LibGuides: RefWorks: RefWorks Add-On RCM for Google Docs

RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) for Google Docs

RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) for Google Docs is an add-on that enables you to run a simplified version of RefWorks inside of Google Docs. RCM for Google Docs enables you to access and cite your references while working in Google Docs.

To find the right add-on for your operating system and writing tool, see Finding the Right Writing Tool Add-on:

Provides read-only access to your RefWorks account, enabling you to view and insert your previously collated references into your document, formatted using previously defined citation styles.
You can add in-text and footnote citations. Adding a citation also adds a bibliography to the end of the document. As you add or remove references, the add-on automatically updates the bibliography.
When you share your document with another user who is using RCM for Google Docs, they can edit and delete any RefWorks references in the document and can add their own references to the document.
Every time you log into RCM for Google Docs, it automatically reflects your most up to date RefWorks account references and citation styles.

Installing RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) in Google Docs

Open a Google Docs document and select Extensions > Add-ons > Get Add-ons and search for RefWorks. Or access directly at https://workspace.google.com/marketplace/app/refworks_citation_manager/218461370352

RCM for Google Docs Add-on in Google Marketplace
Select the RefWorks Citation Manager tile.
Select Install.
Sign in with Google and select the Google account where you like to add the RCM add-on.
Review and Allow terms of account access.
Select Done on the Google installation confirmation message screen.
Select Extensions > RefWorks Citation Manager > Manage citations. The RCM add-on opens on the right.

If you don’t immediately see the Manage citations option, refresh the page or wait until Google Docs updates your view.

RCM for Google Docs - Not Logged In

When you open the add-on, as long as you did not log out after your last session, you are still logged in. If you are logged out, enter your RefWorks credentials to log in to RCM. Your references appear in the add-on.

RCM for Google Docs - Logged In

Using RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) for Google Docs

If you have an existing Google Docs document where in-text citations and bibliography were created using the ProQuest RefWorks Google Docs add-on, you can simply continue working in RCM for Google Docs. Once you continue working using RCM, you may not return to using the ProQuest RefWorks add-on.

To insert an in-text citation:

Place the cursor in your document where you want to insert a citation, in-text or in footnote. On the RCM panel, select reference(s) and then select Insert citation. The following are added to your document:

In-text citation, or footnote citation
Bibliography at the end of the document. If a bibliography already exists, newly inserted reference(s) is/are added automatically.

You may choose to remove or show bibliography at any time by changing your setting in the main menu Show Bibliography item.

RCM for Google Docs Insert citation page

To edit a citation before adding it to a document:

Select the reference(s) in the list.
Select the up arrow on the bottom panel or the Full page view icon to expand the preview.
Select Show more fields:
1. Edit or add page numbers or other detail.
2. Choose whether to include author or year.
3. Add or edit Prefix and Suffix.

Each edit will be reflected in the citation preview.

RCM for Google Docs Create Citation page

To edit a citation after adding it to a document:

In the My Citations tab, select the Edit citation icon for the citation you would like to edit.
You can view the citation in Citation view or in Bibliography view.
You can add references to the citation.
You can remove reference(s) from the citation.
You can edit the details for each reference in the citation.
You can Delete the entire citation from your document; references will also be removed from the bibliography list.

If you delete a citation/s in a document instead of in the RCM panel, the reference/s will be deleted from the bibliography after updating the document.

If text containing in-text citation is copied and pasted in a different place in the document, Google Docs will no longer recognize the text as an RCM citation and it will not be able to be updated using RCM.

RCM for Google Docs My Citations page

RCM for Google Docs Edit citation page

To change citation style:

In the RCM window, select the arrow next to the current citation style.
Select the style from the list, or search for a style.
You may toggle Preview to view a preview of the style before selecting and applying it to your document.
Select Apply Style.

The RCM for Google Docs Select Citation Style page.

Working with the ProQuest RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

Start writing and when you are ready to insert your first citation, select “Add-ons”, “ProQuest RefWorks”, “Manage Citations”.

If this is your first time using the RefWorks add-on, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account. If you do not have a RefWorks account, you can sign up and receive access. You should have an affiliation with an academic institution and use your institutional email address to register. Once you’ve logged in, you don’t need to log out unless you’re on a public computer.

The right-hand pane will change, defaulting to your RefWorks “All references” view.

If you want to work with a RefWorks collection of references, just click on “All references” to see your list of collections. Choose the collection with the references you need for your paper. You can also use the “search” option to search for specific references. The search options searches all fields.

You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in RefWorks, click on the citation and click the “cite this” button. The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).

There is also a citation editing option. Click “Edit and Cite” to add page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using). You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.

Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you.

You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using Google Docs footnote option (Insert, Footnote):

Changing your output style

There are two ways you can change your output style for your paper:

In the RefWorks pane in your document, click on the “options” icon and select “Change citation style”

Or you can select any reference from the list and click the “Cite and Edit” button and change the style:

Note: Custom output styles are currently not accessible.

Deleting or changing citations

Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
Insert the new citation (if applicable).
Click on the “options” icon and select “Update document”. Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation).

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.

Note: changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Collaborating with others

Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper. Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!

Share your document with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.

There are two ways you can share your document with others.

To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account

1. Click the share icon .

2. Enter the email address of the person you want to share with

3. The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the “can edit” permission (you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting “can comment” or “can view”)

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators. Read more about sharing a collection.

Note: Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you included in your document however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.

To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account:

Click the Share button in the upper right-hand corner. The “Share settings” box will open with access to several options:

Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is “specific people”).

The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.

Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share the document with. If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators. Read more about sharing a collection.

Note: Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.