Students will demonstrate comprehensive, advanced and highly specialised knowledge of dissemination and cultural considerations within behavior analytic practice, both globally and within the UAE perspective. Students will synthesize research and recent developments related to core elements of personnel supervision and management. Students will develop innovative, original recommendations that contribute to professional practice within the UAE. Students will also employ highly developed communication skills to critique applications of behavior analysis. During this course, students will examine how behavior analysis is applied to the fields of business, teaching, health, sports and fitness, therapy, driving, safety, applied animal behavior, technology, and gerontology.
Multiculturalism and Diversity in Applied Behavior Analysis by
Applied Behaviour Analysis and Autism: Science, profession, and practice by 
Single-Case Research Designs by
Kazdin's text is a notable contrast to the quantitative methodology approach that pervades the biological and social sciences. The methodology in Single-Case Reasearch Designs focuses on a widely applicable methodology for evaluating interventions, such as treatment, or psychotherapy, usingapplied behavior anlaysis. However, this revision aims to encompass a broader range of research areas that utilize single-case designs. The text will convey the pertinence of this research methodology to disciplines ranging from psychology and medicine to business and industry.The first edition of this book, which was published in 1982, still sells a steady amount of copies today. The fact that professors continue to use the first edition of this book more than twenty years after it was published is a testament to the quality of information, organization, and narrativethroughout the text. The possibility of a revision has professors excited that they can expose their students to a well-written, clear, and updated text that will reflect the current status of single-case research.
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis by
Describing the state of the science of applied behavior analysis (ABA), this comprehensive handbook provides detailed information about theory, research, and intervention. The contributors are leading ABA authorities who present best practices in behavioral assessment and demonstrate evidence-based strategies for supporting positive behaviors and reducing problem behaviors. Conceptual, empirical, and procedural building blocks of ABA are reviewed and specific applications described in education, autism treatment, safety skills for children, and other areas. The volume also addresses crucial professional and ethical issues, making it a complete reference and training tool for ABA practitioners and students.
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis by
Describing the state of the science of applied behavior analysis (ABA), this comprehensive handbook provides detailed information about theory, research, and intervention. The contributors are leading ABA authorities who present best practices in behavioral assessment and demonstrate evidence-based strategies for supporting positive behaviors and reducing problem behaviors. Conceptual, empirical, and procedural building blocks of ABA are reviewed and specific applications described in education, autism treatment, safety skills for children, and other areas. The volume also addresses crucial professional and ethical issues, making it a complete reference and training tool for ABA practitioners and students.
Play and Social Skills for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This book discusses the deficits in the development and presentation of play behavior and social skills that are considered central characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The book explains why play provides an important context for social interactions and how its absence can further exacerbate social deficits over time. It highlights the critical roles of social skills in development, and the social, cognitive, communication, and motor components of play. Chapters offer conceptually and empirically sound play and social skills interventions for children with ASD. Play activities using diverse materials and including interactions with peers and parents are designed to promote positive, effective social behaviors and encourage continued development. The book provides unique strategies that can be tailored to fit individual children's strengths and deficits. Topics featured in this book include: Naturalistic Teaching Strategies (NaTS) for developing play and social skills. Teaching play and social skills with video modeling. Peer-mediated intervention (PMI) strategies that promote positive social interactions between children with ASD and their peers. Visual Activity Schedules and Scripts. Parent-implemented play and social skills intervention. Play and Social Skills for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder is a must-have resource for researchers, clinicians, and graduate students in clinical child and school psychology, behavioral therapy/rehabilitation, social work, public health, and related psychology, education, and behavioral health fields.
Play and Social Skills for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This book discusses the deficits in the development and presentation of play behavior and social skills that are considered central characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The book explains why play provides an important context for social interactions and how its absence can further exacerbate social deficits over time. It highlights the critical roles of social skills in development, and the social, cognitive, communication, and motor components of play. Chapters offer conceptually and empirically sound play and social skills interventions for children with ASD. Play activities using diverse materials and including interactions with peers and parents are designed to promote positive, effective social behaviors and encourage continued development. The book provides unique strategies that can be tailored to fit individual children's strengths and deficits. Topics featured in this book include: Naturalistic Teaching Strategies (NaTS) for developing play and social skills. Teaching play and social skills with video modeling. Peer-mediated intervention (PMI) strategies that promote positive social interactions between children with ASD and their peers. Visual Activity Schedules and Scripts. Parent-implemented play and social skills intervention. Play and Social Skills for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder is a must-have resource for researchers, clinicians, and graduate students in clinical child and school psychology, behavioral therapy/rehabilitation, social work, public health, and related psychology, education, and behavioral health fields.
Single Subject Research by
This practical textbook provides background knowledge, basic concepts, and an understanding of relevant issues related to applied behavior analysis -- and specifically to single subject research designs. It combines explanation with application, providing you with an overview of the major types of single subject research designs. A summary of the results of applicable studies published in the professional literature follows the overview. Sample studies illustrate the application of principles, and concept checks help you gauge your grasp of the material.
Single Case Research Designs in Educational and Community Settings by
This practical nuts-and-bolts how-to guide to carrying out single case research is keenly focused on practicing this type of research in educational and community settings.Conceptualizing the background underlying this research approach, the book walks you through a step-by-step approach to the components involved in doing such research in this environment. You will learn a brief history on the development of these design approaches, with some of the basic logistical barriers to and solutions for carrying out research in applied settings. Additionally, you will become versed in the nuts-and-bolts procedures of carrying out such research with regard to designing and implementing measurements systems, choosing appropriate designs, and graphing and analyzing data. You will further learn the basics of disseminating research via various professional outlets such as conference presentations and journals for researchers and practitioners. The tables and graphics included list step-by-step procedures for carrying out various data collection and research design strategies, offering concise summaries of some key features of the main procedural elements of single case research, and a guideline to crucial features and concepts. Written for a broad range of educational and other human services professionals, including teachers in both general and special education, the book is also a suitable guide if you are a school psychologist or counselors, or even a social worker, communication disorders specialist, or recreation, occupational, or physical therapist. Unique and new to the market, this "how-to" guide fills a gap for a single case, single subject research design book focused on doing this type of research in educational and community settings, with a strong emphasis on practice versus theory.
Single Case Research Methodology by
Single Case Research Methodology, 3rd Edition presents a thorough, technically sound, user-friendly, and comprehensive discussion of single case research methodology. This book can serve as a detailed and complex reference tool for students, researchers, and practitioners who intend to conduct single case research design studies; interpret findings of single case design studies; or write proposals, manuscripts, or reviews of single case methodology research. The authors present a variety of single case research studies with a wide range of participants, including preschoolers, K-12 students, university students, and adults in a variety of childcare, school, clinical, and community settings, making the book relevant across multiple disciplines in social, educational, and behavioral science including special and general education; school, child, clinical, and neuropsychology; speech, occupational, recreation, and physical therapy; and social work.
Single Case Research Methodology by
Single Case Research Methodology, 3rd Edition presents a thorough, technically sound, user-friendly, and comprehensive discussion of single case research methodology. This book can serve as a detailed and complex reference tool for students, researchers, and practitioners who intend to conduct single case research design studies; interpret findings of single case design studies; or write proposals, manuscripts, or reviews of single case methodology research. The authors present a variety of single case research studies with a wide range of participants, including preschoolers, K-12 students, university students, and adults in a variety of childcare, school, clinical, and community settings, making the book relevant across multiple disciplines in social, educational, and behavioral science including special and general education; school, child, clinical, and neuropsychology; speech, occupational, recreation, and physical therapy; and social work.
Research Methods in Applied Behavior Analysis by
Research Methods in Applied Behavior Analysis, 2nd edition, is a practical text that provides the beginning researcher with a clear description of how behavior analysts conduct applied research and submit it for publication. In a sequence of ten logical steps, the text covers the elements of single-case research design and the practices involved in organizing, implementing, and evaluating research studies. This revision includes new material on how to critique a journal article and how to extract treatment ideas from published studies. The novice researcher receives a "steps for success" approach that is brief, useful, to the point, and clearly delineated.
Learning RFT by
Relational frame theory, or RFT, is the little-understood behavioral theory behind a recent development in modern psychology: the shift from the cognitive paradigm underpinning cognitive behavioral therapy to a new understanding of language and cognition.Learning RFT presents a basic yet comprehensive introduction to this fascinating theory, which forms the basis of acceptance and commitment therapy. The book also offers practical guidance for directly applying it in clinical work. In the book, author Niklas Törneke presents the building blocks of RFT: language as a particular kind of relating, derived stimulus relations, and transformation of stimulus functions. He then shows how these concepts are essential to understanding acceptance and commitment therapy and other therapeutic models.Learning RFT shows how to use experiential exercises and metaphors in psychological treatment and explains how they can help your clients. This book belongs on the bookshelves of psychologists, psychotherapists, students, and others seeking to deepen their understanding of psychological treatment from a behavioral perspective.
Behavior/Speak by
Behaviorspeak is a glossary of terms in common usage in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) and the autistic-spectrum disorders. Deliberately written in a humorous and easily understood style, this will be an invaluable resource for parents and direct care service providers. ABA is a technically precise discipline, where a misunderstanding of a term can lead to a misapplied technique. Behaviorspeak will give readers the tools necessary to understand articles in professional journals, presentations, and books.
Strategies and Tactics of Behavioral Research and Practice by
Strategies and Tactics of Behavioral Research and Practice focuses on the most effective methods for measuring and evaluating changes in behavior. The authors provide the rationale for different procedures for measuring behavior and designing within-subject comparisons between control and intervention conditions. The text explains the strengths and weaknesses of methodological alternatives for every topic so that behavioral researchers and practitioners can make the best decisions in each situation. This classic text has been extensively revised to be more accessible and practical. Not only does it feature much more discussion of how research methods are relevant to today's practitioners, it also includes additional examples based on field research and service delivery scenarios. With expanded coverage on creating experimental designs, as well as new chapters on behavioral assessment, the statistical analysis of data, and ethical issues associated with research methods, this book provides a strong foundation for direct behavioral measurement, within-subject research design, and interpretation of behavioral interventions. Enriched with more pedagogical features, including key terms, tables summarizing important points, figures to help readers visualize text, and updated examples and suggested readings, this book is an invaluable resource for students taking courses in research methods. This book is appropriate for researchers and practitioners in behavior analysis, psychology, education, social work, and other social and health science programs that address questions about behavior in research or practice settings.
Ethics for Behavior Analysts by
Behavior analysis, a rapidly growing profession, began with the use and application of conditioning and learning techniques to modify the behavior of children or adults presenting severe management problems, often because of developmental disabilities. Now behavior analysts work in a variety of settings, from clinics and schools to workplaces. Especially since their practice often involves aversive stimuli or punishment, they confront many special ethical challenges. Recently, the Behavior Analysis Certification Board codified a set of ten fundamental ethical guidelines to be followed by all behavior analysts and understood by all students and trainees seeking certification. This book shows readers how to follow the BACB guidelines in action. The authors first describe core ethical principles and then explain each guideline in detail, in easily comprehensible, everyday language. The text is richly illuminated by more than a hundred vivid case scenarios about which the authors pose, and later answer questions for readers. Useful appendices include the BACB Guidelines, an index to them, practice scenarios, and suggested further reading. Practitioners, instructors, supervisors, students, and trainees alike will welcome this invaluable new aid to professional development.ter answer questions for readers. Useful appendices include the BACB Guidelines, an index to them, practice scenarios, and suggested further reading. Practitioners, instructors, supervisors, students, and trainees alike will welcome this invaluable new aid to professional development.
Training Manual for Behavior Technicians Working with Individuals with Autism by
Training Manual for Behavior Technicians Working with Individuals with Autism is a practical manual and ongoing professional resource for frontline staff undergoing training to become Registered Behavior Technicians(tm) (RBT). RBT(tm) is the recommended certification of the Behavior Analyst Certification Board(tm) (BACB) for entry-level staff who implement behavior analytic services. This Manual complements the 40-hour training for RBTs(tm) and helps those who have completed training prepare for their certification exam. Following the RBT(tm) Task List set forth by the BACB, it prompts the reader to generate novel examples of mastered concepts, and real-life vignettes. Training Manual for Behavior Technicians Working with Individuals with Autism also: * Details the fundamentals of measurement and data collection * Introduces assessments of both behavior and environment * Explains skills acquisition and related teaching procedures * Covers behavior reduction plans * Includes documentation and planning information * Looks at ethics and professional conduct Details the fundamentals of measurement and data collection Introduces assessments of both behavior and environment Explains skills acquisition and related teaching procedures Covers behavior reduction plans Includes documentation and planning information Looks at ethics and professional conduct
Clinical and Organizational Applications of Applied Behavior Analysis by
Applied behavior analysts use applied research to create and implement effective evidence-based procedures in schools, homes, and the community, which have proved effective in addressing behaviors associated with autism and other developmental disorders. The principles underlying this therapeutic approach have been increasingly effective when applied to other populations, settings, and behaviors. Clinical and Organizational Applications of Applied Behavior Analysis explores data-based decision-making in depth to inform treatment selection for behavior change across various populations and contexts. Each chapter addresses considerations related to data collection, single-case research design methodology, objective decision-making, and visual inspection of data. The authors reference a range of published research methods in the area of applied behavior analysis (ABA) as it has been applied to specific topics, as well as utilizing their own clinical work by providing numerous case examples. Reviews current evidence-based practices to provide a comprehensive guide to the application of ABA principles across a range of clinical contexts and applications Divides clinical applications into three sections for ease-of-use: child, adult, and broad-based health Explores the breadth of ABA-based treatment beyond autism and developmental disorders Draws upon a range of subject-matter experts who have clinical and research experience across multiple uses of ABA
Behavior Analysis and Learning by
Using a consistent Skinnerian perspective, Behavior Analysis and Learning: A Biobehavioral Approach, Sixth Edition provides an advanced introduction to the principles of behavior analysis and learned behaviors, covering a full range of principles from basic respondent and operant conditioning through applied behavior analysis into cultural design. The textbook uses Darwinian, neurophysiological, and biological theories and research to inform B. F. Skinner's philosophy of radical behaviorism. The sixth edition expands focus on neurophysiological mechanisms and their relation to the experimental analysis of behavior, providing updated studies and references to reflect current expansions and changes in the field of behavior analysis. By bringing together ideas from behavior analysis, neuroscience, and epigenetics under a selectionist framework, this textbook facilitates understanding of behavior at environmental, genetic, and neurophysiological levels. This "grand synthesis" of behavior, neuroscience, and neurobiology roots behavior firmly in biology. The book includes special sections, "New Directions," "Focus On," "Note On," "On the Applied Side," and "Advanced Section," which enhance student learning and provide greater insight on specific topics. This book is a valuable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in psychology or other behavior-based disciplines, especially behavioral neuroscience. For additional resources to use alongside the textbook, consult the Companion Website at www.routledge.com/cw/pierce.
Week 1
Required reading:
Bailey, J. S. & Burch M. R. (2016). Ethics for behavior analysts, 3rd Edition. New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor and Francis Group.
Chapter 13. Public statements
BACB (2014). Professional and Ethical Compliance Code for Behavior Analysts. Retrieved from: https://www.bacb.com/ethics/ethics-code/
Kelly, M. P., Alireza, I., Busch, H. E., Northrop, S., Al-Attrash, M., Ainsleigh, S., & Bhuptani, N. (2016) An overview of autism and applied behavior analysis in the Gulf Cooperation Council in the Middle East. Review Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, 3(2), 154-164.
Kelly, M.P., Martin, N., Dillenberger, K., Kelly, A.N., & Miller, M.M. (2018). Spreading the news: History, successes, challenges and the ethics of effective dissemnation. Behavior Analysis in Practice. doi: 10.1007/s40617-018-0238-8
Recommended readings:
Critchfield, T.S. & Doepke, K.J. (2018). Emotional overtones of behavior analysis terms in English and five other languages Behavior Analysis in Practice, 11 (97). https://doi.org/10.1007/s40617-018-0222-3
O’Leary, P., Miller, M., Olive, M. and Kelly, A. N. (2017). Blurred lines: Ethical implications of social media for behavior analysts. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 10, 45-51.
Week 2
Required reading:
Fong, E.H., Catagnus, R.M., Brodhead, M.T., Quigley, S., & Field, S. (2016). Developing the cultural awareness skills of behavior analysts. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 9(1), 84-94.
Olsen, P. M., & Kelly, M. P. (2020). Applied behavior analysis with Arab-muslim populations: The importance of cultural awareness. In B. M. Connors & S. T. Capell (Eds.), Multiculturalism and diversity in applied behavior analysis: Bridging theory and application (pp. 140-163). New York, NY: Taylor & Francis/Routledge.
Recommended readings:
Fong, E.H., Ficklin, S., & Lee, H.Y. (2017) Increasing cultural understanding and diversity in applied behavior analysis. Behavior Analysis: Research and Practice, 17(2), 103-113.
Jones, E. W. & Hoerger, M.L. (2015). Brief report: establishing ABA programs in a Welsh context: cross cultural considerations, European Journal of Behavior Analysis, 10(2), 249-253
Week 3
Required reading:
Bailey, J., & Burch, M. (2010). 25 essential skills & strategies for the professional behavior analyst: Expert tips for maximizing consulting effectiveness. New York, NY: Routledge, Taylor and Francis Group.
Chapter 24. Training, coaching and mentoring training
Week 4
Required reading:
Carr, J.E., Wilder, D.A., Majdalany, L., Mathisen, D. Strain, L.A. (2013). An assessment-based solution to a humanservice employee performance problem. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 6(1), 16-32.
Week 5
Assessment 1: Dissemination project presentations
Week 6
Required reading:
Bacon, D. L., Fulton, B. J., & Malott, R. W. (1983). Improving staff performance through the use of task checklists. Journal of Organizational Behavior Management, 4(3/4), 17-25.
Catania, C. N., Almeida, D., Liu-Constant, B., & DiGennaro Reed F. D. (2009). Video modeling to train staff to implement discrete-trial instruction. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 42, 387–392
Lettimore, L. P., Parsons, M. B., & Reid, D. H (2008). Simulation training of community job skills for adults with autism: A further analysis. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 1(1), 24-29.
Week 7
Required video:
Performance appraisal: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7J6kjh8QOFc
Week 8
Required reading:
BACB (2014). Professional and Ethical Compliance Code for Behavior Analysts. Retrieved from: https://www.bacb.com/ethics/ethics-code/
Subcode 1.03 Maintaining Competence through Professional Development
Carr, J. E., & Briggs, A. M. (2010). Strategies for making regular contact with the scholarly literature. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 3(2), 13-18.
Week 9
Required reading:
Krentz, H., Miltenberger, R., & Valbuena, D. (2016). Using token reinforcement to increase walking for adults with intellectual disabilities. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 49, 745-750.
Quinn, M.J., Miltenberger, R.G. & Fogel, V.A. (2015). Using TAGteach to improve the proficiency of dance movements. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 48, 11-24
Recommended readings:
Ek, K., Miltenberger, R., & Valbuena, D. (2016). Promoting physical activity among school-age children using pedometers and rewards. Behavior Analysis: Research and Practice, 16, 41- 46.
Fogel, V., Wiel, T.M. & Burns, H. (2010). Evaluating the efficacy of TAGteach as a training strategy for teaching a golf swing. Journal of Behavioral Health and Medicine, 1, 24-41.
Harrison, M.H. & Pyles, D.A. (2013). The effects of verbal instruction and shaping to improve tackling by high school football players. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 46, 518-212.
Required websites:
http://abasportsinnovations.com/research/
https://www.tagteach.com/Sports
Week 10
Required reading:
Woods, D., Miltenberger, R., & Carr, J. (2006). Introduction to the special section on clinical behavior analysis. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 39, 407-411. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/issues/138677/
Recommended readings:
Daniel, J.T., & Wood, J.J. (2013). Cognitive-behavioural therapy for children with autism: review and considerations for future research. Journal of Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics. 34, 702–715.
Hoffmann, A. N., Contreras, B. P., Clay, C. J., & Twohig, M. P. (2016). Acceptance and commitment therapy for individuals with disabilities: A behavior analytic strategy for addressing private events in challenging behavior. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 9(1), 14–24.
Twohig, M.P. (2012). Acceptance and commitment therapy: introduction. Cognitive and Behavioral Practice, 19, 499–507.
Recommended podcast:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ob71NkR_Ka8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2PvkUbfSgs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PjcHSsQSLMs
Week 11
Required reading:
Miltenberger, R. G. (2008). Teaching safety skills to children: Prevention of firearm injury as an exemplar of best practice in assessment, training, and generalization of safety skills. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 1(1), 30–36.
Miltenberger, R., & Olsen, L. (1996). Abduction prevention training: A review of findings and issues for future research. Education and Treatment of Children, 19, 69–82.
Yeaton, W. H., & Bailey, J. S. (1978). Teaching pedestrian safety skills to young children: an analysis and one-year follow up. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 11(3), 315–329.
Recommended readings:
Hanratty, L., Miltenberger, R., & Florentino, S. (2016). Evaluating the effectiveness of a teaching package utilizing behavioral skills training and in situ training to teach gun safety skills in a preschool classroom. Journal of Behavioral Education, 25, 310-323.
Harriage, B., Blair, K, & Miltenberger, R. (2016). An evaluation of a parent-implemented in situ pedestrian safety skills intervention for individuals with autism. Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, 46, 2017-2027.
Week 12
Required reading:
Dorey, N. R., Rosales-Ruiz, J., Smith, R., & Lovelace, B. (2009). Functional analysis and treatment of self-injury in a captive olive baboon. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 42(4), 785–794.
Edwards, T. L., & Poling, A. (2011). Animal research in the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 44(2), 409–412.
Mathews, J.R., & Lattal, K.A. (1994). A behavioral analysis of dog bites to children. Journal of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, 15, 44–52.
Poling, A., Weetjens, B., Cox, C., Beyene, N.W., Bach, H., & Sully, A. (2011). Using trained pouched rats to detect land mines: Another victory for operant conditioning. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 44, 351–355.
Recommended readings:
Martin, A. L., Bloomsmith, M. A., Kelley, M. E., Marr, M. J., & Maple, T. L. (2011). Functional analysis and treatment of human-directed undesirable behavior exhibited by a captive chimpanzee. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 44(1), 139–143.
Phelps, K., Miltenberger, R., Jens, T., & Wadeson, H. (2008). An investigation of the effects of dog visits on depression, mood, and social interaction in elderly individuals living in a nursing home. Behavioral Interventions, 23, 181-200.
Required website:
Recommended websites:
https://www.appliedbehavioranalysisedu.org/animal-behavior-training/
Week 13
Required reading:
Lorah, E.R., Parnell, A., Whitby, P.S., & Hantula, D. (2015). A systematic review of tablet computers and portable media players as speech generating devices for individuals with autism spectrum disorder. Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, 45 (12), 3792-3804.
Kelly, M.P. (2017). Motivating all students in the inclusive classroom to actively respond: An overview of three practical strategies. In S. Abu-Rmaileh, A. Elsheikh, & S. Al Alami (Eds.), Motivation and Classroom Management: Theory, Practice, and Implications (pp. 37-48). United Arab Emirates: TESOL Arabia.
Recommended readings:
Boyer, E., Miltenberger, R., Batsche, C., & Fogel, V. (2009).VIDEO MODELING BY EXPERTS WITH VIDEO FEEDBACK TO ENHANCE GYMNASTICS SKILLS. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 42, 855-860.
Brown, T.W., Killingsworth, K., & Alavosius, M.P. (2014). Interteaching: An evidence-based approach to instruction International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education, 26 (1), 132-139.
Jeffries, T., Crosland, K., & Miltenberger, R. (2016). Evaluating a tablet application and differential reinforcement to increase eye contact in children diagnosed with autism. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 49, 182-187.
Valbuena, D., Miltenberger, R., & Solley, E. (2015). Evaluating an internet-based program and a behavioral coach for increasing physical activity. Behavior Analysis: Research and Practice, 15, 122-138.
Required website:
https://bsci21.org/tag/applied-behavior-analysis-technology/
Week 14
Required reading:
Buchanan, J., Husfeldt, J., Berg, T., & Houlihan, D. (2008). Publication trends in behavioral gerontology in the past 25 years: Are the elderly still an understudied population in behavioral research? Behavioral Interventions, 23, 65–74.
Burgio, L., & Burgio, K. (1986). Behavioral gerontology: Application of behavioral methods to the problems of older adults. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 19, 321–328.
Reid, D. H., Rosswurm, M., & Rotholz, D. A. (2018). No Less Worthy: Recommendations for Behavior Analysts Treating Adults with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities with Dignity. Behavior Analysis in Practice, 11(1), 71–79.
Recommended readings:
Baker, J. C., Hanley, G. P., & Mark Mathews, R. (2006). Staff administered functional analysis and treatment of aggression by an elder with dementia. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 39(4), 469–474.
Kelly, M. P., Leader, G., & Reed, P. Factors producing overselectivity in older individuals. AGE, 38(3), 1-10.
Phelps, K., Miltenberger, R., Jens, T., & Wadeson, H. (2008). An investigation of the effects of dog visits on depression, mood, and social interaction in elderly individuals living in a nursing home. Behavioral Interventions, 23, 181-200.
Trahan, M. A., Kahng, S., Fisher, A. B., & Hausman, N. L. (2011). Behavior-analytic research on dementia in older adults. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 44(3), 687–691
Required websites:
https://www.appliedbehavioranalysisedu.org/behavioral-gerontology/
https://www.news-medical.net/news/20100326/Top-behavior-problems-of-elderly-parents.aspx
The Behavioral Observations Podcast
Session 3: Dr. Jon Bailey on Ethics for Behavior Analysts
