Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

M.Ed. Education Assessment(EA): EDUEA7 Cognition and Assessment

COURSE DESCRIPTION

Advances in the cognitive sciences have broadened the conception of those aspects of learning that are most important to assess, and advances in measurement have expanded the capability to interpret more complex forms of evidence derived from student performance. Hence, grounding assessment design in cognitive theories and model-based methodologies is highly desirable. This course reviews and synthesizes advances in the cognitive sciences and measurement and explores their implications for improving educational assessment

Library Books

Recommended Articles

 

Kane, M. T., & Bejar, I. I. (2014). Cognitive frameworks for assessment, teaching, and learning: A validity perspective. Psicología Educativa, 20(2), 117-123

Course Materials List

Week 1

Required readings

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.                             

Chapter 2. The Role of Theories of Learning and Cognition in Assessment Design and Development

 

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 1. The learning sciences in educational assessment: an introduction

Week 2

Required reading

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

Chapter 3. Principled Approaches to Assessment Design, Development, and Implementation.

Week 3

Required readings

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

Chapter 4. Developing and Validating Cognitive Models in Assessment.

Week 4

Required readings

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

Chapter 5. An Integrative Framework for Construct Validity

Week 5

Required readings

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

Chapter 6. The Role of Cognitive Models in Automatic Item Generation

Week 6

Required readings

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

Chapter 7. Social Models of Learning and Assessment

Week 7

Required readings

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

Chapter  8.  Socio‐emotional  and  Self‐management Variables in Learning and Assessment

Week 8

Required readings

Rupp, A., & Leighton, J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of cognition and assessment: Frameworks, methodologies, and applications. West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell.

Chapter 9. Understanding and Improving Accessibility for Special Populations

Week 9

Required readings

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 2. Evaluating cognitive models in large-scale educational assessments

Week 10

Required readings

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 3. Cognitive models of task performance for reading comprehension

Week 11

Required readings

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 4. Cognitive models of task performance for scientific reasoning and discovery

Week 12

Required readings

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 5. Cognitive models of task performance for mathematical reasoning

Week 13

Required readings

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 6. Putting it all together: cognitive models to inform the design and development of large-scale educational assessment

Week 14

Required readings

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 7. Cognitively-based statistical methods: technical illustrations.

Week 15

Required readings

Leighton, J., & Gierl, M. (2011). The learning science in educational assessment: The role of cognitive models. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.

Chapter 7. Cognitively-based statistical methods: technical illustrations.