best practices to support you in meeting the challenges of the job, as well as building up a rapport with both students and colleagues to enable positive and productive learning environments. Written jargon-free in Bill′s accessible and empathetic voice it includes in-depth strategies, practical examples, case studies and pragmatic hints and tips to put in to practice. This will make for informative and inspiring reading to all those involved in educating our children and young people. The new edition has been revised and updated and now also includes access to an interactive website packed with a host of extra material to take you further. Videos of Bill demonstrating his behaviour strategies in real classroom settings Podcasts where Bill explains his ideas and ethos in more detail as well as answering teachers′ FAQs Extra reading material for even more support on difficult subjects Behaviour Management Tool Templates to use with students in the everyday classroom Role-play scenario cards to help understand and prepare for challenging situations "We often think of behaviour management in terms of dealing with challenging behaviour, but Dr Rogers begins by looking at classroom organisation and whole-class strategies. Alongside the theory, he provides examples that create a much deeper understanding of exactly what works and what doesn't.
Encyclopedia of Science Education by Richard Gunstone (Editor)
ISBN: 9789400721494
Publication Date: 2016-04-18
The Encyclopedia of Science Education provides a comprehensive international reference work covering the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry, and to do so via contributions from leading researchers from around the globe. Because of the frequent ways in which scholarship in science education has led to developments in other curriculum areas, the encyclopedia has significance beyond the field of science education. The Encyclopedia of Science Education is aimed at graduate students, researchers, developers in science education and science education research. The topics to be covered encompass all areas of science education and it includes biographical entries on science educators, as well as educators whose work has had an impact on science education as a research field.

SOFTWARE AND ONLINE RESOURCES

Course Materials

Week 1

Introduction and course orientation Classroom Dynamics

Required Readings

Rogers, B. (2015). Classroom behavior: A practical guide to effective teaching, behavior management and colleague support. Sage. Chapter 1: The dynamics of classroom behavior, pp. 7– 36.

Recommended Readings

Hendrickx, M. M. H. G., Mainhard, M. T., Boor-Klip, H. J., Cillessen, A. H. M., & Brekelmans, M. (2016). Social dynamics in the classroom: Teacher support and conflict and the peer ecology. Teaching and Teacher Education, 53, 30–40.

Week 2

Theories and Practices of classroom management: Analysis, critique, effect on teaching and learning effectiveness

Required Readings:

Martin, N. K., Schafer, N. J., McClowry, S., Emmer, E. T., Brekelmans, M., Mainhard, T., & Wubbels, T. (2016). Expanding the definition of classroom management: Recurring themes and new conceptualizations. The Journal of Classroom Interaction, 51(1), 31.

Baskerville, D. (2011). Developing cohesion and building positive relationships through storytelling in a culturally diverse new zealand classroom. Teaching and Teacher Education, 27(1), 107-115 https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tate.2010.07.007

Recommended Reading:

Levin, J. & Nolan, J.F. (2010). Principles of classroom management. A professional decision-making model. SixthEdition. Pearson Education. Chapter 4: Philosophical approaches to classroom management, pp. 76–96.

Week 3

Teacher’s impact on the social ecology of teaching and learning

Teacher interpersonal communication in the classroom The importance of body language in the classroom Required Readings:

Powell, R. G., & Powell, D. L. (2015). Classroom communication and diversity: Enhancing instructional practice. Routledge. Chapters 1-5

Recommended Readings:

White, J., & Gardner, J. (2013). The classroom X-Factor: The power of body language and non-verbal communication in teaching. Routledge. Chapter 9: Body language. pp 46-63.

Vizard, D. (2012). How to manage behavior in further education. Second Edition. Los Angeles & London: Sage. Chapter 5: The importance of body language, pp. 57-69

Week 4

Creating a safe positive climate and environment in diverse classroom contexts

Required Readings:

Fraser, B. (2015). Classroom learning environments. In Encyclopaedia of Science Education (pp. 154-157). Springer.

Arens, A. K., & Möller, J. (2016). Dimensional comparisons in students' perceptions of the learning environment. Learning and Instruction, 42, 22-30.

Recommended Reading:

Cook, C. R., Grady, E. A., Long, A. C., Renshaw, T., Codding, R. S., Fiat, A., & Larson, M. (2017). Evaluating the impact of increasing general education teachers’ ratio of positive-to- negative interactions on students’ classroom behavior. Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 19(2), 67-77.

Week 5

Establishing classroom rules and routines

Required Readings:

Rogers, B. (2015). Classroom behavior: a practical guide to effective teaching, behavior management and colleague support. Sage Chapter 2: New class, new year: the establishment phase of behavior management, pp. 37-80.

Hulac, D. M., & Briesch, A. M. (2017). Evidence-based strategies for effective classroom management. New York, NY: Guildford. Chapters 3–7.

Week 6

Preventing problem behaviors I: Enhancing motivation

Required Readings:

Smith, S., & Yell, M. (2013). A teacher's guide to preventing behavior problems in the elementary classroom. Pearson. Chapter 6: Preventing problem behavior through effective teaching. pp. 94-113.

Emmer, E. T. & Evertson, C. M. (2017). Classroom management for middle and high school teachers (910th Edition). Pearson. Chapter 11.

Reccommended Readings:

Jiménez-Barbero, J. A., Ruiz-Hernández, J. A., Llor- Zaragoza, L., Pérez-García, M., & Llor-Esteban, B. (2016). Effectiveness of anti-bullying school programs: A meta- analysis. Children and Youth Services Review, 61, 165-175.

Bolick, C., M., & Bartels, J. T. (2015). Classroom management and technology. In E. T. Emmer & E. J. Sabornie (Eds.), Handbook of classroom management (2nd ed., pp. 479–495). Routledge.

Group Critical Synthesis Paper Due

Week 7

Preventing problem behaviors II: Increasing Active Engagement

Required Reading:

Bear, G. G. (2015). Preventive and classroom-based strategies. In E. T. Emmer & E. J. Sabornie (Eds.), Handbook of classroom management (2nd ed., pp. 15– 38). Routledge.

Recommended Reading:

Kelly, M. P. (2017). Motivating all students in the inclusive classroom to actively respond: An overview of three practical strategies. In S. Abu-Rmaileh, A. Elsheikh, & S. Al Alami (Eds.), Motivation and Classroom Management: Theory, Practice, and Implications (pp. 37-48). TESOL Arabia.

Week 8

Group Presentations of the Critical Synthesis Report

Week 9

Understanding and decreasing common problem behavior in the classroom I

Required Reading:

Rogers, B. (2015). Classroom behavior: a practical guide to effective teaching, behavior management and colleague support. Sage. Chapter 6: Challenging children and children with emotional and behavioural difficulties. pp 167-200.

Recommended Reading:

Reinke, W. M., Stormont, M., Herman, K. C., Wachsmuth, S., & Newcomer, L. (2015). The Brief Classroom Interaction Observation–Revised: An observation system to inform and increase teacher use of universal classroom management practices. Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 17(3), 159-169.

Week 10

Understanding and decreasing common problem behavior in the classroom: Case Studies

Required Reading:

Reinke, W. M., Stormont, M., Herman, K. C., Wang, Z., Newcomer, L., & King, K. (2014). Use of coaching and behavior support planning for students with disruptive behavior within a universal classroom management program. Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders, 22(2), 74–82.

Recommended Reading:

Flower, A., McKenna, J. W., Bunuan, R. L., Muething, C. S., & Vega, R. (2014). Effects of the Good Behavior Game on challenging behaviors in school settings. Review of Educational Research, 84(4), 546–571.

Critical Analysis of Case Study Paper Due

Week 11

Barriers to Implementing Classroom Management and Behavior Support Plans: Case Studies Recommendations to Overcome the Barriers

Required Reading:

Collier‐Meek, M. A., Sanetti, L. M., & Boyle, A. M. (2019). Barriers to implementing classroom management and behavior support plans: An exploratory investigation. Psychology in the Schools, 56(1), 5-17.

In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUISD1-Classroom Management and Communication Skills

COURSE DESCRIPTION

ebooks

SOFTWARE AND ONLINE RESOURCES

Course Materials