Skip to Main Content

APA 7th referencing style Examples

This is a guide to using the APA 7th referencing style from the American Psychological Association. It is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Using dates & retrieval dates

  • Use n.d. if the work is updated regularly
  • Use the "Last Updated" date if it is referring to the specific content you are referencing
  • Do not use "last reviewed" dates
  • Include a Retrieved date if the work is designed to or likely to change regularly eg. dictionary entry
  • Do not include a Retrieved date if an archived version is available

Dictionary or encyclopaedia – print version

Elements of the reference

Author(s) or editor(s) of work – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors or editors. (Ed. or Eds. - if editor used). (Year). Title - italicised (Edition - if other than first). Publisher.
In-text reference

(Wolman, 1989)

In Wolman (1989), it was argued that ....
Reference list

Wolman, B.B. (Ed.). (1989). Dictionary of behavioral science (2nd ed.). Academic Press.
EndNote reference type

Book

Edited book (if editor used)

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry - individual author

Elements of the reference

Author(s) or editor(s) of work – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors or editors. (Year). Entry title. In Editors - initial(s). Initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors (ed. or Eds), Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition ed.). Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available
In-text reference

(Redmond, 2009)

Redmond (2009)
Reference list

Redmond, B. F. (2017). Affective events theory. In S. G. Rogelberg (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology (2nd ed.). Sage. http://dx.doi.org.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/10.4135/9781483386874.n10
EndNote reference type Electronic book section

Dictionary or encyclopaedia entry - group author

Elements of the reference

Group author name. (Year or n.d.). Title of entry. In Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised. Retrieved Month Date, Year, from Web address
In-text reference

(American Psychological Association, n.d.)

American Psychological Association (n.d.) defined ....
Reference list

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Mindfulness meditation. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved November 21, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/mindfulness-meditation
EndNote reference type Electronic book section

Dictionary or encyclopaedia - no author

Elements of the reference

Entry title. (Year). In Editors - initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors, Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition - if other than first ed.). DOI or Web address - if available
In-text reference (Action theory, 2002)
Reference list

Action theory. (2002). In C. Calhoun (Ed.), Dictionary of the social sciences. https://www-oxfordreference-com.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/view/10.1093/acref/9780195123715.001.0001/acref-9780195123715-e-18?rskey=WCYpQn&result=18
EndNote reference type Electronic book section

References

Newell, M.Library guides: APA 7th referencing style - print version: About APA 7th. https://guides.library.uq.edu.au/c.php?g=940301&p=6806194