Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Arrival Journals: Home

N E W J O U RNAL S

New Arrivals Journals

Applied Measurement in Education

 

Autism

Behavior Analysis in Practice

Behavior and Social Issues

Behavior Modification

Brain Topography

Career Development and Transition for Exceptional Individuals

Child Development

Child Development Package

Child Development Perspectives

Curriculum and Teaching

Curriculum Journal

Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience

Education Policy Analysis Archives

Educational and Psychological Measurement

Educational Leadership

Educational Management Administration & Leadership

European Journal of Behavior Analysis

European Journal of Psychological Assessment

Exceptional Children

Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities

Human Brain Mapping

International Journal for Lesson and Learning Studies

International Journal of Educational Development

International Journal of Educational Research

International Journal of Leadership in Education

International Journal of Science & Mathematics Education

International Journal of Science Education

 

International Journal of STEM Education

International Journal of Testing

Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis

Journal of Autism & Developmental Disorders

Journal of Behavioral Education

Journal of Curriculum and Instruction

Journal of Curriculum Studies

Journal of Organizational Behavior Management

Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior

Journal of Cognitive, Affective, & Behavioral Neuroscience

Mind Brain and Education

Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development

Psychological Record

Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders

Review Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders

School Leadership & Management 

Search for e-journals

Search: Library Publications
Limit Your Results

How to Find Article in LLSH Databases

Keywords, also called search terms, are the words that you enter into the database search boxes. They are the words used in everyday life to describe the topic. Without the right keywords, you may have difficulty finding the articles that you need.

keywords selection process:

  • Identifying the main concepts of your topic:
  • brainstorming synonyms and antonyms that could also be used to describe your topic
  • NEVER type more than one or two words into a search box. Use Advanced Search for more search boxes to add a keyword
  • To expand search results, go to the end of keywords and place an asterisk (*)  to find all variations such as the plural and adjectival forms:

 

 

 

Search Results Lists

  • Your search results page will display 10 search results per page, by default. 
  • Search results are displayed in reverse chronological order - the newest ones are listed first.
  • To the left of each search result you'll see an icon telling you what kind of document it is - article from an academic journal, article from a magazine, conference proceedings, case study, etc.

Filter by a publication date range.

  • Filter by scholarly (peer-reviewed) (gets rid of magazine and newspaper articles, conference proceedings, etc.)
  • Filter by full-text (gets rid of search results that aren't in full-text in this database) The title of the article is a link to the Article Information page.

Boolean operators allow you to connect search terms together to get more focused results. The most common are AND, OR and NOT:

Operator What does it do? Examples
AND
  • Narrows search results.
  • Retrieves results that contain all the terms and excludes those that contain just one of the terms.

youth AND drugs

child AND development AND play

OR
  • Expands search results.
  • Retrieves results that contain either or all search terms; OR is usually used to search for synonyms or related words.

native OR aboriginal

job OR career OR profession

NOT
  • Narrow search results by excluding one or more words.
  • Retrieves the records that contain the first term but eliminates any records that contain the term which is entered after NOT. It should be used with caution as it may eliminate relevant records.

depression NOT economic

crime AND London NOT Ontario

When you use library databases, you will often get too many results.

In most databases, the left-hand column of the search results page has many filters/limiters to narrow and improve the relevancy of results.

The categories of filters and limiters include:

  • Source Type, such as print book, academic journal, or eBook
  • Subject headings, which describe the content of the item
  • Language of the publication
  • Geographic location such as country, province, state or city
  • Library database where the item is located.

relevancy of results.

 

The library has many different databases and most have this option. This is an example of the field drop-down menu in another database:

In library databases, subject headings are a type of standardized “tag” used to index and organize resources on the same topic, regardless of the words used in the actual text. Searching by subject headings is the most precise way to search article databases.

Also referred to as subject terms or descriptors, subject headings vary depending on the database. A list of subject headings is typically provided within the thesaurus , which can be used to begin a subject search.

For example, ERIC has a link to its Thesaurus that provides the option to search or browse by keyword