EDUCMI01 - Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment - M.Ed on Education and Innovation - LibGuides at Emirates College for Advanced Education

eBooks

Mindful Learning by Craig Hassed
ISBN: 9781775591337
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Mindfulness is increasingly being used in educational environments as a way to help students learn more effectively, develop personally, enhance their physical and emotional health, and deal with study and exam-related demands. In 'Mindful Learning', the authors provide practical insights and exercises on how to apply mindfulness in the educational setting, resulting in a book that clearly sets out how we can manage stress, improve performance and create better communication and relationships.
Educational Research and Innovation Pedagogical Knowledge and the Changing Nature of the Teaching Profession by OECD
ISBN: 9789264270688
Publication Date: 2017-03-30
Highly qualified and competent teachers are fundamental for equitable and effective education systems. Teachers today are facing higher and more complex expectations to help students reach their full potential and become valuable members of 21st century society. The nature and variety of these demands imply that teachers, more than ever before, must be professionals who make decisions based on a robust and updated knowledge base. This publication presents research and ideas from multiple perspectives on pedagogical knowledge - the knowledge of teaching and learning - and the changing nature of the teaching profession. It provides a modern account of teachers' professional competence, and how this relates to student learning. The report looks at knowledge dynamics in the teaching profession and investigates how teachers' knowledge can be measured. It provides precious insights into 21st century demands on teacher knowledge. This volume also offers a conceptual base for a future empirical study on teachers' knowledge. It will be a useful resource for those interested in understanding the different factors underlying high quality teaching through examining and outlining the complexity of the teaching profession. In particular, this publication will be of interest to teacher educators, educational leaders, policy makers and the research community.
Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues, Global Edition by Allan Ornstein and Francis Hunkins
ISBN: 9781292162072
Geared for graduate and doctoral level students specialising in curriculum supervision and administration and educational leadership. May also be appropriate for some upper level undergraduate and graduate level introductory education courses. A comprehensive, thoroughly documented, balanced overview of the foundations, principles, and issues of curriculum-from leaders in the field.
Routledge Library Editions: Curriculum
ISBN: 9780429453878
Publication Date: 2021-07-09
Reissuing works originally published between 1971 and 1994, this collection includes books which offer a broad spectrum of views on curriculum, both within individual schools and the wider issues around curriculum development, reform and implementation. Some cover the debate surrounding the establishment of the national curriculum in the UK while others are a more international in scope. Many of these books go beyond theory to discuss practical issues of real curriculum changes at primary or secondary level. The Set includes books on cross-curricular topics such as citizenship and environment, and also guidance, careers, life skills and pastoral care in schools. A fantastic collection of education history with much still relevant today.
The SAGE handbook of curriculum, pedagogy and assessment
Call Number: LB1570 .S24 2016
ISBN: 9781473952720
The Handbook is organised into five thematic sections, considering: The epistemology and methodology of curriculum Curriculum and pedagogy Curriculum subjects Areas of the curriculum Assessment and the curriculum The curriculum and educational policy The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment's breadth and rigour will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students around the world.

Pedagogical Innovation through the Eyes of Teacher Educators

Course Resources

Week 1

Introduction to the course, procedures, and assignments.

The nature of teachers’ knowledge

Traditional learning theories

Required Reading

Buchner, E., Chedda, S., Kindreich, J. (2016). Teacher professional development in the UAE: What do teachers actually want? Sheikh Saud Bin Saqr Al Qasimi Foundation for Policy Research.

Dunlosky, J., Rawson, K. A., Marsh, E. J., Nathan, M. J., & Willingham, D. T. (2013). Improving students’ learning with effective learning techniques: Promising directions from cognitive and educational psychology. Psychological Science in the Public Interest, 14(1), 4-58.

Recommended Reading

Hassed, C., and Chambers, R. (2014). Mindful Learning: Reduce stress and improve brain performance for effective learning (Vol. 3). Exisle Publishing.

Teacher Professional Development in the UAE: What Do Teachers Actually Want?

Week 2

Pedagogic Innovations Part I

Effective and innovative instructional strategies Differentiation of Pedagogic Plans

Required Reading

Mynbayeva, A., Sadvakassova, Z., & Akshalova, B. (2017). Pedagogy of the twenty-first century: Innovative teaching methods. New Pedagogical Challenges in the 21st Century- Contributions of Research in Education, 3-20. DOI: 10.5772/intechopen.72341

Asim, S., Ponners, P. J., Bartlett, C., Parker, A., & Star, R. (2020). Differentiating instruction: For middle school students in virtual learning environments. Delta Kappa Gamma Bulletin, 86(3), 19-31.

Recommended Reading

Levy, D. (2019, March). Pedagogical Innovation through the eyes of teacher educators. In Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference (pp. 1922-1930). Association for the Advancement ofComputing in Education (AACE).

Week 3

Pedagogic Innovations Part II

Integrated learning approaches STEM, STREAM

Differentiation of Pedagogic Plans

Required Reading

Clements, D. H., & Sarama, J. (2021). STEM or STEAM or STREAM? Integrated or interdisciplinary? In D. H. Clements (Ed.), Embedding STEAM in early childhood education and care (pp. 261-275). Palgrave Macmillan, Cham.
Sonia, G. (Ed.). (2017). Educational research and innovation pedagogical knowledge and the changing nature of the teaching profession. OECD Publishing.

Recommended Reading

Yıldız, M., & Ecevit, T. (2022). A STEM activity in primary school: Working with fossils like a paleontologist. Journal of Inquiry Based Activities, 12(1), 51–69. https://ated.info.tr/ojs-3.2.1-3/index.php/ated/article/view/132

STEM or STEAM or STREAM? Integrated or Interdisciplinary

Week 4

Curriculum Mapping

Linking Learning Outcomes, Pedagogies, and Assessment across Disciplines

Required Reading

Wijngaards-de Meij, L., & Merx, S. (2018). Improving curriculum alignment and achieving learning goals by making the curriculum visible. International Journal for Academic Development, 23(3), 219-231. https://doi.org/10.1080/1360144X.2018.1462187

Recommended Reading

Rawle, F., Bowen, T., Murck, B., & Hong, R. (2017). Curriculum mapping across the disciplines: differences, approaches, and strategies. Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching, 10, 75-88. https://doi.org/10.22329/celt.v10i0.4765

Curriculum mapping across the disciplines: differences, approaches, and strategies.

Week 5

Assessment Part I

Assessment for/as Learning

Using assessment data to make informed decisions Differentiation of Assessment

Required Reading

Smith, K. (2016). Assessment for learning: A pedagogical tool. In D. Wyse, L. Hayward & J. Pandya (Eds.), The SAGE handbook of curriculum, pedagogy and assessment (Vol. 2, pp. 740-755). Sage Publications. http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781473921405.n46

Kaur, A., Noman, M., & Awang-Hashim, R. (2019). Exploring and evaluating differentiated assessment practices of in-service teachers for components of differentiation. Teaching Education, 30(2), 160-176.

Recommended Reading

Wiliam, D., & Thompson, M. (2017). Integrating assessment with learning: What will it take to make it work?. The future of assessment (pp. 53- 82). Routledge. DOI: 10.4324/9781315086545.

Week 6

Assessment Part II

Assessment of Learning

Using assessment data to make informed decisions Differentiation of Assessment

Required Reading

Black, P., & Wiliam, D. (2018). Classroom assessment and pedagogy. Assessment in Education: Principles, Policy & Practice, 25(6), 551-575. https://doi.org/10.1080/0969594X.2018.1441807

Recommended Reading

Baird, J. and Hopfenbeck, T. (2016). Curriculum in the twenty- first century and the future of examinations. In D. Wyse, L. Hayward & J. Pandya (Eds.), The SAGE handbook of curriculum, pedagogy and assessment (Vol. 2, pp.821836). Sage Publications. http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781473921405.n51

Week 7

Current Learning Theories

Growth Minds Sets Role of Reflection Community of Practice

Required Readings

Eshchar‐Netz, L., & Vedder‐Weiss, D. (2021). Teacher learning in communities of practice: The affordances of co‐planning for novice and veteran teachers' learning. Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 58(3), 366-391.

Robinson, C. (2017). Growth mindset in the classroom. Science Scope, 41(2), 18-21.

Recommended Reading

Levy, D. (2019, March). Pedagogical Innovation through the eyes of teacher educators. In Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference (pp. 1922-1930). Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE).

Pedagogical Innovation through the Eyes of Teacher Educators

Week 8

Curriculum Design

Components, Dimensions and Representative Curriculum Designs

Required Reading

Ornstein, A. & Hunkins, F. (2018). Curriculum foundations, principles, and issues. Pearson (Chapter 6)

Recommended Reading

Mohanasundaram, K. (2018). Curriculum Design and Development. Journal of Applied and Advanced Research, 3(1), 4-6. http://dx.doi.org/10.21839/jaar.2018.v3iS1.156

Week 9

Effective Learning and Curriculum Progression

Metacognition

Learning and curriculum progression

Required Reading

Morrison-Love, D. (2020). So Far So Good: Building the Evidence Base to Promote a Successful Future for the Curriculum for Wales. CAMAU Research Report.

Recommended Reading

Fonger, N. L., Stephens, A., Blanton, M., Isler, I., Knuth, E., & Gardiner, A. M. (2018). Developing a learning progression for curriculum, instruction, and student learning: An example from mathematics education. Cognition and Instruction, 36(1), 30-55. https://doi.org/10.1080/07370008.2017.1392965

Week 10

Curriculum Development: Approaches and Processes

Evaluate different models of curriculum development

Required Reading

Ornstein, A. C. and Hunkins, F. P. (2018). Curriculum foundations, principles, and issues. Pearson Education. (Chapter 7)

Recommended Reading

Nicholls, A., & Nicholls, S. H. (2018). Developing a curriculum: A practical guide. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429454172

Week 11

Current and Emergent Global Issues

Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment

Required Reading

Kayan-Fadlelmula, F., Sellami, A., Abdelkader, N. Umer, S. (2022). A systematic review of STEM education research in the GCC countries: Trends, gaps, and barriers. International Journal of STEM Education, 9, 1, 1 – 24.

Recommended Reading

Sonia, G. (Ed.). (2017). Educational research and innovation pedagogical knowledge and the changing nature of the teaching profession. OECD Publishing.

A systematic review of STEM education research in the GCC countries: trends, gaps and barriers

M.Ed on Education and Innovation: EDUCMI01 - Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment

COURSE DESCRIPTION

eBooks

Course Resources