EDUGS3 - Effective Assessment in Science - In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

eBooks

Science Education by Keith S. Taber (Volume Editor); Ben Ben Akpan (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789463007474
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This book comprises a wide range of scholarly essays introducing readers to key topics and issues in science education. Science education has become a well established field in its own right, with a vast literature, and many active areas of scholarship. Science Education: An International Course Companion offers an entry point for students seeking a sound but introductory understanding of the key perspectives and areas of thinking in science education. Each account is self-contained and offers a scholarly and research-informed introduction to a particular topic, theme, or perspective, with both citations to key literature and recommendations for more advanced reading. Science Education: An International Course Companion allows readers (such as those preparing for school science teaching, or seeking more advanced specialist qualifications) to obtain a broad familiarity with key issues across the field as well as guiding wider reading about particular topics of interest. The book therefore acts as a reader to support learning across courses in science education internationally. The broad coverage of topics is such that that the book will support students following a diverse range of courses and qualifications. The comprehensive nature of the book will allow course leaders and departments to nominate the book as the key reader to support students--their core 'course companion' in science education.
Visible Learning for Teachers by John Hattie
ISBN: 9780203181522
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
In November 2008, John Hattie's ground-breaking book Visible Learning synthesised the results of more than fifteen years research involving millions of students and represented the biggest ever collection of evidence-based research into what actually works in schools to improve learning. Visible Learning for Teachers takes the next step and brings those ground breaking concepts to a completely new audience. Written for students, pre-service and in-service teachers, it explains how to apply the principles of Visible Learning to any classroom anywhere in the world. The author offers concise and user-friendly summaries of the most successful interventions and offers practical step-by-step guidance to the successful implementation of visible learning and visible teaching in the classroom. This book: links the biggest ever research project on teaching strategies to practical classroom implementation champions both teacher and student perspectives and contains step by step guidance including lesson preparation, interpreting learning and feedback during the lesson and post lesson follow up offers checklists, exercises, case studies and best practice scenarios to assist in raising achievement includes whole school checklists and advice for school leaders on facilitating visible learning in their institution now includes additional meta-analyses bringing the total cited within the research to over 900 comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management.
Visible Learning: Feedback by John Hattie; Shirley Clarke
ISBN: 9780429485480
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
Feedback is arguably the most critical and powerful aspect of teaching and learning. Yet, there remains a paradox: why is feedback so powerful and why is it so variable? It is this paradox which Visible Learning: Feedback aims to unravel and resolve. Combining research excellence, theory and vast teaching expertise, this book covers the principles and practicalities of feedback, including: the variability of feedback, the importance of surface, deep and transfer contexts, student to teacher feedback, peer to peer feedback, the power of within lesson feedback and manageable post-lesson feedback. With numerous case-studies, examples and engaging anecdotes woven throughout, the authors also shed light on what creates an effective feedback culture and provide the teaching and learning structures which give the best possible framework for feedback.
Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1 by Page D. Keeley
ISBN: 9781483352176
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
Newly Updated! Deepen students' science knowledge through formative assessment. Formative assessment informs the design of learning opportunities that take students from their existing ideas of science to the scientific ideas and practices that support conceptual understanding. Page Keeley, a nationally known expert in science education, wrote Science Formative Assessment to help educators weave formative assessment into daily instruction and learning. In the second edition, the author provides many new examples, links the strategies to current research as well as the Framework for K-12 Science Education and Next Generation Science Standards, and even shows how these same techniques can be used across other disciplines. Teachers will appreciate 75 formative assessment classroom techniques (FACTs) that include: Descriptions of how each FACT promotes learning and informs instruction Charts linking K-12 core concepts and scientific practices to the 75 FACTs Implementation guidance, such as required materials and student grouping Modifications for different learners and grade spans Links to use in other content areas, including a brief example Use Science Formative Assessment with any science curriculum or state standards to improve and enhance teaching and learning in K-12 science classrooms.
Science Teaching Essentials by Cynthia J. Brame
ISBN: 9780128147030
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Science Teaching Essentials: Short Guides to Good Practice serves as a reference manual for science faculty as they set up a new course, consider how to teach the course, figure out how to assess their students fairly and efficiently, and review and revise course materials. This book consists of a series of short chapters that instructors can use as resources to address common teaching problems and adopt evidence-based pedagogies. By providing individual chapters that can be used independently as needed, this book provides faculty with a just-in-time teaching resource they can use to draft a new syllabus. This is a must-have resource for science, health science and engineering faculty, as well as graduate students and post-docs preparing for future faculty careers. Provides easily digested, practical, research-based information on how to teach Allows faculty to efficiently get up-to-speed on a given pedagogy or assessment method Addresses the full range of faculty experiences as they being to teach for the first time or want to reinvent how they teach
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment by James H. McMillan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412995870
Publication Date: 2012-11-02
The Sage Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment provides scholars, professors, graduate students, and other researchers and policy makers in the organizations, agencies, testing companies, and school districts with a comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment. The handbook emphasizes theory, conceptual frameworks, and all varieties of research (quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods) to provide an in-depth understanding of the knowledge base in each area of classroom assessment and how to conduct inquiry in the area. It presents classroom assessment research to convey, in depth, the state of knowledge and understanding that is represented by the research, with particular emphasis on how classroom assessment practices affect student achievement and teacher behavior. Editor James H. McMillan and five Associate Editors bring the best thinking and analysis from leading classroom assessment researchers on the nature of the research, making significant contributions to this prominent and hotly debated topic in education.
Make It Stick by Henry L. Roediger; Mark A. McDaniel; Peter C. Brown
ISBN: 9780674729018
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly. More complex and durable learning come from self-testing, introducing certain difficulties in practice, waiting to re-study new material until a little forgetting has set in, and interleaving the practice of one skill or topic with another. Speaking most urgently to students, teachers, trainers, and athletes, Make It Stick will appeal to all those interested in the challenge of lifelong learning and self-improvement.

Library Resources

Week 1:

Course Overview

Introduction to Practical work in science:

Making good practical work happen

Investigation Skills: Planning and setting up science investigations in preparation for meaningful assessment.

Investigations and Practical Activities: http://www.vicphysics.org/practicalactivities.html
Institute of Physics Guide: http://www.practicalphysics.org/
Nuffield Practical Guides, e.g. http://www.nuffieldfoundation.org/practical-biology
https://phet.colorado.edu/en/simulations/category/chemistry
https://www.stem.org.uk/resources/collection/4035/classic- chemistry-experiments

Required Reading

Abrahams, I. (2017). Minds-On Practical Work for Effective Science Learning. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science Education: An International Course Companion (pp. 403-413). SensePublishers. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6300-749- 8_29
Park, (2008). Probeware tools for science investigations. Technology in the Secondary Science classroom.

Week 2

Metacognitive strategies and science assessment

Metacognition and self-regulated learning

Developing metacognitive strategies in science for and through assessment

Required Reading:

Avargil, S., Lavi, R., & Dori, Y. J. (2018). Students’ metacognition and metacognitive strategies in science education. In Cognition, Metacognition, and Culture in STEM Education (pp. 33-64). Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-66659- 4_3
Tanner, K. D. (2012). Promoting student metacognition. CBE— Life Sciences Education, 11(2), 113-120. https://doi.org/10.1187/cbe.12-03-0033

Week 3

Analyzing practical activities for learning and assessment potential Does this activity develop conceptual knowledge, investigative skills and epistemic knowledge?

Required Reading:

OECD (2019), "PISA 2018 Science Framework", in PISA 2018 Assessment and Analytical Framework, OECD Publishing, Paris, https://doi.org/10.1787/f30da688-en.
Millar, R. (2009). Analysing practical activities to assess and improve effectiveness: The Practical Activity Analysis Inventory (PAAI). https://www.rsc.org/cpd/teachers/content/ filerepository/frg/pdf/ResearchbyMillar.pdf

Week 4:

Assessing inquiry and investigation skills

Procedural and epistemic knowledge.

Required Reading:

Harrison, C. (2014). Assessment of Inquiry Skills in the SAILS Project. Science Education International, 25(1), 112-122. http://www.icaseonline.net/sei/march2014/p12.pdf

Recommended Reading:

Black, P. (2017). Assessment in Science Education. In K. S. Taber & B. Akpan (Eds.), Science Education: An International Course Companion (pp. 295-309). SensePublishers. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6300-749-8_22

Week 5 :

Assessment in Science Education

Required Reading:

Hattie, J. (2012). Visible learning for teachers: Maximizing impact on learning. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203181522-8 Chapter 7, pp 129-154

Recommended Reading:

Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429485480. Chapter 1

Assignment 1 due

Assignment 2 Introduced and explained

Week 6 :

Formative assessment /AfL strategies in Science:

What does a Formative-Assessment Centred Classroom look like? Written and Verbal Feedback linking to effective Success Criteria

Required Reading:

Keeley, P. (2015). Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1.Corwin. Chapter 1.
Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429485480.

Week 7 :

Formative assessment Strategies in Science:

Self-regulation and metacognition Peer and Self-Assessment

Required Reading:

Brame, C. J. (2019). Science teaching essentials: short guides to good practice (1st ed.). Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/c2017-0-01010-8. Chapter 6
Keeley, P. (2015). Science Formative Assessment, Volume 1. Corwin. Chapter 4.
Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2018). Visible learning: feedback. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429485480. Chapter 4

Week 8 :

Formative assessment Strategies in Science:

Reliability and validity of teacher assessments

Required Reading:

McMillan, J. H. (2013). SAGE handbook of research on classroom assessment. Sage. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452218649
- Chapter 6: Validity in Classroom Assessment: Purposes, Properties, and Principles
- Chapter 7: Reliability in Classroom Assessment

Week 9:

Summative Assessment Strategies in Science

Designing effective tools

Internal and external science exams in the UAE

Preparation for exams

Teacher standards: [here]

UAE inspection framework: [here]

Required Reading:

Brown, P. C., Roediger, H. L., & Mcdaniel, M. A. (2014). Make It Stick: The Science of Successful Learning. Harvard University Press. Chapter 2: To learn, retrieve

McMillan, J. H. (2013). SAGE handbook of research on classroom assessment. Sage. https://doi.org/10.4135/978145221864
- Chapter 10: Formative and Summative Aspects of Assessment: Theoretical and Research Foundations in the Context of Pedagogy

Week 10 :

Assessment Informed Teaching and Learning

Integrating assessment evidence into teaching and learning improvements.

Required Reading:

Kippers, W. B., Wolterinck, C. H., Schildkamp, K., Poortman, C. L., & Visscher, A. J. (2018). Teachers' views on the use of assessment for learning and data-based decision making in classroom practice. Teaching and Teacher Education, 75, 199-213. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tate.2018.06.015

Week 11:

Assessment 2 students presentations

Assessment 2 due

In-Service Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUGS3 - Effective Assessment in Science

COURSE DESCRIPTION

eBooks

Library Resources