LibGuides: PhD Ed. Neuroscience: PHDC720-Experimental Methods in Cognitive Neuroscience

ejournal articles

Wong, A. L., Goldsmith, J., Forrence, A. D., Haith, A. M., & Krakauer, J. W. (2017). Reaction times can reflect habits rather than computations. ELife, 6, e28075. https://doi.org/10.7554/eLife.28075

Jackson, A. F., & Bolger, D. J. (2014). The neurophysiological bases of EEG and EEG measurement: A review for the rest of us: Neurophysiological bases of EEG. Psychophysiology, 51(11), 1061–1071. https://doi.org/10.1111/psyp.12283

Retter, T. L., & Rossion, B. (2017). Visual adaptation reveals an objective electrophysiological measure of high-level individual face discrimination. Scientific Reports, 7(1), 3269. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-017-03348-x

Schweinberger, S. R., & Neumann, M. F. (2016). Repetition effects in human ERPs to faces. Cortex, 80, 141–153. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cortex.2015.11.001

Khanna, A., Pascual-Leone, A., Michel, C. M., & Farzan, F. (2015). Microstates in resting-state EEG: Current status and future directions. Neuroscience & Biobehavioral Reviews, 49, 105–113. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neubiorev.2014.12.010

Sitaram, R., Ros, T., Stoeckel, L., Haller, S., Scharnowski, F., Lewis-Peacock, J., Weiskopf, N., Blefari, M. L., Rana, M., Oblak, E., Birbaumer, N., & Sulzer, J. (2017). Closed-loop brain training: The science of neurofeedback. Nature Reviews Neuroscience, 18(2), 86–100. https://doi.org/10.1038/nrn.2016.164

Thibault, R. T., MacPherson, A., Lifshitz, M., Roth, R. R., & Raz, A. (2018). Neurofeedback with fMRI: A critical systematic review. NeuroImage, 172, 786–807. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neuroimage.2017.12.071

Bates, E., Wilson, S. M., Saygin, A. P., Dick, F., Sereno, M. I., Knight, R. T., & Dronkers, N. F. (2003). Voxel-based lesion–symptom mapping. Nature Neuroscience, 6(5), 448–450. https://doi.org/10.1038/nn1050

Price, C. J., Hope, T. M., & Seghier, M. L. (2017). Ten problems and solutions when predicting individual outcome from lesion site after stroke. NeuroImage, 145, 200–208. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neuroimage.2016.08.006

Wilcox, T., & Biondi, M. (2015). Fnirs in the developmental sciences: Fnirs in the developmental sciences. Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Cognitive Science, 6(3), 263–283. https://doi.org/10.1002/wcs.1343

Logothetis, N. K. (2008). What we can do and what we cannot do with fMRI. Nature, 453(7197), 869–878. https://doi.org/10.1038/nature06976

Thulborn, K. R., & Davis, D. (2001). Quality assurance for clinical fmri. Current Protocols in Magnetic Resonance Imaging, 00(1), A6.2.1-A6.2.4. https://doi.org/10.1002/0471142719.mia0602s00

Damoiseaux, J. S., Rombouts, S. A. R. B., Barkhof, F., Scheltens, P., Stam, C. J., Smith, S. M., & Beckmann, C. F. (2006). Consistent resting-state networks across healthy subjects. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 103(37), 13848–13853. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.0601417103

Tian, L., Jiang, T., Wang, Y., Zang, Y., He, Y., Liang, M., Sui, M., Cao, Q., Hu, S., Peng, M., & Zhuo, Y. (2006). Altered resting-state functional connectivity patterns of anterior cingulate cortex in adolescents with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. Neuroscience Letters, 400(1–2), 39–43. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neulet.2006.02.022

Bassett, D. S., & Bullmore, E. T. (2009). Human brain networks in health and disease: Current Opinion in Neurology, 22(4), 340–347. https://doi.org/10.1097/WCO.0b013e32832d93dd

Ashburner, J., & Friston, K. J. (2000). Voxel-based morphometry—the methods. Neuroimage, 11(6), 805-821.

Weiskopf, N., Mohammadi, S., Lutti, A., & Callaghan, M. F. (2015). Advances in MRI-based computational neuroanatomy: From morphometry to in-vivo histology. Current Opinion in Neurology, 28(4), 313–322. https://doi.org/10.1097/WCO.0000000000000222

eJournals

eBooks

Toga, A. W., & Mazziotta, J. C. (Eds.). (2002). Brain mapping: The methods (2nd ed). Academic Press.

Blake, R., & Sekuler, R. (2006). Perception (5. ed., internat. ed). McGraw-Hill.

Huettel, S. A., Song, A. W., & McCarthy, G. (2008). Functional magnetic resonance imaging (2nd ed). Sinauer Associates.

Brain Mapping by Arthur W. Toga; John C. Mazziotta
ISBN: 9780126930191
Publication Date: 2002-10-06
Investigation of the functional architecture of the human brain using modern noninvasive imaging techniques is a rapidly expanding area of research. A proper knowledge of methodology is needed to appreciate the burgeoning literature in the field. This timely publication provides an excellent catalogue of the main techniques. The authors offer an invaluable analysis of mapping strategies and techniques, providing everything from the foundations to the major pitfalls and practical applications of the modern techniques used in neuroimaging. Contains over 1000 full color pages with more than 200 color figures.
Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging by Scott A. Huettel; Allen W. Song; Gregory McCarthy
ISBN: 9780878932863
Publication Date: 2009-01-16
Prior to the publication of the first edition of this book in 2004, existing texts were targeted toward practicing scientists, and assumed a level of expertise not possessed by most students. Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging was the first textbook to provide a true introduction to fMRI designed with undergraduate students, graduate students, and beginning researchers in mind. Changes in the Second Edition include: Revised MR physics chapters that include parallel conceptual and quantitative paths, allowing students from diverse backgrounds and interests to readily navigate these topics. Expanded discussion of fMRI data analysis, with separate chapters on standard hypothesis-driven analyses and advanced exploratory analyses. Expanded coverage of experimental design that includes new approaches to efficient creation of fMRI experiments. Revised discussion of the physiological basis of fMRI to include recent discoveries about the origins of the BOLD response. A new Ethics chapter that discusses controversies, ethical and social concerns, and popular interpretations of fMRI research. Increased coverage of the integration of fMRI with other cognitive neuroscience techniques. New topics in the Advanced Methods chapter, reflecting cutting-edge developments in the field. Updated references and suggested readings throughout.
Designing EEG Experiments for Studying the Brain by Aamir Saeed Malik; Hafeez Ullah Amin
ISBN: 9780128111413
Publication Date: 2017-05-25
Designing EEG Experiments for Studying the Brain: Design Code and Example Datasets details the design of various brain experiments using electroencephalogram (EEG). Providing guidelines for designing an EEG experiment, it is primarily for researchers who want to venture into this field by designing their own experiments as well as those who are excited about neuroscience and want to explore various applications related to the brain. The first chapter describes how to design an EEG experiment and details the various parameters that should be considered for success, while remaining chapters provide experiment design for a number of neurological applications, both clinical and behavioral. As each chapter is accompanied with experiment design codes and example datasets, those interested can quickly design their own experiments or use the current design for their own purposes. Helpful appendices provide various forms for one's experiment including recruitment forms, feedback forms, ethics forms, and recommendations for related hardware equipment and software for data acquisition, processing, and analysis. Written to assist neuroscientists in experiment designs using EEG Presents a step-by-step approach to designing both clinical and behavioral EEG experiments Includes experiment design codes and example datasets Provides inclusion and exclusion criteria to help correctly identify experiment subjects and the minimum number of samples Includes appendices that provide recruitment forms, ethics forms, and various subjective tests associated with each of the chapters
Handbook of Functional Neuroimaging of Cognition by Roberto Cabeza (Editor); Alan Kingstone (Editor)
ISBN: 9780262032803
Publication Date: 2001-01-29
With its strong focus, this book serves as an essential resource on the functional neuroimaging of cognitive processes and on the latest discoveries obtained through positron emission topography (PET) and functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) techniques. It is organized into three sections. The first covers the history and methods of PET and fMRI, as well as cognitive networks, showing how the brain regions involved in the different cognitive processes interact. The second part, the book's core, covers PET and fMRI findings in specific domains: attention, visual recognition, semantic memory, episodic memory and working memory. The third part covers the effects of aging on brain activity during cognitive performance and also examines research with neuropsychologically impaired patients.
Clinical Brain Mapping by Daniel Yoshor; Eli Mizrahi
ISBN: 9780071484411
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most accessible, clinically focused guide to brain mapping techniques and systems A Doody's Core Title for 2015! This profusely illustrated, concise, yet detailed sourcebook enables both neurosurgeons and neurologists to map functions to specific cognitive and sensory locations in the brain. Clinical Brain Mapping takes you step by step through the methods and functional bases of the techniques, focusing on all clinical situations that require cerebral localization for diagnosis and therapeutic management. Clinical Brain Mapping is cohesively organized into two sections: Techniques and Systems. The first section covers the full scope of methods for determining cerebral location, from the classic Wada test to the newest fMRI and magnetoencephalography procedures. In the Systems section, expert contributors offer key insights into the systems that are mapped with a multi-modality approach, covering somatomotor and somatosensory function, language, vision, hearing, and memory. The book concludes with informative chapters on specific applications of mapping techniques. FEATURES 350 radiologic images and EEG tracings show each brain mapping technique, adding depth and clarity to chapter material Multi-modal approach focuses on a wide array of clinical concerns and corresponding methods, including: Operative anatomy and structural neuroimaging; Functional MRI and magnetoencephalography; Optical imaging; Neuropsychological testing and the Wada test; Extraoperative brain mapping; Electrocorticographic spectral analysis