This guide is for helping the students with English as a Second Language. It contains resources available in the ECAE Library and Learning Support Hub as well as a collection of online resources in various formats.
Rate your English language skills
Quizzes to Help You Learn and Review Vocabulary
levels of Grammar, vocabulary questions and a words quiz in English.
The faster you type, the higher your score will be.
Registration is required but is free.
Parapal - English language exercises This link opens in a new window
Free online English lessons to improve your listening, writing, reading, vocabulary and grammar skills.
International English Language Testing System
Provides good general information and tips about IELTS
Forvo - all the words in the world. Pronounced
Listen to the pronunciation of any word you type in. Make sure you select the English pronunciation.
Find the answers to all your writing conundrums in Grammarly's handy grammar guide.
Grammarly makes sure everything you type is easy to read, effective, and mistake-free.
Check your text now with this automated proofreader and plagiarism checker.
Read the Grammarly blog here.
Professional organization of scholars who are interested in and actively contribute to the multi-disciplinary field of applied linguistics.
Offers free audio, video and text materials to learners around the world.
Private, nonprofit organization promoting access, equity and mutual understanding for linguistically and culturally diverse people around the world.
Meeting place for ESL/EFL teachers and students from around the world. Offers discussion forums, chat room, interactive exercises, online tutorials, and extensive web guide.
Provides quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities for people studying English as a Second Language (ESL) or English as a Foreign Language (EFL).
Mission is to link, develop and support English Language Teaching professionals worldwide.
Provides clear and simple definitions in basic American English from North America's leading language experts.
Non-profit membership organization that works to advocate for educational equity and excellence for bilingual/multilingual students in a global society.
Provides national leadership in designing and building educational assessments and accountability systems that appropriately monitor educational results students with disabilities and English Language Learners.
Resource Library provides access to useful information that can help stakeholders learn about and advance English learner (EL) education.
Devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
Provides national leadership to help ensure that English Learners and immigrant students attain English proficiency and achieve academic success.
International association of professionals advancing the quality of English language teaching through professional development, research, standards, and advocacy.
Hosts a large collection of tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics, covering the full spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.
Multimedia source of news and information for millions of English learners worldwide. Uudio programs and captioned videos are written using vocabulary at the intermediate and upper-beginner level. Our programs are read one-third slower than normal English speed.
Are you looking for the help from the Learning Support Hub Consultants? Schedule an appointment here!