LibGuides: Pre-Service Early Years/Primary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSPPP1- Secondary Professional Practice Placement- 1 (SPPP1): From exposure to participation in the life of classrooms and schools

Books

Learning to Teach in the Secondary School by Susan Capel (Editor); Marilyn Leask (Editor); Sarah Younie (Editor); Elizabeth Hidson (Editor); Julia Lawrence (Editor)
ISBN: 9781003201267
Publication Date: 2022-07-29
The market leading text for beginning teachers on all undergraduate, postgraduate and school-based routes to QTS, this is an essential introduction to the key skills and knowledge needed to become a successful teacher. Offering advice on all aspects of teaching and learning, this ninth edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect changes in the field and covers key new topics, including the science of learning, online pedagogies and working with your mentor. There are also expanded units on diversity and inclusion and teacher wellbeing. The text includes a wealth of examples and tasks to support you in successfully applying theory to practice, and in critically reflecting on and analysing your practice to maximise pupil learning. The wide range of pedagogical features supports both school- and university-based work up to Masters level. Written by experts in the field, the 41 concise units are underpinned by evidence-informed practice and focus on what you need to know to thrive in the classroom, including: lesson planning; curriculum; managing behaviour; online lessons and digital resources; effective communication with pupils; how pupils learn; assessment, marking and feedback; diversity and inclusion; special educational needs and disabilities (SEND); managing stress, workload and time; applying for jobs, developing as a professional and networking. The book is extended and enhanced through a companion website that includes: Animated explainer videos, to introduce and summarise key topics; A selection of downloadable and editable tables and figures from the book, so that the most practical elements can be taken out of study and into practice; Additional material and interactive features to support selected units, such as focus questions for lesson observations, and flashcards to help analyse student behaviour; Bonus content, including 'Starting to Teach' chapters and a mapping document, supporting you to make links between the ninth edition chapters and key teaching standards. Supported by the subject-specific titles in the Learning to Teach Subjects in the Secondary School and A Practical Guide to Teaching Subjects in the Secondary School Series, it is an essential purchase for every aspiring secondary school teacher.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Mike Allen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483381435
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. Although there are generic encyclopedias describing basic social science research methodologies in general, until now there has been no comprehensive A-to-Z reference work exploring methods specific to communication and media studies. Our entries, authored by key figures in the field, focus on special considerations when applied specifically to communication research, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication, journalism, and media studies. Entries cover every step of the research process, from the creative development of research topics and questions to literature reviews, selection of best methods (whether quantitative, qualitative, or mixed) for analyzing research results and publishing research findings, whether in traditional media or via new media outlets. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of theories and methods traditionally used in communication research, other entries discuss important trends influencing the future of that research, including contemporary practical issues students will face in communication professions, the influences of globalization on research, use of new recording technologies in fieldwork, and the challenges and opportunities related to studying online multi-media environments. Email, texting, cellphone video, and blogging are shown not only as topics of research but also as means of collecting and analyzing data. Still other entries delve into considerations of accountability, copyright, confidentiality, data ownership and security, privacy, and other aspects of conducting an ethical research program. Features: 652 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes available in choice of electronic or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries. Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys. The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the e-version.
Effective Teaching and Learning by Paul Cooper; Donald McIntyre
ISBN: 0335193803
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
"This book examines how teachers and students actually go about their classroom business. It carefully avoids the assumptions of policy-makers and theorists about what ought to be happening and focuses on what is happening. In doing so, the authors offer a detailed look at how teachers are responding to the National Curriculum, a unique insight into secondary school students as learners, and a grounded analysis of teaching and learning strategies drawing on the psychological theories of Bruner and Vygotsky." "The book follows on from Donald McIntyre's previous book Making Sense of Teaching and will be of interest to student teachers, teachers studying for advanced degrees and academics involved in teacher education."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Visible Learning: Feedback by John Hattie; Shirley Clarke
ISBN: 9781138599888
Publication Date: 2018-08-23
Feedback is arguably the most critical and powerful aspect of teaching and learning. Yet, there remains a paradox: why is feedback so powerful and why is it so variable? It is this paradox which Visible Learning: Feedback aims to unravel and resolve. Combining research excellence, theory and vast teaching expertise, this book covers the principles and practicalities of feedback, including: the variability of feedback, the importance of surface, deep and transfer contexts, student to teacher feedback, peer to peer feedback, the power of within lesson feedback and manageable post-lesson feedback. With numerous case-studies, examples and engaging anecdotes woven throughout, the authors also shed light on what creates an effective feedback culture and provide the teaching and learning structures which give the best possible framework for feedback. Visible Learning: Feedback brings together two internationally known educators and merges Hattie's world-famous research expertise with Clarke's vast experience of classroom practice and application, making this book an essential resource for teachers in any setting, phase or country.
Making Sense of Teaching by Sally Brown; Donald McIntyre
Call Number: LB1025.3.B761992
ISBN: 9780335157952
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
ONLY PRINT COPY AVAILABLE

Course Resources

Week 1

Introduction to the course

Introduction to Professional Practice

Introduce Gibbs Reflective Cycle of reflection
Reflecting on and in teaching
Modelling Collaborative Learning Interview

[Interns fill the “beginning of program” Attitudes and Views about Teaching and Learning questionnaire]

Required Readings

La Velle, L. & Newman, S. (2022). Becoming a teacher: What do teachers do? In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Getting Started with Reflective Practice https://www.cambridge-community.org.uk/professional-development/gswrp/index.html#Back-to-top-ujLhnYaEmY

Recommended Reading

Victoria State Government, Department of Education and Training (2019). Peer Observation https://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/teachingresources/practice/improve/Pages/peerobservation.aspx

Becoming a Teacher: What do Teachers do?

Week 2

The Learning to Teach Progression

Knowledge of the learner: Learner’s Needs Assessment

Required Reading

Redondo, A. (2022). Reading Classrooms: How to maximize learning from classroom observation. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Gabor, E. (2017). Informant Interview. In M. Allen (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of communication research methods, Vol 2 (pp. 700-702) USA: SAGE Publications, Inc.

Journal Entry 1 Due (before start of Week 3)

Reading Classrooms: How to maximize learning from classroom observation

Week 3

The Learning to Teach Progression

Knowledge of the Learner: Studying and Identifying Factors of Students’ Success (e.g., motivation, self-confidence, enjoyment of learning, and valuing learning).

Required Reading

McLellan, R. (2022). Motivating Pupils. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Readings

Brandmiller, C., Dumont, H., & Becker, M. (2020). Teacher perceptions of learning motivation and classroom behavior: The role of student characteristics. Contemporary Educational Psychology, 63, 101893. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cedpsych.2020.101893

Motivating Pupils

Week 4

The Learning to Teach Progression

Identifying sources of knowledge

Traditional vs. Constructivist Classroom

Required Reading

Burton, D. (2022). Ways pupils learn. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Arman, M. S. 2018). Student-centred approach to teaching-It takes two to tango. Ahfad Journal. 35 (2), 64-71. https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/student-centered-approach-teaching-takes-two/docview/2220696024/se-2

Journal Entry 2 Due

Ways Pupils Learn

Week 5

The Learning to Teach Progression

Responding to Diversity

Required Reading

Bowhay, H. (2022). Responding to diversity. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Kieran, L., & Anderson, C. (2019). Connecting universal design for learning with culturally responsive teaching. Education and Urban Society, 51(9), 1202-1216. https://doi.org/10.1177/0013124518785012

Responding to Diversity

Week 6

Developing critical thinking in pupils

Accessing Pupils’ Craft Knowledge

Required Reading

Bryan, H. & Carpenter, C. (2022). Developing critical thinking. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Elliott, J. G., Stemler, S. E., Sternberg, R. J., Grigorenko, E. L., & Hoffman, N. (2011). The socially skilled teacher and the development of tacit knowledge. British Educational Research Journal, 37(1), 83-103. https://doi.org/10.1080/01411920903420016
Journal Entry 3 Due

Developing Critical Thinking

Week 7

Integrating content and language acquisition strategies to support language learners

Required Reading

Watson, A, Newman, R, & Myhill, D. (2022). Pedagogy: Creating a language-rich classroom. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th Ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Short, D. J. (2017). How to Integrate Content and Language Learning Effectively for English Language Learners. EURASIA Journal of Mathematics Science and Technology Education. 13(7b), 4237-4260.https://doi.org/10.12973/eurasia.2017.00806a

Online Resource

Strategies for Teaching Content to ELLs. Document adapted from Gary Giblin, ESL Coordinator for Winton Woods City Schools, and from ESOL Strategies for Teaching Content by Jodi Reiss (Pearson Education, 2005) Available at: https://www.troy.k12.oh.us/docs/Strategies%20for%20Teaching%20Content%20to%20ELLs.pdf

Pedagogy: Creating a language rich classroom

Week 8

Accessing Teacher’s Craft Knowledge

Pedagogical Content Knowledge (PCK)

Required Readings

Hidson, E. & Leask, M. (2022). Pedagogy: The science, craft and performance of teaching. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Cooper, P. & McIntyre, D. (1996). Interactions between teacher and pupil craft knowledge. In Effective teaching and learning: Teachers’ and students’ perspectives (pp. 112-132). Open University Press.

Journal entry 4 due

The science, craft and performance of teaching

Week 9

Setting Learning Outcomes

Aligning age-appropriate activities to meet learning outcomes

Required Reading

Harris, C. (2022). Active learning. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2019). Teaching and Learning Frameworks. In Visible learning: feedback. (pp. 51-60). Routledge.

Active Learning

Week 10

Designing formative assessments to monitor learning

The role of Feedback in Assessment

Required Reading

Hattie, J., & Clarke, S. (2019). The power of in-lesson verbal feedback. Visible learning: feedback. (81-122). Routledge.

Recommended Reading

Booth, N. (2022). Developing formative assessment practice for high-impact teaching. In Capel, S., Leask, M., Younie, S., Hidson, E. & Lawrence, J (Eds.), Learning to teach in the secondary school: A companion to school experience (9^th ed., pp.). Routledge.

Developing formative assessment practice for high-impact teaching

Week 11

Reflections on professional learning and growth

Talking and thinking about teaching and learning

Required Reading

Brown, S. & McIntyre, D. (1993). How do teachers talk about their good teaching? In Making sense of teaching (pp. 34-48). Open University Press.

Recommended Reading

Main, P. (2021). Dialogic teaching: A classroom guide for better thinking and talking. https://www.structural-learning.com/post/how-to-use-dialogic-pedagogy-the-key-to-powerful-teaching

E-portfolios due
E-portfolio Presentations

How do teachers talk about their good teaching?

Pre-Service Early Years/Primary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSPPP1- Secondary Professional Practice Placement- 1 (SPPP1): From exposure to participation in the life of classrooms and schools

COURSE DESCRIPTION

Books

Course Resources