Circulation Services including loan, hold/reservation of items(resources) for use
Routine jobs related to the physical collection maintenance, including
item return box check-in and reshelving
shelf reading
maintaining the specific location of items
labelling of the collection as and when needed
weekly display of new additions
annual stock verification
periodic technical update of Sierra system using the lists created from it
creation of various statistics
Reference services/referral services and Information desk
Reprographic services including printing, scanning, copying
Document delivery services for the resources that are not available in the ECAE library collection
Orientation programs for students /patron in the beginning of the academic year
Access help in Finding textbooks/reference books /required reading materials from the collection
On campus and off-campus access help with the library catalogue / databases and e-resources
Interlibrary loan / Help to access specific articles/research requests for both faculty and graduate students from other higher education institutions in UAE
Continuous development of Research Guides/LibGuides for self-study and the marketing of it among the patron
Involvement in the library website design, updating and management for easy access
Curriculum resource collection management for the practicum use purpose
Facilitates quiet Study Spaces availability within the library
Participate in the Community outreach programs- including events with schools or outside organizations
Hosting interaction sessions with inspirational leaders-of society, or by external organizations
Training of Volunteers who work inside the library/NECC students
Alumni services/ community borrower services
Technical processing including
Acquisition
Online or local purchase
Library budgeting
Cataloguing/classification
Databases management
E-resources management
Collection development and disposal as recommended based on the policy related.
Participate in the departmental policy development
Learning Support Hub Services
Conduct scheduled strategically integrated information literacy instruction throughout the curriculum for postgraduate students
Engage faculty in academic departments in planning, developing and assessing information literacy instruction. Build strong, collaborative relationships with other campus stakeholders
Facilitate on-demand orientation programs for students as well as faculty throughout the academic year
Continuous assistance/support for faculty research, including a recommendation of new resources specific to their research areas- both internal and external sources, support to get access to various publishers and help with scholarly publication information
Installation, administration, and instruction of various independent learning programs /software for students -Example RefWorks, NoodleTools, Grammarly or Clarity/DPT, followed by assessing and evaluating use, statistics, and feedback.
One to one consultation at the Learning Support Hub for language skills improvement /academic learning support to students based on the appointment system.
Drop-in consultation as and when needed based on availability of consultants.
Help to understand/interpret course assignment
Guidance and coaching to improve the grammar structure-mechanics
Training with academic writing skills-Composition
Workshops on various topics, including
APA citation, bibliography and referencing
Research skills, how to find your resources
Language skills support /Language editors
Critical thinking skills
English for Academic Purposes (Writing, Speaking and Listening)
LibGuides/Research Guides
Open Access resources
Research assistance to students including guidance on how to find the related materials available in our databases, how to access various external open access resources, immediate help to get their urgent, specific article request from external organizations
Advice on test preparation with LibGuides as well as administering practice language tests like EmSAT for undergraduate students.
Organizing language skills support competitions like Spelling bee periodically
Data collection and evaluation of services -student feedback surveys to improve LSH services and add what the students are suggesting
Marketing of library services through LibGuides , posters , digital signage or brochures
Remote learning support to all students through online conferencing/ lib chat /email follow up as well as through virtual classroom.
Investigates new technologies and works with other departments to develop and revise programs to respond to the changing information needs of patrons- work as an incubation space /maker space for innovative ideas.
