LibGuides: In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUP 3 : Effective Assessment in Physics

Books

Science Education by Keith S. Taber (Volume Editor); Ben Ben Akpan (Volume Editor)
Call Number: Q181 .S3558 2017
ISBN: 9789463007474
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Print copy
Technology in the Secondary Science Classroom by Randy L. Bell; Julie Gess-Newsome (Editor); Julie Luft (Editor)
Call Number: Q183.9 .T43 2008
ISBN: 9781933531274
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Print copy
Cognition, Metacognition, and Culture in STEM Education by Yehudit Judy Dori (Editor); Zemira R. Mevarech (Editor); Dale R. Baker (Editor)
Call Number: LB1060 .C64 2018
ISBN: 9783319666570
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
print copy and Free access-Online
Visible Learning for Teachers by John Hattie
ISBN: 9780203181522
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
This book: links the biggest ever research project on teaching strategies to practical classroom implementation champions both teacher and student perspectives and contains step by step guidance including lesson preparation, interpreting learning and feedback during the lesson and post lesson follow up offers checklists, exercises, case studies and best practice scenarios to assist in raising achievement includes whole school checklists and advice for school leaders on facilitating visible learning in their institution now includes additional meta-analyses bringing the total cited within the research to over 900 comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management.
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment by James H. McMillan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412995870
Publication Date: 2012-11-02
The Sage Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment provides scholars, professors, graduate students, and other researchers and policy makers in the organizations, agencies, testing companies, and school districts with a comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment. The handbook emphasizes theory, conceptual frameworks, and all varieties of research (quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods) to provide an in-depth understanding of the knowledge base in each area of classroom assessment and how to conduct inquiry in the area. It presents classroom assessment research to convey, in depth, the state of knowledge and understanding that is represented by the research, with particular emphasis on how classroom assessment practices affect student achievement and teacher behavior. Editor James H. McMillan and five Associate Editors bring the best thinking and analysis from leading classroom assessment researchers on the nature of the research, making significant contributions to this prominent and hotly debated topic in education.
Make It Stick by Henry L. Roediger; Mark A. McDaniel; Peter C. Brown
ISBN: 9780674729018
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly.

SOFTWARE AND ONLINE RESOURCES

https://www.tes.com/teaching-resources
http://www.practicalphysics.org/
PASCO Data Sensor Probes: https://www.pasco.com/resources/blogs/index.cfm
All resources will be available to the students on the college LMS (D2L)
Electronic journal articles will be available through the college library services

Resources

Week 1

Introduction to Practical work in physics: Making good practical work happen

Investigation Skills: Planning and setting up physics investigations in preparation for meaningful assessment.

http://www.practicalphysics.org/ And additional student-sourced resources.

Required Reading

Abrahams, I. (2017). Minds-On Practical Work for Effective Science Learning. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science Education: An International Course Companion (pp. 403- 413). SensePublishers. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94- 6300-749-8_29
Park, (2008). Probeware tools for science investigations. Technology in the Secondary Science classroom. https://www.pasco.com/resources/blogs/index.cfm

Week 2

Metacognitive strategies and physics assessment

Metacognition and self-regulated learning

Developing metacognitive strategies in physics for and through assessment

Required Reading:

Avargil, S., Lavi, R., & Dori, Y. J. (2018). Students’ metacognition and metacognitive strategies in science education. In Cognition, Metacognition, and Culture in STEM Education (pp. 33-64). Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-66659-4_3
Tanner, K. D. (2012). Promoting student metacognition. CBE— Life Sciences Education, 11(2), 113-120. https://doi.org/10.1187/cbe.12-03-0033

Cognition, metacognition, and culture in STEM education : learning, teaching and assessment
Yehudit Judy Dori, Zemira R. Mevarech, Dale R. Baker, editors

Week 3

Analyzing practical activities for learning and assessment potential potential

Does this activity develop conceptual knowledge, investigative skills and epistemic knowledge?

Required Reading:

Laverty, J. T., & Caballero, M. D. (2018). Analysis of the most common concept inventories in physics: What are we assessing?. Physical Review Physics Education Research, 14(1), 010123.https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevPhysEducRes.14.010123
OECD (2019), "PISA 2018 Science Framework", in PISA 2018 Assessment and Analytical Framework, OECD Publishing, Paris. https://doi.org/10.1787/f30da688-en.
Millar, R. (2009). Analysing practical activities to assess and improve effectiveness: The Practical Activity Analysis Inventory (PAAI). https://www.rsc.org/cpd/teachers/content/ filerepository/frg/pdf/ResearchbyMillar.pdf

Week 4

Assessing inquiry and investigation skills

Procedural and epistemic knowledge.

Required Reading:

Harrison, C. (2014). Assessment of Inquiry Skills in the SAILS Project. Science Education International, 25(1), 112-122. http://www.icaseonline.net/sei/march2014/p12.pdf

Recommended Reading:

Black, P. (2017). Assessment in Science Education. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science Education: An International Course Companion (pp. 295-309). SensePublishers. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6300-749-8_22

Week 5

Assessment in Physics Education

Required Reading:

Dufresne, R. J., & Gerace, W. J. (2004). Assessing-to-learn: Formative assessment in physics instruction. The Physics Teacher, 42(7), 428-433.https://doi.org/10.1119/1.1804662

Hattie, J. (2012). Visible learning for teachers: Maximizing impact on learning. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203181522-8 Chapter 7, pp 129-154

Recommended Reading:

Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429485480. Chapter 1

Assignment 1 due

Assignment 2 Introduced and explained

Week 6

Formative assessment /AfL strategies in Physics:

What does a Formative-Assessment Centred Classroom look like?

Written and Verbal Feedback linking to effective Success Criteria

Required Reading:

Keeley, P. (2015). Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1.Corwin. Chapter 1.
Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429485480.

Week 7

Required Reading:

Brame, C. J. (2019). Science teaching essentials: short guides to good practice (1st ed.). Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/c2017-0-01010-8. Chapter 6
Keeley, P. (2015). Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1. Corwin. Chapter 4.
Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429485480. Chapter 4

Week 8

Formative assessment Strategies in Physics:

Reliability and validity of teacher assessments

Required Reading:

McMillan, J. H. (2013). SAGE handbook of research on classroom assessment. Sage. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452218649
- Chapter 6: Validity in Classroom Assessment: Purposes, Properties, and Principles
- Chapter 7: Reliability in Classroom Assessment

Week 9

Summative Assessment Strategies in Physics

Designing effective tools

Internal and external science exams in the UAE

Preparation for exams

Teacher standards: [here]

UAE inspection framework: [here]

Required Reading:

Brown, P. C., Roediger, H. L., & Mcdaniel, M. A. (2014). Make It Stick: The Science of Successful Learning. Harvard University Press. Chapter 2: To learn, retrieve
McMillan, J. H. (2013). SAGE handbook of research on classroom assessment. Sage. https://doi.org/10.4135/978145221864
- Chapter 10: Formative and Summative Aspects of Assessment: Theoretical and Research Foundations in the Context of Pedagogy

Week 10

Assessment Informed Teaching and Learning

Integrating assessment evidence into teaching and learning improvements.

Required Reading:

Kippers, W. B., Wolterinck, C. H., Schildkamp, K., Poortman, C. L., & Visscher, A. J. (2018). Teachers' views on the use of assessment for learning and data-based decision making in classroom practice. Teaching and Teacher Education, 75, 199-213. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tate.2018.06.015

Week 11

Required Reading:

Assessment 2 students presentations

Assessment 2 due

In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUP 3 : Effective Assessment in Physics

Course Description

Books

SOFTWARE AND ONLINE RESOURCES

Resources