LibGuides: M Ed on Educational Leadership and School Improvement (ELSI): ELSI 7: Research methods in educational leadership for school improvement

Books

Educational Research by Robert Burke Johnson; Larry B. Christensen
Call Number: LB1028 .J59 2020
ISBN: 9781544337838
Publication Date: 2019-10-11
Educational Research: Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Approachesby R. Burke Johnson and Larry Christensen offers a comprehensive, easily digestible introduction to research methods. Readers will develop an understanding of the multiple research methods and strategies used in education and related fields, including how to read and critically evaluate published research and how to write a proposal, construct a questionnaire, and conduct an empirical research study on their own. The Seventh Edition maintains the features that made this book a best-seller, including attention-grabbing chapter-opening vignettes, lively examples that engage reader interest, a conversational and friendly writing style, and more. With the support of this highly readable text, readers will transform into critical consumers and users of research.
Doing a Literature Review by Chris Hart
Call Number: H62 .H2566 2018
ISBN: 9781526419217
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
The ultimate guide to the 'what', 'how' and 'why' of literature reviewing, the second edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one′s research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new 'core skills' framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart′s landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Introduction to Research in Education by Donald Ary; Lucy Cheser Jacobs; Christine K. Sorensen Irvine; David Walker
Call Number: LB1028 .A7 2019
ISBN: 9781133596745
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Become a more competent consumer and producer of research with INTRODUCTION TO RESEARCH IN EDUCATION, 9th Edition! Known for its exceptionally clear writing style and comprehensive coverage, this research methods guide helps you master the basic competencies necessary to understand and evaluate the research of others. The authors familiarize you with common research problems in a step-by-step manner through examples that clarify complex concepts, supported by strong end-of-chapter exercises. This book is a must-read for anyone planning to conduct research or interpret the research of others. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Research Design by John W. Creswell; J. David Creswell
Call Number: H62 .C6963 2014
ISBN: 9781506386706
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by John W. Creswell; Cheryl N. Poth
Call Number: H61 .C74 2018
ISBN: 9781506330204
Publication Date: 2017-01-25
In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell′s signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Editionis an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry.
Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research, by Creswell & Guetterman
Call Number: LB1028 .C742 2021
ISBN: 9781292337807
Publication Date: 2021
Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research offers a truly balanced, inclusive, and integrated overview of the processes involved in educational research. This text first examines the general steps in the research process and then details the procedures for conducting specific types of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies. Direct guidance on reading research is offered throughout the text, and features provide opportunities for practice.

Course Resources

Week 1

Required Readings:

Johnson, B.R., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational Research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 4: How to critically review the literature and develop good research questions)

Hart, C. (2018). Doing a literature review: Releasing the research imagination (2nded.). Sage.

(The purpose of literature reviewing).

Recommended Reading:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen, I. C., & Walker, D.A. (2019) Introduction to research in education (10th ed.). Wadsworth.

(Chapter 2: The nature of research in education/ Chapter 3: Reviewing the Literature)

Week 2

Required Readings:

Johnson, B., R., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational Research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 4: How to critically review the literature and develop good research questions) (Chapters 5-How to Write a research Proposal &Chapter 6- Research Ethics)

Hart, C. (2018). Doing a literature review: Releasing the research imagination. Sage.

(The purpose of literature reviewing).

Recommended Reading:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L.C., Sorensen, I. C., & Walker, D.A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th ed.). Wadsworth.

(Chapter 3- Reviewing the Literature)

Creswell, J. W. (2018). Research design: Qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approach (5th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 4-Writing Strategies and Ethical Considerations)

Week 3

Required Reading:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen, I. C., & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th ed.). Wadsworth.

(Chapter 16-Type of Qualitative Research/ Chapter 21-Mixed Methods approach)

Recommended Readings:

Creswell, J. W., & Poth, C. N. (2018). Qualitative inquiry and research design: Choosing among five approaches (4th ed.). Sage.

(Chapters 4 and 5).

Johnson, B. R., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 15,16,17-Qualitative and Mixed Methods Types).

Week 4

Required Reading:

Johnson, B. R., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapters 12 and 13 experimental designs, Chapter 14).

Recommended Reading:

Creswell, J. W., & Guetterman, T. C. (2019). Educational research: Planning, conducting, and evaluating quantitative and qualitative research (6th ed.). Pearson.

(Chapter 10/Experimental designs, Chapter 11/Non experimental designs)

Week 5

Required Reading:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen, I. C., & Walker, D.A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10^th ed.). Wadsworth.

(Chapter 17- Data Collection Tools in Qualitative Research)

Recommended Reading:

Johnson, B. R. & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 8-Methods of Data Collection in Qualitative, Quantitative and Mixed Research).

Week 6

Required Reading:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen, I. C., & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th ed.). Wadsworth.

(Chapter 19- Analysing and Reporting Qualitative data)

Recommended Reading:

Johnson, B.R., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 20-Data Analysis in Qualitative and Mixed Research).

Week 7

Required Reading:

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches. Sage.

(Chapters 8, 9 & 11)

Recommended Reading:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen, I. C., & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th ed.). Wadsworth.

(Chapters 5,6 & 17)

Week 8

Required Reading:

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapters 18 and 19)

Recommended Readings:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen, I. C., & Walker, D.A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th ed.). Wadsworth.

(Chapter 7)

Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf

Week 9

Required Reading:

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 20)

Recommended Readings:

Ary, D., Jacobs, L. C., Sorensen I. C., & Walker, D. A. (2019). Introduction to research in education (10th ed.). Wadsworth. (Chapter 8)
Gabrosek, J. (2013). SPSS Manual for introductory applied statistics: A variable approach. https://www.gvsu.edu/cms4/asset/4CE39E3F-BF40-0D23-0D675539A8F525E7/spss.pdf

Week 10

Required Reading:

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (7th ed.). Sage. (Chapters 5-How to Write a research Proposal &Chapter 6- Research Ethics)

Recommended reading:

Creswell, J. W. (2018). Research design: Qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approach (5th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 4-Writing Strategies and Ethical Considerations)

Week 11

Required Reading:

Johnson, B., & Christensen, L. (2020). Educational research: Quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches. (7th ed.). Sage. (Chapters 5-How to Write a research Proposal &Chapter 6- Research Ethics)

Recommended reading:

Creswell, J. W. (2018). Research design: Qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approach. (5th ed.). Sage.

(Chapter 4-Writing Strategies and Ethical Considerations)

M Ed on Educational Leadership and School Improvement (ELSI): ELSI 7: Research methods in educational leadership for school improvement

Course Description

Books

Course Resources