EDUISD2 - Critical and Enquiry Perspectives on Teaching, Learning and Assessment - In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

Books

Visible learning for teachers: Maximizing impact on learning by John Hattie
ISBN: 9780415690157
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
In November 2008, John Hattie's ground-breaking book Visible Learning synthesised the results of more than fifteen years research involving millions of students and represented the biggest ever collection of evidence-based research into what actually works in schools to improve learning. Visible Learning for Teachers takes the next step and brings those ground breaking concepts to a completely new audience. Written for students, pre-service and in-service teachers, it explains how to apply the principles of Visible Learning to any classroom anywhere in the world. The author offers concise and user-friendly summaries of the most successful interventions and offers practical step-by-step guidance to the successful implementation of visible learning and visible teaching in the classroom. This book: links the biggest ever research project on teaching strategies to practical classroom implementation champions both teacher and student perspectives and contains step by step guidance including lesson preparation, interpreting learning and feedback during the lesson and post lesson follow up offers checklists, exercises, case studies and best practice scenarios to assist in raising achievement includes whole school checklists and advice for school leaders on facilitating visible learning in their institution now includes additional meta-analyses bringing the total cited within the research to over 900 comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management. Visible Learning for Teachers is a must read for any student or teacher who wants an evidence based answer to the question; 'how do we maximise achievement in our schools?'
Action Research in Education by Sara Efrat Efron; Ruth Ravid
ISBN: 9781462509713
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
This accessible, pragmatic text shows educators step by step how to conduct classroom- and school-based studies to improve instructional practices. The book presents methods and strategies for implementing each stage of the action research cycle, providing balanced coverage of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods approaches. Readers learn how to: select and define a research topic; develop a literature review; choose a design; formulate data collection strategies; design and/or evaluate assessment tools; and interpret, analyze, and report study results. Helpful examples and vignettes depict a variety of real-world teaching and learning situations, school subjects, and age groups (PreK-12). Pedagogical Features Include: *Exercises and activities in every chapter. *Checklists, guidelines, and templates that enable busy educators to self-assess the progress and quality of their studies. *Example boxes illustrating the components of an action research report. *Summary tables highlighting key aspects of different research strategies. *Chapter summaries and suggestions for further reading.
Teachers, Schools, and Society: a Brief Introduction to Education by David M. Sadker; Karen Zittleman
ISBN: 9781259913792
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Teachers Schools and Society: A Brief Introduction to Education, 5th Edition, offers a broad, diverse, and stimulating view of education. Written in an engaging, student-friendly style, readers are immersed in an inspiring world of the teacher where current education headlines are brought to life. The text provides a broad yet precise exposure to the realities of teaching and the role of education in our society.
Developing Expert Learners by Michael McDowell
ISBN: 9781544337159
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Building upon the groundwork from Rigorous PBL by Design, this resource provides practices that strategically support students as they move from novices to experts in core academics. This book Provides an actionable framework for developing student expertise Offers practical guidance for creating a culture that cultivates expertise and builds student efficacy Gives a unit and lesson template that clarifies the steps students must take to build, deepen, and apply core content knowledge and skills Ensures your students' progress in their learning through a process for selecting instructional, feedback, and learning strategies Includes strategies for improving your professional expertise individually and collectively
Lesson Study by Peter Dudley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203795538
Publication Date: 2014-08-27
This book introduces readers to the development of Lesson Study (LS) in the UK, making historical connections to the growth of Lesson Study in Japan, East Asia, the US and Europe. It explains how to conduct LS in schools and educational institutions, providing examples of compelling, externally evaluated impact outcomes for both primary learners and teacher learners, and vivid exemplars of LS in action across age ranges and curricular contexts. Each chapter presents international research outcomes that clearly demonstrate how and why LS has a place within teacher learning approaches that have the greatest impact and the greatest capacity building potential for creating outstanding teaching. This is supported by primary research evidence, and linked with contemporary and recent high quality research worldwide into pupil learning, teacher learning, school improvement and system improvement.

SOFTWARE AND ONLINE RESOURCES

Teacher standards: [here]

UAE inspection framework: [here]

Course Materials List

Week 1

Course outline and introduction Defining teaching and learning

Required Reading

Darling-Hammond, L. (2021). Defining teaching quality around the world. European Journal of Teacher Education. 44(3), 295-308. (Open access)
Sadker, D. M. & Zittleman, K. (2021). Teachers, Schools, and Society: A Brief Introduction to Education. (6^th Ed.). McGraw-Hill.

Recommended Readings

Stewart, V. (2011). Raising Teacher Quality around the World. Educational Leadership, 68(4), 16-20.

Week 2

Perspectives on teaching, learning and assessment

Selection of week 6 presentation topic from course outline and support materials

Required Readings

Perspectives on teaching, learning and assessment Required Readings

Boyadzhieva, E. (2016). Learner-centred teaching and learner autonomy. Procedia Social and Behavioural Sciences, 232 (1), 35-40. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sbspro.2016.10.008
Mello, R. R. (2012). From constructivism to dialogism in the classroom. Theory and learning environments. International Journal of Educational Psychology, 1(2),127-152. http://dx.doi.org/10.4471/ijep.2012.08

Recommended Readings

Pritchard, A., & Woollard, J. (2010). Psychology for the classroom: Constructivism and social learning. Routledge. (Read the Introduction, and Chapter 4). https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203855171

Week 3

The importance of the researching teacher

Developing teachers’ professional knowledge and expertise through research

Action research and Lesson Study

Required Reading

Efron, S. E., & Ravid, R. (2019). Action research in education: A practical guide (2^nd Ed). Guilford Publications. Chapter 1 (pp 1-15)

Recommended Reading

Xu, H., & Pedder, D. (2015). Lesson study: An international review of the research. In P. Dudley (Ed.), Lesson study: Professional learning for our time (pp. 29–58). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203795538-2/lesson-study-haiyan-xu-david-pedder

Week 4

The student as a learner - dispositions Learning dispositions and growth mind-sets Motivation

Required Readings

Deakin Crick, R., & Goldspink, C. (2014). Learner dispositions, self- theories and student engagement. British Journal of Educational Studies, 62(1), 19-35. https://doi.org/10.1080/00071005.2014.904038
Olivier, E., Archambault, I., De Clercq, M., & Galand, B. (2019). Student self-efficacy, classroom engagement, and academic achievement: Comparing three theoretical frameworks. Journal of Youth and Adolescence, 48(2), 326-340. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.1007/s10964-018-0952-0

Recommended Readings

Bandura, A. (2010). Self-efficacy. In Weiner, I., B., & Craighead, W.E. (Eds). Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology. Vol 2. John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9780470479216.corpsy0836
Nayirt, F. (2017). The relationship between student motivation and class engagement levels. Eurasian Journal of Educational Research, 71, 59-78. https://doi.org/10.14689/ejer.2017.71.4

Week 5

The student as a learner – strategies for learning Learning strategies, practices and preferences Gender and Language influences on learning

Required Reading

Perry, J., Lundie, D., & Golder, G. (2019). Metacognition in schools: what does the literature suggest about the effectiveness of teaching metacognition in schools? Educational Review, 71(4), 483-500.

https://doi.org/10.1080/00131911.2018.1441127

Recommended Reading

Kennetz, K., Litz, D., Riddlebarger, J., Tennant, L., Dickson, M., & Stringer, P. (2020). Placing elementary-school teachers at the vanguard of modernisation: Language use and emergent identity among English-medium teachers in the UAE. English in Education, 54(1), 74-92. https://doi.org/10.1080/04250494.2019.1688656

Week 6

The teacher–general approaches

Planning for teaching and learning

Broad approaches to teaching: direct instruction, inquiry-based teaching, dialogic teaching, problem-solving teaching, problem- based teaching.

Required Reading

Hattie, J. (2011). Visible learning for teachers: Maximizing impact on learning. Routledge. Chapters 2-3. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203181522-8

Recommended Reading

McDowell, M. (2019). Developing expert learners: A roadmap for growing confident and competent students. Corwin Press. Chapter 2. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781071800454

Week 6: Assignment 1 report due Introduction to Assignment 2

Week 7

Students Presentations

Week 8

Hands-on practice: Carrying out research in the classroom Developing research questions, data collection and analysis

Required Reading

Efron, S. E., & Ravid, R. (2019). Action research in education: A practical guide (2^nd Ed). Guilford Publications. Excerpts from Chapters 3, 4, 5 and 7

Recommended Reading

Kumar, R. (2011). Research methodology: A step-by-step guide for beginners. Sage. (Part III data collection and analysis)

Week 9

The teacher-classroom strategies

Group work tasks and strategies/Differentiation strategies

Required Readings

Nokes-Malach, T.J., Richey, J.E. & Gadgil, S. (2015). When is it better to learn together? Insights from research on collaborative learning. Educational Psychological Review 27, 645–656.
Suprayogi, M, N., Valcke, M. Godwin, R. (2017). Teachers and their implementation of differentiated instruction in the classroom. Teaching and Teacher Education,67, 291-301

Recommended Readings

Hattie, J. (2011). Visible learning for teachers: Maximizing impact on learning. Routledge. Chapters 4-5. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203181522-8
van de Pol, J., Mercer, N., & Volman, M. (2019). Scaffolding student understanding in small-group work: Students’ uptake of teacher support in subsequent small-group interaction. Journal of the Learning Sciences, 28(2), 206-239. https://doi.org/10.1080/10508406.2018.1522258

Week 10

Assessment strategies

Fostering independent learning through assessment for learning/formative assessment and metacognition Classroom assessment and tests

Required Readings

Bennett, R. E. (2011) Formative assessment: A critical review. Assessment in Education: Principles, Policy & Practice, 18(1), 5-25.
Hattie, J. (2011). Visible learning for teachers: Maximizing impact on learning. Routledge. Chapter 6. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203181522-8

Recommended Readings

Krolak-Schwerdt, S.,·Böhmer, M., & Gräsel, C. (2016). The impact of accountability on teachers’ assessments of student performance: A social cognitive analysis. Social Psychology Education, 16, 215–239. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11218-

013-9215-9

Wiliam, D., & Leahy, S. (2016). Embedding formative assessment. https://webcontent.ssatuk.co.uk/wp- content/uploads/2017/09/15085809/SSAT-Embedding- Formative-Assessment-Report.pdf

Week 11

Listening to students

Pupil voice, influence and consultation.

Dialogic teaching

Required reading

Warwick, P., Vrikki, M., Færøyvik Karlsen, A. M., Dudley, P., & Vermunt, J. D. (2019). The role of pupil voice as a trigger for teacher learning in Lesson Study professional groups. Cambridge Journal of Education, 49(4), 435-455. https://doi.org/10.1080/0305764x.2018.1556606

In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUISD2 - Critical and Enquiry Perspectives on Teaching, Learning and Assessment

COURSE DESCRIPTION

Books

SOFTWARE AND ONLINE RESOURCES

Teacher standards: [here]

Course Materials List