Libguide guide

1. While editing your guide, click on the  Add / Reorder button at the bottom of the box where you want add this.
2. Select Database from the dropdown menu.
3. In the Search for Database field, start typing in the name of the database you want to add.
   • Can't find it? Check your A-Z Database List page to make sure it's been added.
   • If it's not listed, then an Admin user will need to create the database before you will be able add it to your guide.
4. Select the database you want to add from the list of results.
   • If a database is currently set to Hidden, you will see a  This item is hidden from public view status next to it.
   • Although you can still add a hidden database to your guide, it will not display on the public view of your guide until an admin has removed its Hidden status in your A-Z Database List.
5. A summary of the database info will appear.
   • Not the database you are looking for? No problem: search again and select a different one.
6. If you'd like, you can customize the database's description. Please note that this will only apply to this single mapping of the database. It will not affect the original database's description.
   1. In the Custom Description field, you can enter your own description for this database as it appears on your guide. This will override the database's default description.
   2. Regardless of whether you add your own custom description, you can also customize how the description displays on your guide (e.g. beneath the title, on hover, or not at all).
7. Use the Position dropdown to select where in the box the new database will be inserted. (Don't worry: you can always reorder this later.)
8. Click the Save button.

To manage a database, click on the its Edit () icon.

1.  To add another database to this asset group, select  Add to Group and follow Steps 3-8 above to select your database.
   • What's a group? When you add databases next to each other in a box, they will automatically form a group.
   • Databases in a group can be sorted by title; plus, when reordering content, you can move the entire group at once instead of each database individually.
2. To customize the database's description, select  Edit.
   • Please note that this will only apply to this single mapping of the database. It will not affect the original database's description.
   • Only Admin users can customize other database details, such as the name, vendor, or URL, via Content > A-Z Database List.
3. To remove the database from your guide, select  Remove.
   • This will only remove that single mapping from your guide. It will not delete the database from your A-Z Database List.