LibGuides: Pre-Service Early Years/Primary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSC1: Educational and Professional Studies in Secondary Teaching

Books

Outstanding Formative Assessment: Culture and Practice by Shirley Clarke
ISBN: 9781471829475
Publication Date: 2014-06-27
Best-selling author Shirley Clarke provides a wealth of high quality ideas, practical strategies, classroom examples and whole-school case studies for teachers in primary and secondary schools. The most comprehensive of Shirley Clarke's titles includes extensive examples and realia, in full colour. The book is clearly structured around the ways in which teachers actually teach, with QR coded web video clips to illustrate key points in action. - Helps teachers create an environment for pupils to be active learners, constant reviewers and self-assessors - Ensures teachers start and finish lessons effectively by initially establishing their prior knowledge and capturing their interest and finally encouraging pupil reflection to find out what has been learnt and what still needs to be developed - Develops learning by helping children articulate their understanding and focusing on constant review and improvement - Focuses on whole-school development including lesson study, assessment policies and stories from outstanding schools Chapters include: 1. Laying the foundations 2. Effective starts to lessons 3. Developing the learning 4. Effective ends to lessons 5. Whole school development
Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools by Andrew Pollard (Editor, Series edited by); Amy Pollard (Series edited by)
Call Number: LB1027 .H427 2014
ISBN: 9781472506566
Publication Date: 2014-02-13
Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools provides a portable library of over a hundred readings to support teacher education and professional development. Extensively updated since earlier editions, the book concisely introduces both classic and contemporary research and understanding on teaching and learning. The selection reflects current issues and concerns in education and has been designed to support school-led teacher education as well as a wide range of school-university partnership arrangements.Uniquely, two types of reading are provided:- summaries enabling easy access to evidence on key classroom issues - including relationships, behaviour, curriculum planning, teaching strategies and assessment processes;- analyses of deeper forms of understanding about teaching and learning processes, to support the development of expertise throughout a teaching career.This collection of readings is edited by Andrew Pollard, former Director of the UK's Teaching and Learning Research Programme, with the advice of primary and secondary specialists from the University of Cambridge.Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools is part of a fully integrated set of resources for primary and secondary education.Reflective Teaching in Schools focuses on how to achieve high-quality teaching and learning. By design, it offers both practical support for effective practice and routes towards deeper expertise.The website, reflectiveteaching.co.uk, offers supplementary resources including reflective activities, research briefings, advice on further reading and additional chapters. It also features a glossary, links to useful websites, and a conceptual framework for deepening expertise. This book is one of the Reflective Teaching Series - inspiring education through innovation in early years, schools, further, higher and adult education.
Reflective Teaching in Schools by Andrew Pollard; Mark Winterbottom; Mary Anne Wolpert; Kristine Black-Hawkins; Gabrielle Cliff Hodges; Pete Dudley; Steve Higgins; Mary James; Holly Linklater; Sue Swaffield; Mandy Swann
ISBN: 9781350032958
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
The book you can trust to guide you through your teaching career, as the expert authors share tried and tested techniques in both primary and secondary settings. For this new edition Andrew Pollard has worked with the same core author team to bring you expert guidance from top practitioners, in the form of a text that is both cohesive and that continues to evolve to meet the needs of today's teachers. It is designed for trainees whether in universities or schools (such as School Direct, SCITT).Reflective Teaching in Schools uniquely provides two levels of support:- practical, evidence-based guidance on key classroom issues - including relationships, behaviour, curriculum planning, teaching strategies and assessment- evidence-informed 'principles' and 'concepts' to help you continue developing your skills. New to this edition:- 10 Lesson Study cases illustrate the impact this approach can have on classroom teaching, whether in a city Primary School or rural Secondary Academy- 10 Toolkit Evidence summaries based on the Sutton Trust-EEF Teaching and Learning Toolkit cover topics like collaborative learning- New Reflective Activities and guidance on Key Readings at the end of each chapter- Updates to reflect recent changes in curriculum and assessment across the UKreflectiveteaching.co.uk provides a treasure trove of additional support. It now includes a new chapter on mentoring, a glossary to help decipher the difference between IEP and LAP, and much more.
Research on Teacher Identity by Paul A. Schutz (Editor); Ji Hong (Editor); Dionne Cross Francis (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319938356
Publication Date: 2018-07-23
Understanding teachers' professional identities and their development is key to unpacking teachers' professional lives, the quality of their instruction, their motivation and commitment to teach, and their career decision-making. This book features a number of scholars from around the world who represent a variety of disciplines, scientific paradigms, and inquiry methods in researching teacher identity. By bringing these chapters together, this volume initiates active scholarly conversations and extends the boundaries of teacher identity research and practice. This collection of chapters provides significant insight into teacher identity and will be essential reading for pre-service and in-service teachers, teacher educators, school administrators, professional developers, and policy makers at various levels.
Transforming Assessment Through an Interplay Between Practice, Research and Policy by edited by Jens Dolin, Robert Evans
Call Number: LB2822.75 .T73 2018
ISBN: 9783319632483
Publication Date: 2018
Unlocking Learning Intentions and Success Criteria by Shirley Clarke
ISBN: 9781544399683
Publication Date: 2021-03-05
The expert's guide to making LISC work for you! Learning intentions and success criteria can have an enormous positive impact on student learning--you know that, in theory. This practical how-to guide helps turn that theory into practice. In over twenty years of research, Shirley Clarke has found that the key to understanding, creating, and implementing learning intentions and success criteria is to focus on the process of learning rather than the product, or end result. Here she shows you: * How to phrase learning intentions, organize and plan for them, and share them with students * How to create success criteria to fit each learning intention * How to adapt these practices to different disciplines--with examples * Implementation strategies based on real-life teacher success stories Let the expert do the research for you. With Shirley's guidance, you'll discover a simple process that leads to teacher clarity--and student success.

Course Resources

Week 1

Introduction to course

Developing and reflecting on personal theories of effective teaching in relation to specific aspects of teaching

Developing a personal theory of self as a learner (I)

Required reading

Pollard, A., Black-Hawkins, K., Hodges, G. C., Dudley, P., Higgins, S., James, M., Swafield, S., Swann, M., Winterbottom, M., Linklater, H., Wolpert, M. A. (2018). Reflective teaching in schools (5th ed.). Bloomsbury Publishing. Chapter 1, pp. 4-13.
Teacher Standards for the UAE.

Recommended Reading

Richardson, P. W., & Watt, H. M. G. (2018). Teacher Professional Identity and Career Motivation: A Lifespan Perspective. In P. A. Schutz, J. Hong, & D. Cross Francis (Eds.), Research on teacher identity: mapping challenges and innovations (pp. 37-48). Springer International Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-93836-3_4

Week 2

Thinking and reflecting on how we and others learn

Learning processes

Learner development

Required reading

Pollard, A., Black-Hawkins, K., Hodges, G. C., Dudley, P., Higgins, S., James, M., Swafield, S., Swann, M., Winterbottom, M., Linklater, H., Wolpert, M. A. (2018). Reflective Teaching in Schools (5th ed.). Bloomsbury Publishing. Chapter 2, pp. 34-59.

Recommended reading

Hadwin, A., & Oshige, M. (2011). Self-Regulation, Coregulation, and Socially Shared Regulation: Exploring Perspectives of Social in Self-Regulated Learning Theory. Teachers College Record, 113(2), 240–264. https://doi.org/10.1177/016146811111300204

Week 3

Preparation for effective teaching in secondary schools: Lesson planning

What is a lesson?

Required reading

Clarke, S. (2021). Unlocking Learning Intentions and Success Criteria: Shifting from Product to Process Across the Disciplines. Corwin Press. Chapter 7, pp. 79-84

Recommended Reading

Pollard, A., Black-Hawkins, K., Hodges, G. C., Dudley, P., Higgins, S., James, M., Swafield, S., Swann, M., Winterbottom, M., Linklater, H., Wolpert, M. A. (2018). Reflective Teaching in Schools (5th ed.). Bloomsbury Publishing. Lesson planning. Chapter 10, pp. 279-287

Unlocking Learning Intentions and Success Criteria: Shifting From Product to Process Across the Disciplines : Chapter 7

Week 4

Designing and reflecting on effective learning experiences (I)

Linking learning objectives (LOs), success criteria (SC), learning activities

Required reading

Clarke, S. (2021). Unlocking learning intentions and success criteria: shifting from product to process across the disciplines. Corwin Press. Chapter 1, pp. 3-12

Recommended reading

Leenknecht, M., Wijnia, L., Köhlen, M., Fryer, L., Rikers, R., & Loyens, S. (2021). Formative assessment as practice: the role of students’ motivation. Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education, 46(2), 236-255. https://doi.org/10.1080/02602938.2020.1765228

Week 5

Designing and reflecting on effective learning experiences (II)

Required reading

Pollard, A., Black-Hawkins, K., Hodges, G. C., Dudley, P., Higgins, S., James, M., Swafield, S., Swann, M., Winterbottom, M., Linklater, H., Wolpert, M. A. (2018). Reflective Teaching in Schools (5th ed.). Bloomsbury Publishing.

Learning activities and tasks. Chapter 10, pp. 282-286.

Readings for reflective teaching in schools/ Chapter 10

Week 6

Summative assessment of learning to support effective teaching.

Reflecting on the teacher’s role in ensuring progression and differentiation

Reflecting on school summative assessment practices

Required reading

Pollard, A., Black-Hawkins, K., Hodges, G. C., Dudley, P., Higgins, S., James, M., Swafield, S., Swann, M., Winterbottom, M., Linklater, H., Wolpert, M. A. (2018). Reflective Teaching in Schools (5th ed.). Bloomsbury Publishing. Planning and Progression. Chapter 10, pp. 274-279.

Recommended Reading

Dolin J., Black P., Harlen W., Tiberghien A. (2018) Exploring Relations Between Formative and Summative Assessment. In Dolin J., Evans R. (eds) Transforming Assessment. Contributions from Science Education Research, vol 4. Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-63248-3_3

Week 7 & 8

Supporting effective learning through formative assessment

Formative use of summative assessments

Reflecting on school formative assessment practices

Required Reading

Clarke, S. (2014). Outstanding formative assessment: Culture and practice. Hachette UK Chapter 1, pp. 2-10

Recommended Reading

Clarke, S. (2021). Unlocking Learning Intentions and Success Criteria: Shifting From Product to Process Across the Disciplines. Corwin Press. Chapter 3, pp. 23-44

Outstanding formative assessment: Culture and practice: Chapter 1

Week 9

Reflecting on teacher perspectives, beliefs, values, and professional skills

Who are teachers accountable to?

Required Reading

Pollard, A., Black-Hawkins, K., Hodges, G. C., Dudley, P., Higgins, S., James, M., Swafield, S., Swann, M., Winterbottom, M., Linklater, H., Wolpert, M. A. (2018). Reflective Teaching in Schools (5th ed.). Bloomsbury Publishing. Relationships. Chapter 6, pp. 160-171

Recommended reading

Rahmatollahi, M., & Mohamadi Zenouzagh, Z. (2021). Designing and validating an evaluation inventory for assessing teachers’ professional accountability. Language Testing in Asia, 11(1), 11. https://doi.org/10.1186/s40468-021-00128-3
Vickes, J., (2020). Identity, responsibility and accountability. LINK, 3(2). https://www.herts.ac.uk/link/volume-3,-issue-2/identity,-responsibility-and-accountability

Designing and validating an evaluation inventory for assessing teachers’ professional accountability

Week 10

Supporting student diversity and individual differences in secondary schools

Required Reading

Pollard, A., Black-Hawkins, K., Hodges, G. C., Dudley, P., Higgins, S., James, M., Swafield, S., Swann, M., Winterbottom, M., Linklater, H., Wolpert, M. A. (2018). Reflective Teaching in Schools (5th ed.). Bloomsbury Publishing.

Inclusion. Chapter 15, pp. 470-498

Pre-Service Early Years/Primary Postgraduate Diploma in Education: EDUSC1: Educational and Professional Studies in Secondary Teaching

Course Description

Books

Course Resources